COE refinements to be finalised in next few weeks

Darthrevan

On 9/11/2013 at 4:18 AM, Lalaisgongon said:

People dont change hub every few years.....

furthermore, people dont buy 2 or 3 hdb when income goes up.

also given that the fact that there unsold HBD flats, its not fair to say its over suscribed...

only those in good location are over subscribed, which then makes them a luxury!

and technically, HDB in PRIME Location is a luxury. if you want hdb in outskirt not so bad.

"in non-mature estates, the first-timer application rate of 1.8 for BTO flats is even more reassuring.

On 9/11/2013 at 3:09 AM, Lalaisgongon said:

Like that you go run for the minster looo, but before that what good ideas you have to improve the road networks that the goverment is not alr doing?

these things take time.

maybe a 70 k coe you have some jam, compared to no coe in bangkok where is all day jam.

maybe 210k COE will give you your jam free land.

I dont think this measure is great, but it the better side of two evils. and you cannot simply say, just cause we pay them a million, they have to come up with better ideas. So now, if they dont take a million dollar salary, they can heck care their job??!

In economics, a luxury good is a good for which demand increases more than proportionally as income rises, in contrast to a "necessity good", for which demand is not related to income. (google it)

Hence car is a luxury good. if it is basic, people won't be buying new cars....

OH and, i think they are spending one upgrading have you seen our new 4.3 billion dollar 5 km expway ??

let me refer you to Marina Coastal Expressway

As I said, multi-tiered expressways and roads. How long has COE been implemented already? The income generated will be more than sufficient to pay for that. I do know of the widening of the PIE, which I think has been completed and has expanded a small portion of it to about 5-6 lanes? It doesn't do much though, as shortly after its back to 3 or 4 lanes. It doesn't take a million bucks job to think this up, we can learn from a certain other country that already does this.

And I quote your "In economics, a luxury good is a good for which demand increases more than proportionally as income rises". Its not that our income cannot support a new car, its that the price has been artificially jacked up. Go to any other country, you don't think our middle class can afford a car over there, brand new or 2nd hand? I would agree if its other products like LV, Gucci, or expensive watches etc etc (Sorry ahh, not good with these kinda stuff so i'm not really sure if these are THE MOST atas brands or not) where globally, their prices are almost the same and really only the rich can afford. But I cannot agree within our local context on car pricing.

On 9/11/2013 at 3:23 AM, Hydrocarbon said:

I suggest looking beyond ourselves, and instead of complaining that we need a car for whatever purpose (there are many people with many excuses, and those excuses are precisely what they are, excuses), find a way to afford it in the current environment.

Going by this, shouldn't we all walk to all our destinations also? Taking a bus or train or cab is also an excuse, is it not?

On 9/11/2013 at 3:45 AM, Knoobie said:

Reason why govt here tax so high on cars is because we have limited land/road. the ratio of people wanting to use the road vs availability has surpass a healthy balance. if we do not have such high tax in place, every where in Singapore will be like KL, Jakarta, NYC. Where jams are epic and never ending.

We are lucky in the sense that this is a small country. We are not like M'sia/US/Indonesia where they have kampungs/countryside. We can easily implement the "COE" here to control car population. Whereas, it is impossible to implement it in other countries. The people living in places far from cities, NEED to have a car. It doesn't make sense to have bus or train services to be provided for those handful of residents in the outskirts.

However, in Singapore we do not have such situations and that is why we can use COE to control car population. We have accessible public transport at affordable rates to cater to almost every part of the country. Although claim to be first-class, but not reliable, still it does provide most of the needs. Thus, it makes owning a car in Singapore deemed as not necessary object and have to be deterred as much as possible.

As you mentioned, there is no other country that taxes so much on owning a car. Also, there is no other country of our size with no natural resources, able to stand so well as the financial state of this country.

I am in full agreement that the ratio of people wanting to use the road vs availability has surpassed a healthy balance. Which is why I will strongly support the use of revenue from all the additional taxes that come with car ownership here, to improve our road structures as I said in my post.

Since we gotta pay so much, we should at least have a better road system, is it not? And since there will be no need of quotas, everybody wins. The middle income will get to buy their B&B cars, the rich will get to buy their luxury cars, the roads won't be jammed. Why not?

On 9/11/2013 at 4:39 AM, Hotshot85 said:

Going by this, shouldn't we all walk to all our destinations also? Taking a bus or train or cab is also an excuse, is it not?

If you can afford to take the bus, train or cab then why not? So if you can afford a car then buy one and drive it everywhere. However, if you can't then just stick to public transport or other cheaper modes of transport instead of asking the govt to make cars cheaper for your own convenience. Its not like there are no cheaper alternative available yet.

On 9/11/2013 at 4:43 AM, Hotshot85 said:

I am in full agreement that the ratio of people wanting to use the road vs availability has surpassed a healthy balance. Which is why I will strongly support the use of revenue from all the additional taxes that come with car ownership here, to improve our road structures as I said in my post.

