Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

Just had Dong Lai.   First time.  Enjoyed it for it's unique flavor that is different from the usual MSW, JF, D24. It is sweet though, no hint of bitter.  

On 8/16/2023 at 9:19 PM, Hamburger said:

@Fcw75 

5 Genting old tree 5 black gold

Lack consistency. While some are good some not so.

IMG20230816205220.jpg

IMG20230816205350.jpg

You are durian connoisseur, hard to meet your standard la. 😅

This one looks very nice to me liao. 😁

I only bought normal MSW, the 6 for $100. 🤣

The second photo is which one ah? Looks damn Shiok…

Edited by Fcw75

On 8/16/2023 at 9:26 PM, Fcw75 said:

You are durian connoisseur, hard to meet your standard la. 😅

This one looks very nice to me liao. 😁

I only bought normal MSW, the 6 for $100. 🤣

The second photo is which one ah? Looks damn Shiok…

It's BG in 2nd pix and it's 90 for 5 and 120 for old tree.

Colour is one thing while taste is still without the wow factor.

On 8/16/2023 at 9:40 PM, Hamburger said:

It's BG in 2nd pix and it's 90 for 5 and 120 for old tree.

Colour is one thing while taste is still without the wow factor.

Your price special one ah..😬

On 8/16/2023 at 9:42 PM, Fcw75 said:

Your price special one ah..😬

Same same for all. Feeling not shiok now.Haiz...

Tomorrow see other boxes....hahaha

On 8/15/2023 at 10:24 PM, Hamburger said:

Me doing it tomorrow!!

6 MSW for 100 is very good price. Can share lobang ?🤣🤣

Got tis msw fr jb 333....small seeds, creamy fresh, bitter sweet. 5kg fruit, 1.6kg yield

Screenshot_2023-08-21-21-45-36.thumb.jpeg.6e51fe2f1db70bc7287a73d1fc239229.jpeg

Screenshot_2023-08-21-21-45-15.thumb.jpeg.9f9c7e9ad8f14394921249b0de1a7208.jpeg

Edited by zipping

2 small MSW...  Creamy..   smaller seed one taste more bitter. 

Sorry for the lousy camera..  From the same box but color is different [smash]

IMG_20230827_195824.jpg

IMG_20230827_192949.jpg

• Praise 10

Chin cai buy chin cai eat...from that flowery village within hougang village...15 per kilo old tree on cat mountain...neber state from which state...but said from pahang when asked...

Not bad...quite creamy but slightly skew towards sweet than bitter...

IMG_20230827_162631.jpg

Edited by mersaylee
  • Praise 10

On 8/27/2023 at 9:01 PM, mersaylee said:

Chin cai buy chin cai eat...from that flowery village within hougang village...15 per kilo old tree on cat mountain...neber state from which state...but said from pahang when asked...

Not bad...quite creamy but slightly skew towards sweet than bitter...

IMG_20230827_162631.jpg

The dry wet like not very consistent on it leh...

On 8/27/2023 at 9:10 PM, Tohto said:

The dry wet like not very consistent on it leh...

Seller wanted to give me a worse one which I rejected...this one still ok...soft and not moist...taste wise quite consistent...low yield tho...that box was 25 dollah 😂

Was at Bangkit market over the weekend, at least 5 durian sellers in the vicinity, price as low as $12/kg for Pahang B grade MSW (more than 1.4kg each but odd shape with low yield) but taste is reasonably intense and niam niam without being watery.  

Tried the first stall right next to coffee shop. Anyone has good recommendations for the others?  My son's camp is nearby, so might stop by regularly.

saw the comments here that this week durian is generally good, so went ahead to order from my usual online store. Same as the other bro mentioned, the pahang old tree is creamy, slight bitter and gassy taste. I decided not to go for black gold as wife complained the BG last few rounds not as good as old tree.

