Maseratigood 5th Gear September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 yah lor, many many moons no login to MCF liao, interesting subject so read from pg 1 lor You ponh tang for many moons..... Now better catch up.... Else teacher MARY spanks your bottoms :D ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 Got!!! My fren bought a 8 sweaters for equivalent of $ 50k for 10 years leh, quite close..... :D you still remember, actually it was a used 1 & 1/2 yrs old 8 seater for only $50k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 this is the common argument put forward by these people. then it becomes a convenience rather than needs and affordability issue. convenience is still a "wants" issue rather than a "needs" issue. note that not all people can get the convenience they want. do we start berating the authorities for refusing us such convenience? how true, so my move to a used flat was right, with the Bus Interchange and MRT just next to my block Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 Please la......many of us here are parents w young children but we dun go around w the entitlement mindset that the country owes us a car. So dun turn this into a "parents are victims and COE policies must always favour us" kinda argument and say other ppl dun understand. That's lame. As a parent, I would smack my kids if they carry around this sort of thinking coz, honestly, it wun get them far in life if they expect the world to revolve around them. The world isn't always fair - that's life. Sorry. I still dun understand why ppl must buy a brand new car? Their families too atas or allergic to a used car izit? you and me on same wavelength Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extremesour Clutched September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 yeah it is clear from my illustration why it is achievable yet someone don't bother read it and say 20k is plucked from thin air and why not 35k? the omv of these "culprit" cars are clearly different from those affected cars......not difficult to implement at all. using fluctuations of omv is also bad excuse, I have never seen the same model car fluctuate more than 2k even with shifts in exchange rate. it is also better to have a direct link between what you set out to do and what is your motivation principle behind it......surely the principle can't be against fast cars.... Sounds like you already have the answers? Why don't you come up with that lists of cars that you can put into B&B Cat A pool and premium Cat B pool and post it for us to see? Since it's obvious it should be an easy job. I'm sure LTA and every driver in SG will thank you and that includes me too. Let's put an end to all these COE whining threads once and for all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 no, really. how is 97kw arrived at? very curious haha. A1 slipped through the cracks. i really think Lui Tuck Yew is the correct man for the job at this point in time. don't underestimate his policy background. most people know him as former chief of navy, but he had also served as Deputy Secretary in the Ministry of Transport prior to joining politics. he knows his stuff, and has 20 years of poo to clean from his ineffective predecessors MBT YCT and RL. and the poor guy really has a tough job. it's almost impossible to make people happy, unless the COE is scrapped altogether. and when it is, roads will be clogged and even more people will be unhappy. all the anger from: - not being able to own a car - own a car but pay a lot - pay a lot and still jam - jam and pay even more ERP ... are channeled towards him. can anyone solve just 2 out of the above 4? i can't. Wa.. big deal. Results, not resume please. And frankly not many are impressed with him being a Deputy Secretary of Transport, esp since that would mean he played a part in creating the present mess.. To be fair,he inherited the mess from his predecessor, or maybe from himself as a Deputy Secretary crafting the transport policy. He could jolly well have turned down the post that came with the million dollar salary. He is fine drawing the paycheck and we ought to pity him? For a start, why dun he not implement this silly COE policy that solves absolutely nothing? Khaw BW seemed to be performing pretty well despite a equally big mess left behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 If you bother to read the table of cars left in the new Cat A , you will realize why the Audis managed to remain in Cat A. If they put the power cut off so that the Audis were in Cat B, the Toyota Corolla Altis (and Honda Civic) would have also gone into Cat B. both have 90 kw. So which is worse, some low selling Audi left behind in Cat A. Or The most popular bread and butter car, the Toyota Altis in Cat B fighting against the Merecedes/BMW crowd? And this answers also the rest who keep talking about the Audis. Some policies are stupid, but this was well done. A fool thinks himself to be wise, but a wise man knows himself to be a fool -Shakespeare I KNOW exactly why it is there. I am criticizing the rules that resulted in Audi being in the list. Not whether I understand