Little_prince Supersonic June 6, 2015 Share June 6, 2015 Just bought from ah Seng at Sembawang 牛油包$10/kg Very good. Very Creamy more to the sweet type. Abit pasty texture like jin Feng. Not very pungent. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 off topic a bit..... no such thing as 粒 but 个 in durian. Singapore & MY chinese really cmi, anything also 粒。。。 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 Ah Teck is the smaller stall opposite the big fruit stall.. Use to call me when the stock of XO arrived. he's still there? i'm not getting any sms from him this year.. visited a few times his durian/staff aren't there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 he's still there? i'm not getting any sms from him this year.. visited a few times his durian/staff aren't there. if possible keep me informed of any XO arrival. I am head over heels over XO.... yes, they are watery but the pungent and super smelly aroma simply blow me away... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 (edited) he's still there? i'm not getting any sms from him this year.. visited a few times his durian/staff aren't there. Bought two durians from him two weeks ago. He's around when the season is here. I notice he closes shop when it's off peak. if possible keep me informed of any XO arrival. I am head over heels over XO.... yes, they are watery but the pungent and super smelly aroma simply blow me away... Also like the xo taste. But among the xo, getting the right is also not guaranteed. Sometime the xo do not have that strong bitter taste.Not all watery is lousy, depends on what breed. Hi durian lovers Was wondering is there's anywhere in SG where we can buy durian by basket at wholesale prices No need to choose kind as u just buy the whole basket like how the durian sellers receive them from the lorry No need to be branded species too Thanks in advance! Search alibaba. But got moq. Edited June 7, 2015 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 Sorry newbie here. Orange flesh durian is what type? Some ppl tell me is xo, but I see places put xo and its yellow flesh one. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 Sorry newbie here. Orange flesh durian is what type? Some ppl tell me is xo, but I see places put xo and its yellow flesh one. XO is white, sometimes got abit of blue-black.. Orangy can be either D13 or D101.. Sweet tasting. Buy these for the kids to save money. MSW for the adult. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 off topic a bit..... no such thing as 粒 but 个 in durian. Singapore & MY chinese really cmi, anything also 粒。。。 then for boobs shld I use 粒 or 个 ?? 6 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 then for boobs shld I use 粒 or 个 ?? 终究还是两个木瓜。。。。 XO is white, sometimes got abit of blue-black.. Orangy can be either D13 or D101.. Sweet tasting. Buy these for the kids to save money. MSW for the adult. i concur you know a xo when you see one. blue/black would be the best and yes, lots of fake xo out there and too much of xo will make you drowsy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 (edited) Sorry newbie here. Orange flesh durian is what type? Some ppl tell me is xo, but I see places put xo and its yellow flesh one. like end said ... XO are usually white ... those blue/black one are those kana hamtam before one. So taste bitter. their live suxkssss ... thats why bitter. sweet one more to orange red .. like "red prawn". Creamy type go for "Ah gong Ah Ma" durian. MSW has very few seeds per "ball". Big "serving" per seed . The good one has very small seed. Jin Feng seed is like raisin... simple to eat . 终究还是两个木瓜。。。。 i concur you know a xo when you see one. blue/black would be the best and yes, lots of fake xo out there and too much of xo will make you drowsy If I see the TP , can I say I just had XO durian ............. its not against law rite hahaha Edited June 7, 2015 by Angcheek 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear June 7, 2015 Share June 7, 2015 XO is white, sometimes got abit of blue-black.. Orangy can be either D13 or D101.. Sweet tasting. Buy these for the kids to save money. MSW for the adult. hmmm, then I think quite kiddy, I like to eat the orange ones. hah 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic June 8, 2015 Share June 8, 2015 Durian with full blast of bitterness is best. Durian rocks!!!!! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic June 8, 2015 Share June 8, 2015 Hi durian lovers Was wondering is there's anywhere in SG where we can buy durian by basket at wholesale prices No need to choose kind as u just buy the whole basket like how the durian sellers receive them from the lorry No need to be branded species too Thanks in advance! My regular durian seller does this but I've never bought one whole basket from him before... You sure you can finish it all on your own? You can visit his facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/AhSengDurian?fref=ts 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 16, 2015 Share June 16, 2015 this table is v useful for knowing what you are eating or choosing. Taken from Ah Seng FB. