Durian Sellers - recommendations and to avoid

Aukang

On 6/20/2024 at 3:53 PM, mersaylee said:

AAA...sama sama taste as the B...not tiny seed but flat seed...

Black thorn super pungent...whole house macam got baby poo liddat...😂 Taste wise, close to red prawn, on the sweet side but not that sweet...look big but actually there a a few fruits in one...seed size is normal and round...

@zipping How's your loot? 

IMG_20240619_185232.jpg

IMG_20240619_185444.jpg

Last nite open 1 box, soso oni, msw $13/kg as posted abv, 2nite open 2nd box in e fridge see how...

On 6/20/2024 at 5:23 PM, Hamburger said:

OC told me until I show her my blood report, I am banned from eating durian.

Need to replicate a legit looking blood report for the love of durian.

Show her tis 😁 , e king hav arrive...must kop

1000001334.thumb.jpg.c76dbc2fc16244a479acdb976f6c65a1.jpg

On a side note, healthy more impt....all e best on e report.

On 6/20/2024 at 5:41 PM, mersaylee said:

Anyone has ever tried these types...?

福明, 江海 sleeping cat 😂

FB_IMG_1718875990106_edit_59600502521634.jpg

Not me, hav msw on e same price pt.....so msw it is.

On 6/20/2024 at 5:50 PM, zipping said:

Not me, hav msw on e same price pt.....so msw it is.

Must be either lousy eat oredi rather sleep or very sweet until sugar rush...😅

On 6/20/2024 at 5:52 PM, mersaylee said:

Must be either lousy eat oredi rather sleep or very sweet until sugar rush...😅

Its creamy n bittersweet (not strong) but not as gd as e ones i bought e last rd (few mths back).

Edited by zipping

On 6/20/2024 at 5:41 PM, mersaylee said:

Anyone has ever tried these types...?

福明, 江海 sleeping cat 😂

FB_IMG_1718875990106_edit_59600502521634.jpg

福明13  is basically D13 lah, the Johor 红虾,  and some cheong it as 小黑刺. 

江海 is a little similar to 金凤, very small seeds, bitter sweet, but not as strong as JF, and 江海 generally has a bigger whole fruit than JF, and price is almost half of JF. 

Sleeping cat I no know, pussy cat and ora good cat I know.. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

Hokay...tomorrow i go whack some 江水滔滔不绝, 希望老板"卖来海"...😂

On 6/20/2024 at 8:26 PM, mersaylee said:

Hokay...tomorrow i go whack some 江水滔滔不绝, 希望老板"卖来海"...😂

江海 actually is quite value for money, if in season and get some real good ones, 可以冒充金凤. But if you are the msw only man, and used to the meaty, creamy, strong MSW only, then don't waste time, just keep to MSW. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 6/20/2024 at 8:40 PM, Tianmo said:

江海 actually is quite value for money, if in season and get some real good ones, 可以冒充金凤. But if you are the msw only man, and used to the meaty, creamy, strong MSW only, then don't waste time, just keep to MSW. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I'm open minded one...reasonable and good triumph over expensive desire...😁

2nd n last box fr yesterday's loot, so much better, e fragrance fr opening e sealed pack so much promise, creamy bittersweet (more bitter than sweet).

Tink ah lian still abit inconsistent.

1718889893507.thumb.jpg.c33dc2519d787a06abe571ad38afb2df.jpg

On 6/20/2024 at 9:33 PM, zipping said:

2nd n last box fr yesterday's loot, so much better, e fragrance fr opening e sealed pack so much promise, creamy bittersweet (more bitter than sweet).

Tink ah lian still abit inconsistent.

1718889893507.thumb.jpg.c33dc2519d787a06abe571ad38afb2df.jpg

Ahh...i remember now. The packer mentioned that quality will be more stable in july...

visited Zhong Cheng Durian Farm at Kulai

quite a fun trip, with 750m off road into the plantation

overall, the durians are quite good, though a bit expensive

got 假红虾, 青龙, 石头 and 黑刺... no mao shan wang

a.jpg.17236c470fcd6afc40443336d46b508d.jpg

b.thumb.jpg.c24e371fffd370cb3b27494bfbcea9c8.jpg

c.jpg.77c91af48f471e8f410d538e414f6f02.jpg

d.jpg.5df2bed7a38bf790c1929ae9e78042b1.jpg

e.thumb.jpg.7eda3596b86ec7c39f5396b4cebcb699.jpg

f.thumb.jpg.a47515663afb14ee7e09e0a06bfd77ff.jpg

• Praise 16

On 6/24/2024 at 9:49 PM, Scion said:

visited Zhong Cheng Durian Farm at Kulai

quite a fun trip, with 750m off road into the plantation

overall, the durians are quite good, though a bit expensive

got 假红虾, 青龙, 石头 and 黑刺... no mao shan wang

a.jpg.17236c470fcd6afc40443336d46b508d.jpg

b.thumb.jpg.c24e371fffd370cb3b27494bfbcea9c8.jpg

c.jpg.77c91af48f471e8f410d538e414f6f02.jpg

d.jpg.5df2bed7a38bf790c1929ae9e78042b1.jpg

e.thumb.jpg.7eda3596b86ec7c39f5396b4cebcb699.jpg

f.thumb.jpg.a47515663afb14ee7e09e0a06bfd77ff.jpg

i went to this farm a few years before covid. Good to see they have improved the dirt track leading in. Last time it had some bad ruts in the middle of the hill in your 2nd pic

small farm, few varieties available. Still a fun experience, as u mentioned. I think the Green Dragon is their signature? 

On 6/24/2024 at 10:20 PM, Shibadog said:

i went to this farm a few years before covid. Good to see they have improved the dirt track leading in. Last time it had some bad ruts in the middle of the hill in your 2nd pic

small farm, few varieties available. Still a fun experience, as u mentioned. I think the Green Dragon is their signature? 

yah sedan cars can drive in, but i think may be more difficult if it rains heavily (lucky for us, only got dark clouds when we went)

they also have this 石头 durian which i never heard of 😂 but not bad at all

overall quite interesting experience for the family.. the old folks love it, remind them of the older days 😁

I recommend D Food World @ Tampines Street 23, Blk 201D. The durian stall is outside a shop selling fish tackles. I last bought MSW from there @$18/Kg (there is another variant at $23/kg) last Friday. The durians there are good and has never failed to impress me. During booms, they also carry baby MSW (my favourite) at  $10 - 12 per Kg. These baby fruits come from the same trees as the more expensive ones, just size smaller. And they don't open shop if the durians cannot make it. The stall is easy to identify as they have a green dino statue displayed at the stall.

buay tahan see your ah lian pics so went to hoot a mountain cat...not bad but still a little not consistent...

IMG_6113.jpg

Visited BP ring Rd Bangkit Market agn...

Bought 2 1kg durians for $5 each, husk thicker than wall but taste not bad, especially the green husk D13 was more pungent (relative) than usual with an alcoholic tinge.

IMG_20240628_131527.jpg

IMG_20240628_200603.jpg

IMG_20240628_200901.jpg

• Praise 10

Just opened the lust box...my children not keen on ah lian anymore...heng ah...wife the usual heavy taker unwell...limpeh ownself makan ownself song...but all the tabata, running, cycling thereafter sibeh siong...wanted to hoot more ah lian by purposely drive past ah lian stall...but the big NO from wife gets louder each time...😅