Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

On 6/21/2023 at 10:49 PM, Carbon82 said:

Walking around those durian stall around my estate, confirm most of them cannot make it. Small, almost smell and pricey, not worth to waste calories now. 

I think have to postpone our mu originally planned for this Friday. I will keep all of you posted again when the time durian is ripe.

And please share any good lobang you have come across. [:)]

Looks like the season has restarted. Prices still on the higher side. But I think next week should have increased stocks. 

On 7/11/2023 at 10:23 PM, Carbon82 said:

Wife's staff just pass her a box of MSW. I concur with bro @Tianmo, free one always taste the bestest! :D

cFXCbNw.jpg

Yes yes yes!!!

Free ones always taste good, so no need to ask.^_^[laugh][laugh]

these ah lians look good too. [thumbsup]

I though I 2F2F, end up @Carbon82 has the fastest legs (or fingers)

IMG_20230717_142040.thumb.jpg.16e3567e92f06aefe147e202497ae5f5.jpg

Bought 7 1+kg RP for 40 bucks at BP ring rd, but this time I bought it at the stall near to Giant.IMG_20230717_141633.thumb.jpg.9227f33b8c65cf30f171608f219f3c71.jpg

These were 3 for 20 durians and the pile (the seller too) looked uninspiring until I dug through the whole basket for 10 minutes and saw RP at the bottom of the basket. 

In the process of doing so, I attracted a lot of attention to his otherwise empty stall as the seller bothered more about tcss-ing to his friend than selling durians.

He asked whether I wanted to take them unopened, I said no unless he gave me an extra durian.

So he offered a palm sized one which I rejected, requesting for a 1kg RP instead.

IMG_20230717_141751.thumb.jpg.e76db49cf780ce781408b8f299c3ec12.jpg

IMG_20230717_142033.thumb.jpg.6a2c6761c85a866d527319d1a53d1a68.jpg

-yes it's this one

After 1 minutes of deliberating the seller relented and between that durian, and tcss he chose tcss in the end. 😂

• Praise 10

On 7/17/2023 at 3:32 PM, Hamburger said:

FR on durian now please....whether it's good to have a go again!!

No go for me...yet...7 7 burnt another hole in my oredi slimmed wallet due to inflation...also becos just finished the bak kwa...and started running...will take at least 2 weeks to burn...😅

On 7/17/2023 at 7:59 PM, mersaylee said:

No go for me...yet...7 7 burnt another hole in my oredi slimmed wallet due to inflation...also becos just finished the bak kwa...and started running...will take at least 2 weeks to burn...😅

Also remember the adage that never goes wrong.

Use poison to counter poison. 😆

Today I scored 3 D2s from Boon Lay PL for 20 bucks.

IMG_20230718_194315.thumb.jpg.8ad71630f34ea0ef5a2e187196d980b6.jpg

They weigh about 1.5 kg each

IMG_20230718_194512.thumb.jpg.75ce9b486372fb26cb91995d0880a1ca.jpg

As I chose them, the seller cautioned they were hard to open

IMG_20230613_140017.thumb.jpg.c889c866a3347a109eef579f1e47ef44.jpg

-D2 at JW 505 LHC, mid-jun 2023

but knowing how soft the flesh of D2 is in comparison with other durians, I didn't bother to ask the seller to open them.

IMG_20230718_194357.thumb.jpg.53f03ebf20fd238ba1f8294933a3c89a.jpg

Indeed, they were hard to open but quality is good with a mild bitter tinge to it. It's fibrous texture means the taste lingers more than the average RP.

Edited by Brass
At this rate I'm going I might go bankrupt/ get diabetes from durian 😂

Today went walk walk check ah lian, wah the price is no cheap sia.

Highest I saw is $58/kg, lowest $18/kg, in between there are $28kg, $38/kg. 

Think I wait for my free citi ah lian next month. [:p][laugh][laugh]

• Shocked 2

On 7/19/2023 at 9:39 PM, Tianmo said:

Today went walk walk check ah lian, wah the price is no cheap sia.

Highest I saw is $58/kg, lowest $18/kg, in between there are $28kg, $38/kg. 

Think I wait for my free citi ah lian next month. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Wah .. what kind of durians can command 58/ kg now ? Pahang black thorn from old tree ? 

On 7/19/2023 at 10:52 PM, Hubwee said:

Wah .. what kind of durians can command 58/ kg now ? Pahang black thorn from old tree ? 

I never pay much attention,  since I cannot afford. [:p][laugh][laugh]

Let me see if I can go back and take a picture tomorrow. 

maybe tupai king from penang. Not sure if still hv season now.

BT not originally from pahang anyway. Not likely to have old tree there.

anyway, sellers can anyhow label durian. 

Was dining at Pasir Ris kopi thiam and could not resist.

Don't know what breed but turned out pretty ok. Smooth and definitely not MSW taste nor flavour.

IMG20230720171010.jpg

IMG20230720171035.jpg

• Praise 10

On 7/20/2023 at 5:45 PM, Hamburger said:

Was dining at Pasir Ris kopi thiam and could not resist.

Don't know what breed but turned out pretty ok. Smooth and definitely not MSW taste nor flavour.

IMG20230720171010.jpg

IMG20230720171035.jpg

Can meet your standard confirm quite good. 😬

On 7/20/2023 at 7:19 PM, Fcw75 said:

Can meet your standard confirm quite good. 😬

Bro, having flooded with MSW all this while, it was a breath of fresh taste.

Here bro, but seriously I also don't know wtf these ah lians can ask for $58 a kg, maybe put there for show only. But $38 is for real man. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Screenshot_20230721_130537_Photos.thumb.jpg.053d3b6d5d7aac8e79b2329777587934.jpg

Screenshot_20230721_130557_Photos.thumb.jpg.0bf47453b79b827ff132e8511c695c72.jpg

• Haha! 7