Aaronlkl Supersonic September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=8764 In light of new changes to the classification of Cat A vehicles as announced by the LTA yesterday, Bosch, the leading supplier of automotive technologies and components to automotive manufacturers worldwide, recommends that the LTA reconsiders the addition of engine power as a criterion to the existing COE system. This new criterion penalises vehicles that are more fuel efficient, and is a regressive step towards meeting the Singapore government's target of lowering overall carbon emissions by 11 percent (potentially 16 percent) by 2020. Bosch feels that the introduction of engine power into the COE system will affect the quality of life of Singaporeans as it does not achieve a reduction in emission levels There is a correlation between engine efficiency, power, torque and emission. As automotive technology advances, it is inevitable that engine power and torque increases, at any given engine capacity. Fuel consumption and emissions are also reduced as a result. "Among other factors, a determinant of price is the technology within the vehicle, be it in terms of fuel efficiency or safety. The price of a vehicle is also always reflected by its size. As a matter of principle, smaller capacity vehicles are lighter, and are thus lower in fuel consumption - independent of engine power. Globally, the automotive development trend is towards lowering emission levels, and reducing engine capacities, as well as engine sizes," said Landhaeusser, Regional Head for External Affairs and Governmental Relations in Southeast Asia, Bosch. For CAT A to be further subjected to an engine power criterion, two unfavourable outcomes will be brought about: 1) To meet the criteria of engine capacity and power output for CAT A, automotive manufacturers and dealers will be inclined to market vehicles with outdated technologies that are less fuel-efficient and thus contribute to more CO2 emissions. Often, these outdated models have also equally-dated safety features, if at all any, which will still meet Singapore's low safety regulations. 2) For vehicles that meet the engine capacity for CAT A but exceed the engine power criterion, automotive manufacturers may encode a limiter within the Engine Control Unit (ECU) of the vehicle to curb the engine's power output, thus meeting requirement for CAT A. This limitation can be easily removed after the vehicle leaves the showroom, and is not easily detected during mandatory vehicular checks. To pave the way for greater social equity in car ownership, the adoption of a technologically-neutral carbon emission framework will automatically favour smaller, lower-emission cars into CAT A. This will be in tandem with the recently-introduced Carbon Emission-based Vehicle Scheme (CEVS) to promote cleaner vehicles and reduce carbon emissions in Singapore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 9:10 AM, Aaronlkl said: http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/article.php?AID=8764 In light of new changes to the classification of Cat A vehicles as announced by the LTA yesterday, Bosch, the leading supplier of automotive technologies and components to automotive manufacturers worldwide, recommends that the LTA reconsiders the addition of engine power as a criterion to the existing COE system. This new criterion penalises vehicles that are more fuel efficient, and is a regressive step towards meeting the Singapore government's target of lowering overall carbon emissions by 11 percent (potentially 16 percent) by 2020. Bosch feels that the introduction of engine power into the COE system will affect the quality of life of Singaporeans as it does not achieve a reduction in emission levels There is a correlation between engine efficiency, power, torque and emission. As automotive technology advances, it is inevitable that engine power and torque increases, at any given engine capacity. Fuel consumption and emissions are also reduced as a result. "Among other factors, a determinant of price is the technology within the vehicle, be it in terms of fuel efficiency or safety. The price of a vehicle is also always reflected by its size. As a matter of principle, smaller capacity vehicles are lighter, and are thus lower in fuel consumption - independent of engine power. Globally, the automotive development trend is towards lowering emission levels, and reducing engine capacities, as well as engine sizes," said Landhaeusser, Regional Head for External Affairs and Governmental Relations in Southeast Asia, Bosch. For CAT A to be further subjected to an engine power criterion, two unfavourable outcomes will be brought about: 1) To meet the criteria of engine capacity and power output for CAT A, automotive manufacturers and dealers will be inclined to market vehicles with outdated technologies that are less fuel-efficient and thus contribute to more CO2 emissions. Often, these outdated models have also equally-dated safety features, if at all any, which will still meet Singapore's low safety regulations. 2) For vehicles that meet the engine capacity for CAT A but exceed the engine power criterion, automotive manufacturers may encode a limiter within the Engine Control Unit (ECU) of the vehicle to curb the engine's power output, thus meeting requirement for CAT A. This limitation can be easily removed after the vehicle leaves the showroom, and is not easily detected during mandatory vehicular checks. To pave the way for greater social equity in car ownership, the adoption of a technologically-neutral carbon emission framework will automatically favour smaller, lower-emission cars into CAT A. This will be in tandem with the recently-introduced Carbon Emission-based Vehicle Scheme (CEVS) to promote cleaner vehicles and reduce carbon emissions in Singapore. double post!