Camrysfa Turbocharged July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 I don't know about evening time. But this afternoon, visited 4 places and found stocks to be low and prices not appeitizing. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 So what Friendstar mentioned earlier is true lah - that the cheap Johore durians season is almost over now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 So what Friendstar mentioned earlier is true lah - that the cheap Johore durians season is almost over now.Not I say hor. Ah seng boss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 So what Friendstar mentioned earlier is true lah - that the cheap Johore durians season is almost over now. depends. Probably true if looking for johor MSW but the other types are still around. yong peng area still had many durians when I passed by on Fri. Not much msw though. I bought red prawn at Rm15/kg (abt 1.1kg/fruit) The boss at Zhong Cheng did say his season is slowing down but next week will still hv durian (but not MSW), He only said best if go on weekday cos weekend will be crowded. I don't know about evening time. But this afternoon, visited 4 places and found stocks to be low and prices not appeitizing. weekend effect? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 depends. Probably true if looking for johor MSW but the other types are still around. yong peng area still had many durians when I passed by on Fri. Not much msw though. I bought red prawn at Rm15/kg (abt 1.1kg/fruit) The boss at Zhong Cheng did say his season is slowing down but next week will still hv durian (but not MSW), He only said best if go on weekday cos weekend will be crowded. weekend effect? Yah, I was told by 2-3 liu lian stall that this season will last quite long, they expect it to last till late Aug early Sept. But no mention if it is only johor alone or including pahang msw. Anyway I think it will at least last till mid Aug, because I have a pahang msw buffel invitation by one of the banks on 4 Aug, and from past experience with this event, the harvest were always good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 I don't know about evening time. But this afternoon, visited 4 places and found stocks to be low and prices not appeitizing. I agree with bro @johnshl, it could be the weekend effect. I remember I mentioned here a few time don't go on weekends because price usually higher and stock lower. This afternoon when I went to pick my those 5 pcs, usually they will give one free, but today he said week end no need ask, stock not enough so no free ones. I usually buy on week days. Lesser crowd and better quality. [laugh] @carbon82, bro I think is weekend effect lor, try on Mon. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 I think the johor ang hey (red prawn) going to be in full swing soon, "the durian tree" at bukit batok had big flows of ang hey these last few days. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 Finally get to try out the Pahang MSW. Tok Gong!! [thumbsup] Burn a hole in my wallet. $28 for this, with total of 19 pods! 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 Finally get to try out the Pahang MSW. Tok Gong!! [thumbsup] Burn a hole in my wallet. $28 for this, with total of 19 pods! Very worth it leh....where ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 Bukit Batok blk 153 vicinity got lots of people queuing for durians tonight. One stall had a sign saying 24hrs. I can only watch the crowd as both wife and son sick, coughing. But I will go eat on Monday when I'm on leave Will scrutinize this thread for good recommendations. Hee hee heh 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 Finally get to try out the Pahang MSW. Tok Gong!! [thumbsup] Burn a hole in my wallet. $28 for this, with total of 19 pods! Less than $1.5 a pod leh, Lao di ah, tua tua wu hua liao lah. The last time I had one S17 to myself, 2.2kg, cost me $22 and I only had abt 11 pods, although the pods quite big. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 Bukit Batok blk 153 vicinity got lots of people queuing for durians tonight. One stall had a sign saying 24hrs. I can only watch the crowd as both wife and son sick, coughing. But I will go eat on Monday when I'm on leave Will scrutinize this thread for good recommendations. Hee hee heh Yah if can tahan, go on weekday, and eat there, usually they will give you one quite tokgong one. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 Bukit Batok blk 153 vicinity got lots of people queuing for durians tonight. One stall had a sign saying 24hrs. I can only watch the crowd as both wife and son sick, coughing. But I will go eat on Monday when I'm on leave Will scrutinize this thread for good recommendations. Hee hee heh Bangkit almost sold out lor. And thus i drove here to buy just now also. Lol. 16bucks per kg 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 Prices seem to be crippling up. A fren bought some MSW for $17 per kilo at Pasir Ris today. Combed the busy Geylang stretch of ah lian - not those at back lanes one hor - didn’t see any $10 per MSW, only those $15 or more by the kilo. Even those cheap, no guarantee 3 for $10 or $20 were petite in size comparing with those 4 for $10 self-picked by Tianmo... Also ventured to Aljunied crescent but the stalls there were running low on stock. Only saw two stalls at Geylang with night replenishment of stocks. The rests also like ‘while stock last’ kind of mode. I must say all those stalls I reccee tonight were polite and not pushy while those at JW who were less patient except for that guy helping customers to pack - very slow and zen - we all know why... Will probably go to JW again during weekdays. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 I drove by a few famous stalls tonight, all sold out liao. I suppose 24 hours whilst stocks last. Weekend boh ah lian loli cum out lor, have also small loli, so weekends the stocks demand always higher lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 Finally get to try out the Pahang MSW. Tok Gong!! [thumbsup] Burn a hole in my wallet. $28 for this, with total of 19 pods! Good price ! Plus since it is tok gong, than totally worth it lah . 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 I will listen out for the Malaysian King Kong truck, the ones with the exhaust sticking up. 2 nights ago got quite a few passed by my block, must be delivering lew lian. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic July 21, 2018 Share July 21, 2018 Yah if can tahan, go on weekday, and eat there, usually they will give you one quite tokgong one. Ya, if you notice from my past pictures. I have been eating at location every time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...