Wishcumstrue 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Adding a wing of F-35 won't help much.. don't forget, any aircraft carrier is basically a sitting duck unless you have a complement of smaller ships around to protect it.. It's what we call the Carrier Stirke Group.. And typical CSG are bigger than the Navies of some smaller nations.. True. A carrier by itself an sufficient naval power projection does not make. However, we consider Abe's plan to expand their current fleet by 50% within the next 10 years, on top of existing 114 combat ships. I believe for now, Japan has that ability to create at least 2 such Carrier-strike groups in short order. So let's consider current JMSDF combat assets: 4 x helicopter Carriers (China now consider them their 22DDH as full-fledged aircraft carriers 航母 6 x large aegis destroyers (or cruisers) 2 x guided missile destroyers 16 x destroyers 13 x frigates), 6 x corvettes) 16 x attack submarines, 29 x mine countermeasure vessels, 3 x landing ship tanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 (edited) while u guys r concerned abt japan, syria cld kena missile strike by US soon.... Charlie Kaye @CharlieKayeCBS 23 Aug More from @CBSDavidMartin: Joint Chiefs Chair GEN Martin Dempsey expected to present options for Syria strike at White House mtg tomorrow. Edited August 26, 2013 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Both flew the imperial Nippon rising sun flag? You are partly correct - both IJN and JMSDF fly the same "sun raise" flag. But there is even more ominous similarity - Both ships share same name " Izumo or "いずも" Japan warship 'Izumo' in 1899 - used to invade China - http://baike.baidu.com/view/6433854.htm Japan latest carrier 'Izumo' DDH-183 Also symbolically launch on 6 Aug 2013 on the Anniversary of Hiroshima bombing. http://baike.baidu.com/view/578069.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 let's keep this thread relevant and focused, shall we? while u guys r concerned abt japan, syria cld kena missile strike by US soon.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 (edited) let's keep this thread relevant and focused, shall we? ok sori i tot here got lots of war buffs so i tell u guys there cld a ware erupting soon in mid east again: ok no more OT from me 2 US carriers in mid east vs 1 US carrier near japan... Edited August 26, 2013 by Duckduck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 HAHAHA omg. this is a dam funny statement. [laugh] Gosh. Zheng He was sailing around straits of malacca and in SEA in 1400s collecting tribute from the original inhabitants of SEA to the Emperor of China. He wasn't floating around the sea for years to come lim kopi with the inhabitants of SEA. i mean, gosh, please have some sense of history... i like lim kopi part Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 You are partly correct - both IJN and JMSDF fly the same "sun raise" flag. But there is even more ominous similarity - Both ships share same name " Izumo or "いずも" Japan warship 'Izumo' in 1899 - used to invade China - http://baike.baidu.com/view/6433854.htm Japan latest carrier 'Izumo' DDH-183 Also symbolically launch on 6 Aug 2013 on the Anniversary of Hiroshima bombing. http://baike.baidu.com/view/578069.htm heng jit poon the nuclear station is on the other side, if on the side facing tiong kok, i think sio pah liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 heng jit poon the nuclear station is on the other side, if on the side facing tiong kok, i think sio pah liao That is another story liao Why I'm not gong to Japan for holiday http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?s=&...t&p=4969707 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Somehow i quite like japanese and their country. they are the most gracious and cultured people in the world, makes the best cars and robots, best AV and most entertaining, is the most peaceful country, and their technological advancement is second to usa and has benefitted the world around. they brought us sharp, sony, panasonic, national etc, all these affordable electronics which has improved our standard of living. arigato nipon !! i think that's the main point for u. don't deny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 (edited) ok sori i tot here got lots of war buffs so i tell u guys there cld a ware erupting soon in mid east again: Yeah but we are talking about Japanese now. You want Syria, go start new thread....I sure support you by posting there Edited August 26, 2013 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 (edited) China when strong would not be a kaypoh either an aggressive country. What they are building currently is to contain USA power so as to protect themselves against usa, japan and even india Zheng He was sailing around straits of malacca and in SEA in 1400s collecting tribute from the original inhabitants of SEA to the Emperor of China. He wasn't floating around the sea for years to come lim kopi with the inhabitants of SEA. i mean, gosh, please have some sense of history... Actually Thaiyotakamli's historical perceptive is correct in a broader sense. If Zheng He voyages