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 9:06 AM, Pandapura said: Hmmm, if Beemers won't look right to stay in Cat A (due to the <130BHP ruling), then how come some of the Audi / VW cars still there? Personally, I feel that Audi = Beemer = Merc [confused] Audi and VW are conti but I don't think considered as premium la. Their smaller cars are B&B cars only ma. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaronlkl Supersonic September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 9:13 AM, Knoobie said: double post!! oops! Someone posted already? So sorry I didn't read the previous few pages as this thread is growing too fast.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 4:29 AM, Lalaisgongon said: Sense.Of.Entitlement Why do cities with worst public transport system then us have a less "want" for a car NYC Paris London Tokyo. etc etc. First world metropolitan cities like us. Talk to people there, they dont want a car. but their trains break down all the time. oh right, they walk. Is it school holidays again ?? The cities mentioned above have much lower temperatures where you can walk long distances without breaking out in sweat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 2:18 AM, Yuan said: Hello, long time no see. Hi there, will try to clock at least 1/2hr per day in MCF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 2:44 AM, Yuan said: Stream is a good car. Maybe you can consider changing car. Yes Stream not too bad, drives more like a sedan, my previous cheapo korean 8 seater is like a van Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Son Neutral Newbie September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 OK...this is my 2 cents worth of opinion. i think the government is actually trying to save the preown market with the 50% down payment and current cat A and B thingy and it got nothing to do with the cost of COEs...ok maybe to a certain extend. if you guys realise there is actually very little 2010-2013 BnB 'commoner' car in the market. it is already flooded with the current top 5 brand. Imagine u started working for 3-4yrs and u decided to buy a cheap bnb car that is 3-4 yrs old for your young family. U realised that there is none to be bought, whats left is the Bms, Mercs, audis and volks...What happen den? vent your fustration by not voting for XXX? (just kidding please don bring me go drink coffee) haha How many ppl will actually buy a secondhand luxury brand? if they are rich they will probably buy brand new. To me all these new policies is trying to get ppl to buy those 'cheaper' car. Worst if dealer stop bringing in those so called bnb all together To me these policies came too late, 2010-2013 is 4 years....few years down the road ppl will have a hard time looking for a honda fit or toyota altis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 8:55 AM, Hydrocarbon said: I didn't know we cannot reply to a portion of other forumer's post, especially one that had other forumer reply to the same post too. If that is a mistake, my apologies. Our car prices are high, and our infrastructure is decent, if you compare to other cities in the world. Yes, there are jams, or road closures, or what have you, but after travelling to other parts of the world, I now think that Singapore's infrastructure, while not the best, is pretty decent. Sure, there can still be improvements, and improvements are still being made, so instead of complaining, shouldn't we instead do what we can for ourselves too? Paiseh, cuz it seemed like the angle of your response was just veered towards that very paragraph without taking into context the rest of my original post. No offense was meant, nor was the curt tone intentional (Was quite a hectic day at work haha). I'm not really complaining for the sake of complaining per se. Rather, with the exorbitant prices of car ownership here, the improvements should already have been made long ago to counter the situation we are in right now. As I said, a proactive gov ... and not a reactionary one. After quite of while of "discussions/feedback gathering", all we get is a half-baked measure being put in place that doesn't solve anything at all. That's really, my grouse. I guess I shall speak no more on this topic though, and hope everyone else will agree to disagree if our views differ. Afterall, we can argue till the cows come home and nothing will really change hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 9:20 AM, Nzy said: Audi and VW are conti but I don't think considered as premium la. Their smaller cars are B&B cars only ma. Audi is in the same bracket as Merc and BMW mah. only thing is A1 and A3 happen to have smaller engine nia. if Merc also research in the direction of 1.4 FI. wont be surprising that they also have that in A-class and B-class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 11:10 AM, Joseph22 said: Audi is in the same bracket as Merc and BMW mah. only thing is A1 and A3 happen to have smaller engine nia. if Merc also research in the direction of 1.4 FI. wont be surprising that they also have that in A-class and B-class. A1 is glorified Polo and A3 is glorified Golf mah. At least Merc