Felipe 3rd Gear August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 SDP need to do better lah. After reading I still do not have faith in them. Do you know which country has the narrowest income gap? It used to be Communist countries whereby ppl are poor and have equal status. Ppl thought communism is ideal as there's no rich or poor, no status, no ranking system, no class segregation. But dan the biggest problem is the economy suffers badly to the point that ppl are starving. See North korea. Even China cannot tahan and open up to embrace capitalism. Income gap between the rich & poor widens. It's to me a "natural phenomenon". I must say our gahment put in a lot of safety nets to make sure the lower income can cope. Other gahment elsewhere usually do not care about the lower income group. I think MIW made it very clear from the very first day that they do not welcome the idea of social welfare. It's to me....crystal clear coz they like repeated many many times. To suggest healthcare to be mostly settled by gahment is...hey, are you dreaming? And not paying attention? I mean SDP just gave MIW the chance to laugh at them and call them...ok lah I won't say, else ppl think I'm "anti-SDP". The white paper thingy I do not support also. MIW believe it will help sgp remain competitive to keep our economy going. Unless someone has a better idea, we kaopeh also no use. SDP got idea boh? Housing wise.... Boh bian, our land is scarce dan there's the demand and supply thing. Everyone hopes to own a property in land scarce sgp, it's tough to maintain affordability. Ppl say or SDP say sgporeans kenna brainwash by MIW. Is it? I mean think about it. Some ppl what they want they will look to our gahment, "why gahment dun give us this?", "why gahment dun do this for us?", etc etc. In most countries ppl work hard for what they want. They never "stretch out their hands" and make demands like others owe them. You want something? You go think of a solution and work things out. Sgporeans are lucky. If they got problem, can look for MP to help them out. The mentality of some ppl should change, cannot expect the gahment to be your mother. What social welfare other countries have is becoz they have natural resources they could extract and export to make money to support such welfare policies. Natural resources one day will run out too. What's next? "Aiya, sorry we can no longer financially support the welfare system." You will see ppl protesting on the streets. What good will protesting do? Who the gahment turn to to get the money? Maybe SDP got money to borrow. LoL... SDP gotto do better dan criticising. You see a party who only know how to criticise...what for? The voters also know how to do that what. Ok then lets continue to have widening income gap n highest national debt ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 Best is to remind status quo, why? At least you have a job, do you want to land yourself like Philippines years ago? U take over a empty piggy bank? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 I stopped after reading the first few sentences. "Last year, we managed only 1.3% compared to our neighbours who averaged 6% GDP growth." "Among advanced economies, Singapore has the widest gap between the rich and the poor." sigh... why is he comparing singapore to our neighbours which is all developing countries in one sentence then compare us to advanced economies??? walao... can be consistent or not? cannot selective compare like that right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 I stopped after reading the first few sentences. "Last year, we managed only 1.3% compared to our neighbours who averaged 6% GDP growth." "Among advanced economies, Singapore has the widest gap between the rich and the poor." sigh... why is he comparing singapore to our neighbours which is all developing countries in one sentence then compare us to advanced economies??? walao... can be consistent or not? cannot selective compare like that right? SDP what.... Suka Suka Dan Pa.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 talk is easy. Rome wasn't built in one Day. Says the person with very high expectation of WP one election after it won more than 1 seat... Easy there fella. If you played RTK and u just conquered the 1st state and u are surrounded by powerful opponents that have far more resources than you, do you: 1) Hunker down and play safe 2) attack recklessly? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 Says the person with very high expectation of WP one election after it won more than 1 seat... Easy there fella. If you played RTK and u just conquered the 1st state and u are surrounded by powerful opponents that have far more resources than you, do you: 1) Hunker down and play safe 2) attack recklessly? Use cheat code to increase resources and unlimted life.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Suv8 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 Use cheat code to increase resources and unlimted life.... Read SDP's paragraph 8. Makes sense. Dun throw out the baby with the bath water. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 Read SDP's paragraph 8. Makes sense. Dun throw out the baby with the bath water. Make sense??? To who?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djim 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 this morning I woke with a headache; surprisingly, looking at China; one glaring fact jumps out; "it is better to have corrupt political officials who can work for the people and have proven to be capable than have corrupt political officials who CANNOT work"; another fact is politics is dirty and corrupt - only thing clean about politics is selling perception; in SINGAPORE, despite paying our leaders salaries many times the salary of Obama or the combine salary of the European leaders; not forgetting an iron rice bowl with a life long pension from age 51 years; what problems in our country have been solved; they provide short term solutions but produce other problems; there are no real long term solutions; Singapore is blindly chasing after a "position in the world stage" but she forgets the following: she is just a tiny dot on this planet, sooner or later others will catch up and have their turn eg SIA loosing out to Emirates