20230829_200632_compress96.jpg

• Praise 15

On 8/27/2023 at 10:33 PM, Voodooman said:

Was at Bangkit market over the weekend, at least 5 durian sellers in the vicinity, price as low as $12/kg for Pahang B grade MSW (more than 1.4kg each but odd shape with low yield) but taste is reasonably intense and niam niam without being watery.  

Tried the first stall right next to coffee shop. Anyone has good recommendations for the others?  My son's camp is nearby, so might stop by regularly.

Never tried any but bukit batok east not that far from bangkit. Can try the durian tree there.

btw, looted some small msw last week from ah dong JB. Rm28 per kg, very good in taste and price. 😄

Edited by TangoCharlie

Bought 11+kg @$18/kg Pahang Bentong Black Gold MSW Durians from Blk 139 Tampines St 11 earlier (2pm+)

Last night went, they were sold out as now they only have 1 scheduled delivery these days. 

One more fruit not in picture, too shy. No lah, no space so actual total is 8 fruits. 

20230831_141803_copy_1512x2016.thumb.jpg.fe793ac2a79fda56a4e7576086843157.jpg

After dehusked 

20230831_142333_copy_1512x2016.thumb.jpg.228f92d0cd1f7fbab25b4be319ca99cd.jpg

20230831_142007_copy_1512x2016.thumb.jpg.3b2ec7dc1cc5a19f679ed1dd3a696f40.jpg

20230831_141408_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.a7c51238617aede979ceca6ac2d1555f.jpg

20230831_141942_copy_1512x2016.thumb.jpg.13a2d10c433df3e2840fb6aaad8887bd.jpg

20230831_141354_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.a5aba2421fe7f059f46bd94c064aaa54.jpg

20230831_141345_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.05cc8f42519450404867124c56c44393.jpg

20230831_141341_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.153bf0eaacb6c45be808addcb0b0e0bb.jpg

They now come in Styrofoam boxes packed with ice to maintain the freshness of durians to beat the warm weather and journey. 

20230831_141332_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.4b7206f2b9b29a929916e86da560cecc.jpg

Going to keep in the fridge to enjoy slowly over the weekend. 😍

20230831_144900_copy_2304x1728.thumb.jpg.dd79e34412d35ad6c5bceca9804acc89.jpg

20230831_144854_copy_2266x1594.thumb.jpg.df221a1ce055d189c2103e40c2702d81.jpg

Flesh gao gao, taste creamy and very bitter. Much much better harvest than those a few weeks ago. 😋😋😋😋😋👍👍👍

20230831_144922_copy_1728x2304.thumb.jpg.ee3a617be58884cb2fb82548f838dd38.jpg

20230831_145200_copy_2304x1728.thumb.jpg.665ade7f3d9bb8d6d245d60d489ef8c1.jpg

20230831_145155_copy_2304x1728.thumb.jpg.170e92e58a2745fc44fabd99095961eb.jpg

Not related to the business or anything here or there. Fresh stocks of Red Prawn cultivar arriving later this afternoon, in case some bros prefer them. 

Season likely to last till end October after a 2 weeks break in September, told to me. 

Eat eat eat. Remember to balance the heatiness ya. 

Stay safe 

• Praise 11

Creamy, yummy and bitter bitter 😋😋😋😋😋👍. Still got 4 boxes for the weekend. 😍

20230901_163902_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.6b03f56fb44b0db638050d097310b8c6.jpg

20230901_163940_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.aad356933269cbc9dc0dbce1152d1463.jpg

20230901_163839_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.cfa279033dbcda5323dfa5f0382b2637.jpg

20230901_130205_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.21bf523f642d137b9cfb0e2af62b1e3a.jpg

20230901_130158_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.257d35d7d1a979b2d3ef35eda52071d1.jpg

20230901_130434_copy_2016x1512.thumb.jpg.08ce2ca55d60f08537570f8d2557c592.jpg

Stay safe all