and BMW have their own platforms and no association with "lesser brands" unlike the VAG products. Unlike Europe, our market got hatchback and wagon stigma (how many A/B Class or 1-series on our roads?). Sedans are still the preferred choice. The only model I've seen coming close to breaking this mould is the golf (anyone got numbers of jetta vs golf sales with same engine?) Pity the new A3 sedan doesn't seem to be offered with the 120hp engine, if not will be the atas sedan of Cat A liao. Looks like Jetta will be conti sedan choice, 7-spd DSG huat ah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 11:44 AM, Myxilplix said: A1 is glorified Polo and A3 is glorified Golf mah. At least Merc and BMW have their own platforms and no association with "lesser brands" unlike the VAG products. Unlike Europe, our market got hatchback and wagon stigma (how many A/B Class or 1-series on our roads?). Sedans are still the preferred choice. The only model I've seen coming close to breaking this mould is the golf (anyone got numbers of jetta vs golf sales with same engine?) Pity the new A3 sedan doesn't seem to be offered with the 120hp engine, if not will be the atas sedan of Cat A liao. Looks like Jetta will be conti sedan choice, 7-spd DSG huat ah! A1 is a lux of polo. A3 is the lux model of golf. What ever u phrase it, its still a lux model. Just look at what had been throw into the car. This is not just a rebadge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 9:04 AM, So_nice said: The base model is 122 or 140bhp huh? In case wanna renew mah This one (122hp) http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p?CarCode=11262 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 11:10 AM, Joseph22 said: Audi is in the same bracket as Merc and BMW mah. only thing is A1 and A3 happen to have smaller engine nia. if Merc also research in the direction of 1.4 FI. wont be surprising that they also have that in A-class and B-class. I always thought Audi and VW is B&B car cuz since young have been hearing that ma. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yhn 4th Gear September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 5:15 AM, Pandapura said: That's just plain lazy (which is a common habit for most of us sometimes) Ya lor. Observed that more and more falling into this category Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kevinchan Neutral Newbie September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 For those who insists on having a Cat-A German car, here are your choices: Mass-market Cat-A Germans Mini VW Up! 1.0 Opel Agila 1.0 Supermini VW Polo 1.2T (105hp) Opel Corsa 1.0 Opel Meriva 1.4: MPV Subcompact VW Golf 1.2T (105hp) Opel GTC 1.4T (120hp): Sports VW Eos 1.4T (122hp): Sports VW Scirocco 1.4T (122hp): Sports VW Beatle 1.2T (105hp) Compact VW Jetta 1.2T (105hp) Opel Astra Sedan/Tourer 1.4T (120hp) Opel Cascada 1.4T (120hp) VW Tiguan 1.4T (122hp): SUV Opel Mokka 1.4T (120hp): SUV VW Touran 1.2T (105hp): MPV Opel Zafira 1.4T (120hp): MPV Midsize VW Passat 1.4T (122hp) Premium Cat-A Germans Supermini Audi A1 1.4T (122hp) Subcompact Mercedes-Benz A180 (122hp) BMW 114i (102hp) Audi A3 1.4T (122hp) Mercedes-Benz CLA180 (122hp): Sports Mercedes-Benz B180 (122hp): MPV Compact BMW 316d EfficientDynamics Edition (116hp) (2014, TBA) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 10:56 AM, Hotshot85 said: Paiseh, cuz it seemed like the angle of your response was just veered towards that very paragraph without taking into context the rest of my original post. No offense was meant, nor was the curt tone intentional (Was quite a hectic day at work haha). I'm not really complaining for the sake of complaining per se. Rather, with the exorbitant prices of car ownership here, the improvements should already have been made long ago to counter the situation we are in right now. As I said, a proactive gov ... and not a reactionary one. After quite of while of "discussions/feedback gathering", all we get is a half-baked measure being put in place that doesn't solve anything at all. That's really, my grouse. I guess I shall speak no more on this topic though, and hope everyone else will agree to disagree if our views differ. Afterall, we can argue till the cows come home and nothing will really change hehe No offense taken, I too veered into a personal comment instead of an objective one. Wish you a better day at work tomorrow, then! The prices of car ownership and usage costs are high, and while our ministers are highly paid, it isn't as if our road systems are that bad. There are bad days, and normal days.. Some situations they are pro-actively trying to tackle, but they are, afterall, only human. The PIE / expressway expansion was a little late, but at least it's under way, hopefully, enough to ease some of the worst of the jams during peak hours. Our view might differ, but I guess our basic wants are similar, to an extent. That of wanting less jams. Then we'll stop complaining, until the next issue takes hold and we complain and argue all over again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 11, 2013 Share September 11, 2013 On 9/11/2013 at 2:20 PM, Nzy said: I always thought Audi and VW is B&B car cuz since young have been hearing that ma. VW is B&B correct. Audi was decided to raised and become Lux car after they merge with VW to challenge Merc and BMW. which I believed they are successful as most older folk reconsige the 4 ring as premium cars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...