Moadia 1st Gear August 25, 2013 Share August 25, 2013 Another workshop to Beware is Karcool and Sung Beng Auto ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remierwan 1st Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Another workshop to Beware is Karcool and Sung Beng Auto What bad experience did you have at Sung Beng Auto? I went there on 2 occasions to change tires. They fix my problem permanently. (Something which the agent at the car company could not. Keep telling me to change suspension ,etc.) Maybe my problem was straight forward. (But I went to a few shops and all want to rip off $$$ by suggestion ridiculous solutions.) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 IMHO...workshop are just like any business. They smell blood they will go in for the kill. Once we went to a workshop with a friend who has a leaking engine and he need to go KL the next day...he pop into a workshop and ask them to check...found out that the previous mech who serviced the car puncture the oil filter and that was causing the leak. So technically it should be a replace the oil filter and top up EO and end of story. The bill ended up like $400+...cos do servicing...change spark plug etc...my friend paid up and said LPPL...need the car by tomorrow..else he could have gotten it cheaper...he knew that he also kenna robert liao. Find a good workshop that can click with you...and stick to it. "reputable" workshop sometime wrong timing also give you shoody service. I went to a pro brand workshop before to settle some issue with my ex ride...so many pattern and excuses until I sian...went to another workshop and the owner was genuine to help...told me that he may not know the car well but he is willing to try and he solved most of my old ride problem. I have been going back to him even there was once his guys made a mistake and refuse to admit his mistake...but I just let it slide...cos dun wan the owner to have a hard time to decide between me or his worker. So just let the thing pass lor...just a 100+ thing only... But I find all these chop carrot head WS damn stupid...now with internet...news spread fast...bad service spread lagi fast. You lose not only one customer...but many other potential customers as well. Find one good WS...just stick with him lor. Important thing is can solve your problem and reasonable charge...not necessary the cheapest...but off course I can accept below $50 diff..(ie...between one workshop and another for the same job scope.) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzmeup Clutched August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 I had a terrible incident a few months back with a workshop at havelock road, supposedly in the midst of getting their ISO. It looks impressive. But then again, looks can be deceiving. I actually googled it first n saw tt it had some complaints years ago. Seeing tt they were in the midst of getting the ISO, I thought then perhaps the place is being managed better. I just want to share with all here tt I believe tt all workshops will say tt they do service ur car, when in actual fact, they do not have the experience to do ALL types of cars. The people at the counter, serving u n collecting the payments are nice. But they are not the one repairing the car. Spent a few thousands of dollars before I realised tt i had been conned n tt they probly did things to my car, or didn't know what to do with my car, so tt I hv to come back ever so often. Can u imagine, in less than 3 months, i went there for at least 7 or eight times? I think the car could be a guinea pig for them. And why did I go there? Cos the car dealer tt I bought the car from told me tt the car wh I bought was serviced from day 1 at tt workshop, and as such they wd know all it's history. The car was a PI one. I wanted to try to save some money becos of high car prices. When u mentioned about the computer settings, it sounded familiar. I m unsure if it is the same place. I can list down the incidents but it will be a super long story. Enough to mention tt upon the first servicing after I bought the car, the car went in n out irritatingly into the workshop. Even the guy who operates the car grooming shop at the second level, asked me 'problem again?'. Bloody paiseh, man... Saw a lot of FTs working on the cars at the workshop. Have no issue with them but wonder if they know what they were doing. The final straw was when this 3 year old car with mileage of only 50km had gearbox issue. and they asked for $8500 approx for a second hand gearbox (n I used to drive a 3 series until 225km mileage before changing my gearbox!) I towed it to another place and get the second hand gearbox for a fraction of what they asked for. The car -CLS350. PS - perhaps all car workshops should have certificate of capability of their workers posted on the wall, just like doctors do. FYI, I hv a fren who opened a car workshop with NO experience in cars. He got someone who used to service a certain make of car to work for him. I couldn't believe my ears when my fren called me to ask where some parts of beamer630 was located, as his mechanic couldn't find it (I was driving the 630 before t CLS) Apologies for the rambling as it touched a sore nerve... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limpeh23 2nd Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Haha, now that you told us this, the right thing to do would be to share which is your friend's workshop so that we can avoid the place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzmeup Clutched August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Hehe...didn't last long...opened only for less than one year. They were at sin Ming...they closed recently...luckily for all but sadly for my fren...he lost money of course Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 When to come to electronic and software, I think it best to go back to agent. Servicing and accessories like brake light,tyres, engine oil, wipers, spark plug, sport rims should be ok. Agree. Should have gone back to official dealership for ECU related stuff (unless you mod). I go back to dealer when I have a problem. the one I go now, the people are friendly & professional. The price is also reasonable. unfornautely, Workshops in Singapore have stinking reputation, & deserving so, not unforunately, not resticted to workshop only. contractors & some otehrs can be unprofessional & carrot chopping also. There are some honest & professional workshop though, but you have to be pretty lucky also. last time, I always treat the mechanics with drinks, when they do a good job, so its also 2 way traffic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 I had a terrible incident a few months back with a workshop at havelock road, supposedly in the midst of getting their ISO. It looks impressive. But then again, looks can be deceiving. I actually googled it first n saw tt it had some complaints years ago. Seeing tt they were in the midst of getting the ISO, I thought then perhaps the place is being managed better. I just want to share with all here tt I believe tt all workshops will say tt they do service ur car, when in actual fact, they do not have the experience to do ALL types of cars. The people at the counter, serving u n collecting the payments are nice. But they are not the one repairing the car. Spent a few thousands of dollars before I realised tt i had been conned n tt they probly did things to my car, or didn't know what to do with my car, so tt I hv to come back ever so often. Can u imagine, in less than 3 months, i went there for at least 7 or eight times? I think the car could be a guinea pig for them. And why did I go there? Cos the car dealer tt I bought the car from told me tt the car wh I bought was serviced from day 1 at tt workshop, and as such they wd know all it's history. The car was a PI one. I wanted to try to save some money becos of high car prices. When u mentioned about the computer settings, it sounded familiar. I m unsure if it is the same place. I can list down the incidents but it will be a super long story. Enough to mention tt upon the first servicing after I bought the car, the car went in n out irritatingly into the workshop. Even the guy who operates the car grooming shop at the second level, asked me 'problem again?'