no matter how hard you try, healthcare and education is a basic human right, without public accountability - some of leaders have literally extended their family powers into many sectors in our economy, etc; my thoughts: either current administration change their priorities towards citizen centric (which have been neglected for the longest time) or our younger generation who are more vocal and decisive may take matters in their own hands unlike the older more subservient generation (I hope not); if you have contradictory opinion, please enlighten me; Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djim 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 other thought; there is a difference in the message/ideas/proposal by the opposition versus ruling party; from the opposition - I guess it comes from the ground (real people) and whether they are reasonable or not, these are from the people and compromise can be made when policies are implemented; however, from the ruling party - their message/proposal or ideas are from them (remember national conversation - where is the u and me); in addition: the ruling party have how many people on their payroll working for them (salary in terms of billions) - the entire civil service and while the opposition have a tiny fraction; so when one compares we need to take these into account caveat: yes, don't expect every single line of the message to be acceptable to everyone because we are a diverse group of people with different needs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 Elections is far away in 2015 or 2016... When i go for exams... if the paper says 2.5 hrs and all are given 2.5 hrs to complete the paper... i dun have "teachers" coming to my desk to start marking my papers half way thru the paper... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djim 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 the truth depends on who is telling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djim 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 Elections is far away in 2015 or 2016... When i go for exams... if the paper says 2.5 hrs and all are given 2.5 hrs to complete the paper... i dun have "teachers" coming to my desk to start marking my papers half way thru the paper... wouldn't be nice if half way thru the paper, the teacher coming to your desk and gently remind you that you have dropped an unanswered question paper, this might save you from an outright F Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 (edited) wouldn't be nice if half way thru the paper, the teacher coming to your desk and gently remind you that you have dropped an unanswered question paper, this might save you from an outright F invigilators will do that... not those who mark the papers... btw i m not sitting for the papers.. i was just thinking TO MYSELF that if i m one of the "markers", and its uncoming for me to go round telling my fellow "markers" to fail someone even though its just 45min into the papers. Of cos i am not saying that u r trying to influence pple Edited August 25, 2013 by Raymondism Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 When people felt that the ruling party is not doing well..... anything that the Oppo says will sound good..... Just look at many example around the world.... and they will will have merry go round..... change gov like change underwear..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djim 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 invigilators will do that... not those who mark the papers... btw i m not sitting for the papers.. i was just thinking TO MYSELF that if i m one of the "markers", and its uncoming for me to go round telling my fellow "markers" to fail someone even though its just 45min into the papers. Of cos i am not saying that u r trying to influence pple then again, your if is unlikely to happen, because NO teacher in the world would mark any paper half way through the exam; furthermore, as for examination, this is not the first examination that the ruling party is taking; I am not influencing anybody, because people here are NOT spineless and they can think for themselves, sometimes clarity needs a bit of a nudge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianlim13 2nd Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 U are right, they cant do anything at all... sit there and collect 15k each very month. When questioned, they will say, hello no 1/3, cannot voice out lei. Politics is just policitics.. end of the day, it all boils down to individual. If capable why need to worry cost of living . We are Sg Inc.... put a price tag on everything. No emotions just results. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Djim 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 When people felt that the ruling party is not doing well..... anything that the Oppo says will sound good..... Just look at many example around the world.... and they will will have merry go round..... change gov like change underwear..... your change underwear analogy is really true; but in Singapore, since independence we have NOT had even a single change of "underwear"; so I guess you must be one of those who have not changed underwear since birth; my guess is NOBODY is really expecting a complete change of "underwear" BUT more like presence of checks for accountability; a change for citizen centric policies; a more caring society (how can a minister ask citizen to locate their old folks to JB - to place one's parents into an old age home already is painful and push them out to another country (even less chance to see your parents) - what message are you sending to the younger ones in society - old useless we can discard - we need to value each and every single citizen even yellow ribbons - one mistake does not mean the end of the world); if all is well, ask yourself, why do we have so many MARUAH, Transition.org and so on; why only one lawyer in Singapore wants to take up case of death penalty inmates - what happened to the rest of the lawyers; it is up to the government of the day, to crave policies to shape people centre policies, caring society and prosperous society; a balance policy - now we have policies that is just making Singapore an INC ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...