were intended on aggression by going around invading other countries he had visited, we will likely to hear more of the bloodbath and wars in places his fleet had visited. Perhaps you should doing a little more reading ? let's start with UCLA's Center for Chinese Studies: ULCA Zheng He's Seven Voyages: Historical Fact and Contemporary Significance http://www.international.ucla.edu/china/ev...sp?eventid=1560 Edited August 26, 2013 by Wishcumstrue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 (edited) i think that's the main point for u. don't deny lala, i will neither deny nor admit. Edited August 26, 2013 by Ingenius Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 HAHAHA omg. this is a dam funny statement. [laugh] Gosh. Zheng He was sailing around straits of malacca and in SEA in 1400s collecting tribute from the original inhabitants of SEA to the Emperor of China. He wasn't floating around the sea for years to come lim kopi with the inhabitants of SEA. i mean, gosh, please have some sense of history... what would you prefer? pay tribute or kena colonized? at least Zheng He and his ships were better than the Europeans in treating the natives Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 what would you prefer? pay tribute or kena colonized? at least Zheng He and his ships were better than the Europeans in treating the natives i thot ZH was supposed to snub out the emperor's brother or something like that? then at the same time, kao guan kao guan a bit with SEA for trade purposes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Actually Thaiyotakamli's historical perceptive is correct in a broader sense. If Zheng He voyages were intended on aggression by going around invading other countries he had visited, we will likely to hear more of the bloodbath and wars in places his fleet had visited. Lol tell how benevolent and friendly the chinese are to the vietnamese... [rolleyes] btw, though this was under Kublai Khan. But war between the japanese and chinese started long long ago ... And no guessing who was the aggressor. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mongol_invasions_of_Japan The whole concept of the country was based on unification under the Qin emperor. What makes u think they are strangers to war and aggression? All superpowers became superpowers from bullying and invading someone. USA is already the last one in the long history of superpowers dating back from Rome. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 if china dumps their US treasuries, the yields will spike n send funding cost flying n cause another lehman. If they rewrite rules, how will rest of d world who hold US treasuries view them? Unstable, volatile, change any time treasuries, which on sentiment alone will cause rest of d world to dump US treasuries n destabilize future US debt issuance. Anyway its hypothetical but IMO they cannot rules overnight especially US treasuries which r considered d most risk free global asset. Wihtout this, US$ as global reserve currency can fly kite liao n whole world destabilize hehe correct if China dumps US treasuries, both US and China's economies will uplorry, dragging the world along USD can also forget retaining its status as the unofficial global currency Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 i thot ZH was supposed to snub out the emperor's brother or something like that? then at the same time, kao guan kao guan a bit with SEA for trade purposes? No. If ZH wanna be emperor, he won't have obey this boss request to jounery all the way to Africa, not once, but SEVEN times. At least history has shown the ZH trip did not attempt to enslave Africans like some did 100 years later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 If anyone thinks that only a US-style CVBG is the only effective way to have a flat top, you only need to look back to 1982 and how the Royal Navy took two aircraft carriers across the globe and effectively conducted operations against a considerable land-based foe who had, for all intents and purposes, time to establish a defensive perimeter on the island as well as pose a threat from Argentina itself. The Royal Navy did lose a few ships, though. There's currently a few aircraft carrier operators who own them more for flag-waving than for actual strategic purposes but Japan and China aren't likely to be among them. The Harrier of 2013 is the V/STOL version of the F-35; you only need to put two and two together. China will have an angled-deck ski-ramp carrier and perhaps more on the way, so actual offensive capability could be greater. We should note that the western world has yet to come up against the Flanker family (SU-27/30/35) in an actual shooting war and so it might not be one-sided like lone MiG-29s against an array of F-15s in Iraq. And the Indian Air Force did acquit themselves well flying SU-30s against USAF F-15s in exercises. We're all just armchair generals here and the actual people making the decisions probably know enough about each other and are rational enough to know its quite stupid to go to war for little gain. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...