. Bloody paiseh, man... Saw a lot of FTs working on the cars at the workshop. Have no issue with them but wonder if they know what they were doing. The final straw was when this 3 year old car with mileage of only 50km had gearbox issue. and they asked for $8500 approx for a second hand gearbox (n I used to drive a 3 series until 225km mileage before changing my gearbox!) I towed it to another place and get the second hand gearbox for a fraction of what they asked for. The car -CLS350. PS - perhaps all car workshops should have certificate of capability of their workers posted on the wall, just like doctors do. FYI, I hv a fren who opened a car workshop with NO experience in cars. He got someone who used to service a certain make of car to work for him. I couldn't believe my ears when my fren called me to ask where some parts of beamer630 was located, as his mechanic couldn't find it (I was driving the 630 before t CLS) Apologies for the rambling as it touched a sore nerve... which WS to avoid? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Local shops hardly think out of the box. They only do templating, undercuting and for some they are professional BS. If they are make to realise that such add on service can improve customer base and in turns improve the company's bottom line, am sure many will jump in. Maybe for a start try encouraging yr reliable mech to do it and see the result. I dun have a reliable mech. If u insist, it's ad lol. So far my exp wif C&C for MIT car is ok, km for Honda pricier, tan Chong is reasonably priced. So for me, I usually go back agent, unless smone can make gd recommendation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 I disagree that local workshop do not think out of the box. They are very creative to find ways to chop you. I think its combination of lacking cumsumer laws, unprofessionalism (& greed), as well as poor quality & lack of enforcement on quality of mechanics. I heard that ITE (whatever its called these days) used to be modelled after Germany workschool, to produce quality skill worker. but I think a combination of cheaper labours, lack of interest in Sinagpore to pursue 'manual' work, & lack of control over skill workers ( every tom dick & harry can claim to be eletricians, mechanics, or even engineers it seems in Singapore) lead to the situation we have today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear August 27, 2013 Share August 27, 2013 Agree. Should have gone back to official dealership for ECU related stuff (unless you mod). I go back to dealer when I have a problem. the one I go now, the people are friendly & professional. The price is also reasonable. unfornautely, Workshops in Singapore have stinking reputation, & deserving so, not unforunately, not resticted to workshop only. contractors & some otehrs can be unprofessional & carrot chopping also. There are some honest & professional workshop though, but you have to be pretty lucky also. last time, I always treat the mechanics with drinks, when they do a good job, so its also 2 way traffic. name some honest ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear August 27, 2013 Share August 27, 2013 Yes they will only think out of the box to BS and chop, I strongly agree with you Thinking to improve work flow and increase productivity is the least in their mind. The whole auto service industry is getting to nowhere, the causes, as you have mentioned. The big players are not putting any much effort to improve both institutional and on-the job training. For me I would to see more on regulations and enforcements/licencing on setting up auto service companies, hiring of skill techs and working conditions/enviroment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear August 27, 2013 Share August 27, 2013 In such "killing field" enviroment, honest and down to earth mech shop operators can hardly survive. If they do stay on, they end up doing job for those BS and chop carrot operators. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazzmeup Clutched August 27, 2013 Share August 27, 2013 The WS is Cyber. this is my personal experience. I did thought of going back to CnC but I have to pay an adoption fee, cos this is a PI car (the minimum is $10,000 for entry level merc. Can't imagine how much mine would be). They can probly do some models ok..definitely won't recommend my frens or relatives to this place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear August 27, 2013 Share August 27, 2013 Yes they will only think out of the box to BS and chop, I strongly agree with you Thinking to improve work flow and increase productivity is the least in their mind. The whole auto service industry is getting to nowhere, the causes, as you have mentioned. The big players are not putting any much effort to improve both institutional and on-the job training. For me I would to see more on regulations and enforcements/licencing on setting up auto service companies, hiring of skill techs and working conditions/enviroment. Then they will say, they have no choice but to raise cost of servicing, repair... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear August 28, 2013 Share August 28, 2013 This logical if they remain as it.Unless they re-ramp their operation method, increase investment on tools and equipment hopefully all these will lead to higher volume of works output and higher improvment in productivity there is no way to bring the cost down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear August 28, 2013 Share August 28, 2013 The WS is Cyber. this is my personal experience. I did thought of going back to CnC but I have to pay an adoption fee, cos this is a PI car (the minimum is $10,000 for entry level merc. Can't imagine how much mine would be). They can probly do some models ok..definitely won't recommend my frens or relatives to this place. how about going to sgmerc forum. read through the postings for some good WS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear August 28, 2013 Share August 28, 2013 The WS is Cyber. this is my personal experience. I did thought of going back to CnC but I have to pay an adoption fee, cos this is a PI car (the minimum is $10,000 for entry level merc. Can't imagine how much mine would be). They can probly do some models ok..definitely won't recommend my frens or relatives to this place. i have upped this WS topic for awarness. is this the WS at havelock? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...