PSA is finished!

Viceroymenthol

Precisely, location is the primary concern.. The other factors are man-made. As long as the countries/cities along the new route continue to sleep.. then we are safe.

If they ramp up their service level, then they will get absolute adv over us. Time will come.. maybe not so fast..

Do note belittle the power of china.. they took over several european brands already. Together with taiwan, they can overtake the world.

Are you kidding me? Have you seen the market capital of Dow 30 and compare to Chinese stocks? People say China is the next power, that's true, but currently, it is the US govt selling paper and the rest of the world including China buying them with real money.

Another blow could be the Dagger of Kra....

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/what-you...azmi-mohd-rusli

With the construction cost up to USD23 billion measuring approximately 120kms from one side to the other through the Kra Isthmus, the proposed canal would be about 25m deep and 400m in width. The Government of Thailand will be funding this project with contributors from other maritime States such as Japan, China, the United States of America (US) and other interested States like Malaysia and Indonesia. Currently, this proposed project has temporarily been put on hold due to economic, environment and political reasons. Nevertheless, the Thai government has never announced its intention to scrap the project.

If this is done, I foresee container ports on both sides of the straits offering port services similiar to SG.

i come this thread to learn things [blush] so many things i dont know [blush]

WHEN WE ARE NOT DUE TO BE FINISHED, WE WON'T. This was posted by someone back in 2004. Some of the events are out of date. But some facts remain. I do feel that SG has had a protective aura which allowed it to prosper. But, I think LKY was quoted recently, he can't see beyond 100 years.

Time and again, over the last three centuries, the vision of a vital waterway linking the Indian Ocean and the South China Sea has surfaced - along with the dire economic threat that it will pose to Singapore. Now, the reality of a Kra Canal in Thailand being built is fast taking shape, following the collapse of a top-level US$2 billion ($3.51 billion) pipeline deal to move oil from Russia to China.

The failure of the deal, which would have carried up to 20 million tons of oil each year from the Russian republic of Sakha in Siberia, underscores the urgency energy-hungry China faces to ensure that Middle Eastern supplies reach its ports safely.

Thailand has much to gain from a Kra Canal project. Singapore has just as much to lose. The Kra Canal, which has the potential of diverting half the shipping tonnage now calling at Singapore ports up north to Thailand, will have an impact on the Republic

Never put words into their mouth lah, I want to put my L J into his mouth [laugh]

Remembered his father promised to us or not ? We'll be in Switzerland Standard if we have his puppies teams, so now they'd kept the wrong promised of their wise words, we are now in Squeeze死人 Standards [confused][bigcry]

Ha ha ha really hot liao huh haha [:p]

Cool cool bro I believed you dun really wan that to happen to you hor

that could free up more land for housing, so next target is 10 mil population.

Or maybe by then population can cut down to 3.9 mil with sg no longer a port of call.

I believed it's the lower fig

yes... i find that compared to 10 yrs ago.. the workforce now has less common sense and indignity. Ppl do things to "cover" their own axx , sometimes it makes no sense to do things in that way..Everything is abt black & white. No one can trust promises like before.

same observation here.

highly educated people doing things for the sake of doing, or doing it one way because its sop.

if they had taken a step back and given it some thought.....

sg white collar workforce... inefficient, love long hours

if you can see the cranes moving, you wont be here typing, you probably need the services of Radx

hahah so true..

The cranes working or not just see if they are boomed down or not.

If boomed down means working.

The cranes only gantry when moving from bay to bay.

The only thing moving is the spreader...

my sister who is in-charge of allocating which container put where in the big ship still very busy day in day out leh :huh:

donno whether shipping business is how liao [sweatdrop]

Ship planners are very busy la.

Not a very good indication of how the trade is doing.

Cos no matter what got baseline demand..

For them 2 situations only. Either busy or super ficking busy until cannot s--t type...

Edited by Tedlhw

Tanjung Pelapas is handling about 7-8 million TEU annually and they are still adding berthing space which will push their capacity to about 10 million TEU. Not bad when you consider 14 years ago they were handling zero.

*TEU = 20 foot equivalent unit

Edited by Myxilplix

Yup previously handling maersk line vessel also parking at PTP taking up the whole stretch at the back.

slowly we will lose business to them as noticed that there is a decline of vessels coming in.

Just some random thoughts:

The major reason for an alternative is to bypass Malacca straits for the energy route, too many pirates and quite narrow.

kra canal project is mooted during those Thaksin days.

Not impossible to happen again but a great challenge, likely to be a "could-be", "what-if "in history.

In 20-30 years time, a (not impossible) scenario for a more influential or powerful China may be going via Myanmar, whether through force or bilateral cooperation.

Oil refining and petrol chem may be affected if Malacca straits is no longer the default energy route to Asia, or at least to china.

North pole is the last frontier to energy riches.

Shale gas drilling can be a wild card though.

Edited by Oblong

Ship planners are very busy la.

Not a very good indication of how the trade is doing.

Cos no matter what got baseline demand..

For them 2 situations only. Either busy or super ficking busy until cannot s--t type...

my sis says money is good but there is no life :ph34r:

For the arctic shipping route,it is mainly to save on fuel cost.

The following taiwanese vid is very pro-incumbent, sometimes in order to take a dig at their own local politics.

More than a pinch of salt needed but some facts are there.

my sis says money is good but there is no life :ph34r:

Anyone involved in shipping, especially operational side, got no life one.