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 19, 2015 Share June 19, 2015 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/malaysian-durians-selling/1924538.html 'tis a season of rejoicing, lah lah lah lah.......... Durian aficionados have reason to rejoice, as several durian vendors are seeing a drop in prices with the start of the harvesting season in Malaysia. Prices for the Mao Shan Wang, the most popular type of durian in Singapore, is at the lowest ever for this year at S$15 to S$16 per kilogramme. Golden Phoenix durians are being sold at about S$12 a kilogramme in Geylang, compared to S$15 last year. A kampung durian could also be as cheap as 50 cents. Combat Durian's Linda Ang said on Thursday (Jun 18) prices started falling last week, where Mao Shan Wang durians were going for about S$25 to S$28 per kilogramme. "It's the start of the harvesting season and supply is going up, hence the lower prices. The hot weather also helped in more durians being harvested in Malaysia," Ms Ang said. Another vendor, Ms Lee Chien Lan of Ah Soon Durian and Fruit Stall, said prices might fall even further. "The harvesting season has just started. If we are able to get more, it will be cheaper," she said. But vendor Gan Jiuann Woei from Lian Chun Fruit Shop said it is not just the hot weather that is resulting in a big harvest this year. "There was a drought in Malaysia last year so the quality was not as good. The weather conditions this year are quite ideal, with rainy and sunny days, so we'll see better ones this year," he explained. Ah Yee from Ah Hung Company said the falling prices could be due to Ramadan. "Many Malays have also started their fasting period. Hence, most of their harvest would come into Singapore, which is causing prices to fall because of the large supply. I think the prices could fall further." However, vendors said the quantity of durians imported into Singapore has fallen compared to last year. Combat Durian is bringing in an estimated 750kg to 1,000kg a day for June and July this year. Last year, the stall brought in about 1,200kg to 1,500kg of durians per day in the same period. Ms Ang said this could be due to fewer durians available for export to Singapore. "This year, China has imported a lot of durians from our supplier in Malaysia, in Johor and Pahang, so we get less," she said. Mao Shan Wang durian sold for as low as S$12 a kilogramme last year, during the same period. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swaku 1st Gear June 19, 2015 Share June 19, 2015 Bought two durians from him two weeks ago. He's around when the season is here. I notice he closes shop when it's off peak. Also like the xo taste. But among the xo, getting the right is also not guaranteed. Sometime the xo do not have that strong bitter taste. Not all watery is lousy, depends on what breed. Search alibaba. But got moq. You guys are ah teck's regulars too? Small world indeed. I have been buying durians from his old stall and now the smaller stall at hougang for the past few years. His durians are good but a bit ex compared to others. I just bought $150 of Mao Shan Wang from him early this week when he called me to say durians are good now. Heart pain sia at $20/kg. Hope the price will drop soon. Will be trying out another stall at Jurong West this weekend where the MSW are going at $12/kg now. My friend brought some for me to sample and it's good too. Place a bit far but the savings for 15kg of MSW (as much as $120) for my family will be worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 19, 2015 Share June 19, 2015 You guys are ah teck's regulars too? Small world indeed. I have been buying durians from his old stall and now the smaller stall at hougang for the past few years. His durians are good but a bit ex compared to others. I just bought $150 of Mao Shan Wang from him early this week when he called me to say durians are good now. Heart pain sia at $20/kg. Hope the price will drop soon. Will be trying out another stall at Jurong West this weekend where the MSW are going at $12/kg now. My friend brought some for me to sample and it's good too. Place a bit far but the savings for 15kg of MSW (as much as $120) for my family will be worth it. Where is this Ah teck store at Hougang? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged June 19, 2015 Share June 19, 2015 is there any gd honest seller in jurong with gd prices? i don need those expensive types. sometimes even the $5 durians taste nice to me. jus don like to be carrot-ed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...