Japan Navy's latest "Destroyer"

Ahtong

I like this part, when u have no resources, please dont use it as an excuse to invade other countries. Japanese has already had mongolia, korea and taiwan in 20th century and they still want more... more..... and more. At least Great Britain invade but not so cruel like Japanese

Lol. great britain. Oh was it the same country that brought China to it's knees by introducing opium to them?

Which brought about the crippling of an entire nation?

Hohoho.

[rolleyes]

Which country didn't expand for more resources?

yes.

Even in C&C, we know we need more tiberium to build more tanks!! [laugh]

For MCFers who are interested in understanding the Japanese perspective from Meiji to Modern Japan, but cannot read Japanese, this Pulitzer-winning book is a good start from an ang moh researcher:

Thanks for the book recommendation!

Ohh please, I know we (or more specifically our forefathers) suffered during the Japanese Occupation of Asia, but to think of them as THE ONLY brutal invaders mankind has ever known? This is really shallow..

Many atrocities have been committed by various tribes, countries or empires since the dawn of humans. Just because there weren't any photographs during the ancient times doesn't mean that such acts have never taken place before.

And the shrine visits, I don't really think its to pay homage to their war dead in terms of thinking they are right to have gone to war but rather its more of a "If it weren't for your generation, we wouldn't be what we are today". If Japan had continued to stay passive rather than strengthening itself from the Meiji era, it would probably have just been "another country" in Asia.

there are hundreds of shrines in Japan that honour their ancestors, so why is this one so special and controversial?

why the Japanese politicians always want to visit this shrine, knowing very well that China and Korea will kick a big fuss about it?

i think you don't understand the significance of Yasukuni Shrine

go read up more about the shrine

But those dynasties are not as cruel as japanese army.

lol i wager if u were the ones who had their entire clans slaughtered (child to elderly) by the Emperor. U will be singing a different tune.

"Man men chao zhan". wow i think that didn't originate from angmoh or japanese leh... [rolleyes]

yes.

Even in C&C, we know we need more tiberium to build more tanks!! [laugh]

Hahaha. Last C&C I played was Tiberian Sun though, never play any of the sequels liao.

there are hundreds of shrines in Japan that honour their ancestors, so why is this one so special and controversial?

why the Japanese politicians always want to visit this shrine, knowing very well that China and Korea will kick a big fuss about it?

i think you don't understand the significance of Yasukuni Shrine

go read up more about the shrine

the japanese are an insular culture. Basically they will just stick their middle finger to anyone who tells them otherwise.

If not for american occupation of the japanese islands post war, i doubt they will incorporate so much of some american culture into their lifestyles.

Eg. baseball...

Somehow there must be some political appeal to the Right wing faction there. Or else they won't be so adamant on doing it.

Lol. great britain. Oh was it the same country that brought China to it's knees by introducing opium to them?

Which brought about the crippling of an entire nation?

Hohoho.

[rolleyes]

Yes britain also bad in this case, but look at how the japanese killing people, its absurd

Actually Japan didn't have Mongolia, through various invasions they did occupy Manchuria (Russo-Japanese War), Korea (1st Sino-Japanese War) and Taiwan (2nd Sino-Japanese War). After WWI, the international community generally promote peaceful negotiations and Japan felt they've missed the boat of colonization -- like the ang moh already had their fun, invading and colonized the world, now they say "let's have peace!" ..

Yes those territories is they invade one, they dont have them. But if japanese didnt attack china, asia and usa, maybe till today these territories will still belong to them

lol i wager if u were the ones who had their entire clans slaughtered (child to elderly) by the Emperor. U will be singing a different tune.

"Man men chao zhan". wow i think that didn't originate from angmoh or japanese leh... [rolleyes]

Hahaha that one is the emperor bad guy but for japan its the whole nation from the govt to the troops even the businessman, i cant find a good man in japan

Friend, I am pretty sure that most troops are just following orders. Even for the Emperor's case, I don't think he is the one going around slaughtering an entire family. Definitely has his men doing it. So why the bias?

The emperor ask people to rape the chinese women? Emperor just ask people to be killed but the japanese army found many ways to kill, be it painful or slowly

Hitler just asked the jews to be exterminated. So the SS just found a way to gas them peacefully to their sleep. Or let them starve slowly to death while burying their fellow jews in mass graves.

Mao Zedong just asked the Chinese people to purge themselves. So the people just tortured and murdered teachers, scholars and basically all political "enemies" of the people. Oh yeah, let's treat the famine which killed more chinese people than those who died in WW2 as an accident. Oops.

FYI, my grandmother's most hated person is Mao Zedong. Though she also lived through WW2.

Yes britain also bad in this case, but look at how the japanese killing people, its absurd

It was estimated that 1 in 3 adults in china at that time were opium addicts.

If u think about the financial, social devastation and actual deaths from opium addiction, it is no less evil an act.

My take is that Japan wanted to follow the foot steps of Great Britain in colonizing Manchuria, Taiwan, Ryukyu and Korea. They didn't stop there because it was too easy. Their first victory again the Russians, the big white guy, have already reinforced their confidence in world domination. They believed they can do anything. But the turn of tide in international politics after WWI went against their dreams. The fatal reality kicked in when they ran out of resources after 8 years of war with China, and U.S. was the industrial powerhouse, with all the resources which Europe and Japan were missing.

They might be able to keep Manchuria and Korea till today if not for their ambitions, because these were still considered "foreign land" to ROC who will not be as keen to defend them as would it be Beijing, Shanghai and the inner lands. Hirohito (and his advisors) had a firm belief that Japan needed to expand into the mainland for the survival of his Empire.

But don't forget the Soviets had her own vested interested in Mongolia, Manchuria and Korea so it might not be so simple.

those were cowboy times...

Seriously, I dont see Japan will ever pose a threat to world peace anymore, given their much smaller size than China and also the new generation's mindset. However, the same cannot be said of China, as the interest of countries who are in contention of disputed islands' ownership will be compromised severely if and when China becomes a military super power. They don't even care about bringing the issues to International Court like Sgp and Malaysia did.

Seriously, I dont see Japan will ever pose a threat to world peace anymore, given their much smaller size than China and also the new generation's mindset.

The same question was posted if Japan ever dare to attack US before the outbreak of WW2.

What if Germany today is to build a an aircraft carrier and christened it "Bismarck" ?

Can you imagine what European reaction will be like?

With all things being equal, does Japan's latest warship name give an impression of a "more peaceful" Japan than she was before 1895?

Both ships share same name " Izumo or "いずも"

160926_260_90453_305860-16081.jpg

Japan warship 'Izumo' in 1899 - used to invade China - http://baike.baidu.com/view/6433854.htm

30dd0f39a9524566929388e0b1eee597.jpg

Japan latest carrier 'Izumo' DDH-183

Also symbolically launch on 6 Aug 2013 on the Anniversary of Hiroshima bombing.

http://baike.baidu.com/view/578069.htm

Img383634618.jpg

[/color] Edited by Wishcumstrue