Since we gotta pay so much, we should at least have a better road system, is it not? And since there will be no need of quotas, everybody wins. The middle income will get to buy their B&B cars, the rich will get to buy their luxury cars, the roads won't be jammed. Why not?

yes I do agree that the revenues of COE should be transfered to better infrastructure. but it should not be limited to roads only.

with limited land space, there is also a limit on how much you can do to the road. ECP Rochor bridge is now 4 lanes compared to initial stage of 2 lanes.

how many tunnels like KPE can we dig that wouldn't jeopardize the high rises nearby and at the same time not to disrupt our canal and drainage system?

if you were to ask me, i would say all these problems are from the very limited land we have here in Singapore plus the explosive increase of "population" encouraged by our government.

should we go further, we will be very off topic already. my point is, how well or better do we expect the road of Singapore to be to help congestion?

if you're speaking about the quality of road, like the patching and bumps, I agree with 2 hands up that the standard is dropping.

but to enhance the road to prevent congestion, how do you propose we do it?

What i noticed of congestion on E-ways usually happens at entrance/exit being too close to each other. but we don't have much choices since they have to make it accessible to the town nearby..

On 9/11/2013 at 4:29 AM, Lalaisgongon said:

Sense.Of.Entitlement

Why do cities with worst public transport system then us have a less "want" for a car

NYC

Paris

London

Tokyo.

etc etc.

First world metropolitan cities like us.

Talk to people there, they dont want a car. but their trains break down all the time.

oh right, they walk.

Hahahaha

We are so very dependant on a car, so used to one , even have to drive 400m to 450m just to buy some things.

Last week I got a request from a colleague, to send him to the car service centre to get his car.

( less than 300m from office ) you know what i mean [jawdrop]

On 9/11/2013 at 5:03 AM, Nzy said:

If you can afford to take the bus, train or cab then why not? So if you can afford a car then buy one and drive it everywhere. However, if you can't then just stick to public transport or other cheaper modes of transport instead of asking the govt to make cars cheaper for your own convenience. Its not like there are no cheaper alternative available yet.

[thumbsup] I agree to. It is not as if bus/mrt is so expensive that it is not affordable.. look on the brightside, you can bio XMM in bus/mrt without fear of getting involved in accidents! lagi better, can peep at what is the latest drama people are watching!

On 9/11/2013 at 5:03 AM, Nzy said:

Paiseh ahh, but nowhere in any of my post did I ask the gov to make cars cheaper. I even suggested keeping COE and all the other taxes if they used the revenue to greatly improve road infrastructure.

On 9/11/2013 at 3:55 AM, Knoobie said:

true that globally everyone is looking at low-emission cars..

but not likely for them to change to base on CEVS.. it will only bring back the same old story...

nice to see big company like Bosch dare to go one big round suan our minister

As you said, they (Bosch) are a big international company...but of course, if even Bosch can see the "flaw" in the changes in COE, sigh... [bigcry]

On 9/11/2013 at 5:08 AM, Yhn said:

Hahahaha

We are so very dependant on a car, so used to one , even have to drive 400m to 450m just to buy some things.

Last week I got a request from a colleague, to send him to the car service centre to get his car.

( less than 300m from office ) you know what i mean [jawdrop]

That's just plain lazy (which is a common habit for most of us sometimes) [laugh]

On 9/11/2013 at 5:12 AM, Hotshot85 said:

Paiseh ahh, but nowhere in any of my post did I ask the gov to make cars cheaper. I even suggested keeping COE and all the other taxes if they used the revenue to greatly improve road infrastructure.

IMO there is only so much the govt can do to improve the road infrastructure. There are so many places where they have widened the road but still have jams everywhere. IMO it is more appropriate that they use the money to improve and expand the public transport network instead and reduce the number of cars on the road gradually since this will benefit a larger group of people.

Edited by Nzy

On 9/11/2013 at 5:13 AM, Pandapura said:

As you said, they (Bosch) are a big international company...but of course, if even Bosch can see the "flaw" in the changes in COE, sigh... [bigcry]

now we can only cross our fingers and pray that no one make any more noises.... later one more ruling come out... end of the day only we die...

On 9/11/2013 at 5:25 AM, Nzy said:

IMO there is only so much the govt can do to improve the road infrastructure. There are so many places where they have widened the road but still have jams everywhere. IMO it is more appropriate that they use the money to improve and expand the public transport network instead and reduce the number of cars on the road gradually since this will benefit a larger group of people.

I dont agree. There is a limit to road expansion. The areas where it matters are bursting at the seams - downtown, shopping belt etc.

Adding cars is a bad idea. Reducing them is better. Allow more bus, taxi licenses, and allow them to ply the roads would make more sense as they are more efficient per capita.

On 9/11/2013 at 6:13 AM, Simplecar said:

I dont agree. There is a limit to road expansion. The areas where it matters are bursting at the seams - downtown, shopping belt etc.

Adding cars is a bad idea. Reducing them is better. Allow more bus, taxi licenses, and allow them to ply the roads would make more sense as they are more efficient per capita.

That was what I am trying to say. The road infrastructure can only be improved up to a certain point only. Better to improve the public transport network and gradually reduce the number of private cars. Furthermore majority of the people are still taking public transport so it benefits more people this way as well.

Edited by Nzy

On 8/26/2013 at 4:20 PM, Joseph22 said:

Yeah everything come down and disappear. Everyone buy car every one get to drive.

Huat ah more good year...

Wait how to drive everywhere jam.