the rule. So please, step down from your pedestal, stop thinking you are that clever guy and I do not understand. I am doing a critique a level higher. Take a step up and lets have a proper debate. My point is: power cut off is a stupid rule. So long as there are luxury marques left in Cat A, the whole policy shifts will be a massive fail. You remain stonewalled in your narrow vision telling us why Audi is in Cat A and how the place of power cut off will affect civics. Step up an intellectual level. Power cut off is a fail. Do that, then start belittling others with some fancy quotes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 Maybe hor, Tuck Yew is privy to information that by Feb 2014 we will be in the midst of the much-touted economic crash that everyone keeps saying is on the way? At that time everyone will be busy trying to keep their underwear, and COE prices likely to drop. Maybe. Then Tuck Yew will look like a very clever man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 i will not have kids in singapore. if im destined to stay in singapore all the way, i wont have it then why not, oppss...OT liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 audis are not as popular as bmw or merc.. Neither is Jaguar, Volvo, Meserat, Rolls Royce and and Landrover. A premium marque is a premium marque what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 u mean pay full cash for kids? if buy 2 got discount boh? no lah, buy 2 get another 2 free Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 My first car only $200...... 5 seaters, white, beats yours hands down Ah Sok, your time "mah tah cheng teh kor ley" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 it's "force" by situation angmoh country don't have cheap labour like prc, msian, pinoy, bangla in angmoh country, many DIY at home because labour is fking expensive. and of coz, also in their genes la but cost is the main consideration for DIY and angmoh house sibei big ... got garage ... can set up own little workshop yah lor, we only have MSCP or OCP. When I had my 2nd car, I do some simple DIY for my car back in 95, like change brake pads, brake rotor, rear brake shoes & change engine oil also did try to change plugs but not easy as it's a boxer engine how I wish I have a garage next to my house to work on my car like in US Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 Neither is Jaguar, Volvo, Meserat, Rolls Royce and and Landrover. A premium marque is a premium marque what. Guess thats why audi can be in Cat A still lo. Some Audi's not really considered as premium marque what. Just B&B car only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 yah lor, many many moons no login to MCF liao, interesting subject so read from pg 1 lor In a nutshell... pages till 9 Sep... bo lui lang kpkb ah gong must do this and do that... so that car is affordable. Elites busy help children prepares exam. after 9 Sep... school holiday... the elites came in kpkb... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 As I said, "need" and "want" is highly subjective. Since you asked so nicely, I will try to explain it a little. When you have a kid, your motivations in life change pretty drastically. The love you feel for your child is very different. Parents just want the best for their child. Can you understanding waking up in the middle of night to warm up the milk before your baby wakes up, just that she have warm milk the instant she cries? I am ok with taking public transport with my wife, but if my baby protests... I will really try my very best to buy a car. It is something about a babies' cry that is terrifying for parents. From that point in time, a car change from a want to a need. But all these are subjective lah.... so there is really no point arguing about what exactly is a need.... see my earlier post If you want the best for your child then why are you spoiling them? Letting them think that being driven around in a car is an entitlement when majority of the people travel by public transport? Shouldn't you be showing them that they cannot protest to get whatever they want? Why are you teaching them that whenever they want something all they need to do is protest and cry? I still remember when I was young, my father had cars as his hobby but he hardly ever drove us out. He always insisted on taking public transport for family outings so that we know how to get around Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 We all know u drive porky. U r not affected. [laugh] Dont like that say, bro..... No man is an island. Sure affected in some ways.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 10, 2013 Share September 10, 2013 Since nothing seems to work, we should scrap COE altogether and pay everything in full! Those who wants a car should in full and not pay so much tax(ARF) on tax(COE) on tax(GST) to get into a traffic jam!!!! Mr Lui, if u are looking here, u hv my vote in 2016 if u scap COE and make car buyers pay in full! That one i said long ago.. No one listen leh.... Best is Property also full cash only..... Best best...woohoo. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...