Yysiong 3rd Gear November 20, 2016 Share November 20, 2016 The thing about singaporean is when gahmen wants to solve a small problem before it gets big, ppl will say why waste time when it is insignificant When problem become big, we will say when what till problem is big then find solution! But i 100% agree every solution gahmen use will be $ driven ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 20, 2016 Share November 20, 2016 I am talking about trucks (US terminology - where an SUV and UTE / open pickup are called a trucks) and vans for small-to-medium businesses. These are the many that amass SG roads and ought to be decimated first! I am not talking about buses, prime movers and dumpsters! You wrong frequency? ð I think u are on wrong frequency. U mentioned about EMISSION, so u mean those heavy trucks n commercial vehicle that is instrumental in all our basic logistics needs does not contribute to emission?? U mean by wiping out pte diesel cars actually settles emission problems without considering those commercial diesel vehicles? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged November 20, 2016 Share November 20, 2016 Simi emissions la... diesel don't have tax, petrol have tax. So need to stop private vehicles from using diesel. Since when govt care about environment? They need to "help" the petrol industry... big customers here using our refinery... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear November 20, 2016 Share November 20, 2016 Simi emissions la... diesel don't have tax, petrol have tax. So need to stop private vehicles from using diesel. Since when govt care about environment? They need to "help" the petrol industry... big customers here using our refinery... The equalization mechanism is the special diesel tax 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear November 20, 2016 Share November 20, 2016 Simi emissions la... diesel don't have tax, petrol have tax. So need to stop private vehicles from using diesel. Since when govt care about environment? They need to "help" the petrol industry... big customers here using our refinery... Diesel no hab tax? Ever heard DIESEL SURCHARGE ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndyKMK Neutral Newbie November 20, 2016 Share November 20, 2016 I think diesel will be good as in the long run will save quite a sum of money. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear November 20, 2016 Share November 20, 2016 (edited) I am talking about trucks (US terminology - where an SUV and UTE / open pickup are called a trucks) and vans for small-to-medium businesses. These are the many that amass SG roads and ought to be decimated first! I am not talking about buses, prime movers and dumpsters! You wrong frequency? ð Apart from emissions you forgot fuel economy and maintenance costs. Diesels are much cheaper to run although turbo-petrols are catching up... but the turbo petrols aren't exactly "clean" as well. Take a look at the tailpipe of several popular turbo petrol vehicles on the road... the VWs, BMWs ans Mercs. It's almost always black. Then go take a look at the EuroV turbodiesels... mine has been soot-free for 3 years. Edited November 20, 2016 by Detach8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear November 21, 2016 Share November 21, 2016 Simi emissions la... diesel don't have tax, petrol have tax. So need to stop private vehicles from using diesel. Since when govt care about environment? They need to "help" the petrol industry... big customers here using our refinery... The same refineries also churn out diesel ... what's your point?? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear November 21, 2016 Share November 21, 2016 I think u are on wrong frequency. U mentioned about EMISSION, so u mean those heavy trucks n commercial vehicle that is instrumental in all our basic logistics needs does not contribute to emission?? U mean by wiping out pte diesel cars actually settles emission problems without considering those commercial diesel vehicles? Talking about emissions for pte diesel vehices is cherry picking. There's so few of them on the road. Commercial vehicles of all classes and taxis also use diesel, and have been for decades. If diesel emissions are that harmful, our generation will have already died of various cancers instead of getting to sit around and post on forums. Everything that moves emits something .... even humans need to shit. I foresee hybrid battery solution to be the way forward in future but don't fool yourself that it will be good for environment. The stuff that goes into these batteries are not at all healthy! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged November 21, 2016 Share November 21, 2016 If diesel emissions are that harmful, our generation will have already died of various cancers instead of getting to sit around and post on forums. by ur logic, then smoking oso not that harmful lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2016 Share November 21, 2016 Talking about emissions for pte diesel vehices is cherry picking. There's so few of them on the road. Commercial vehicles of all classes and taxis also use diesel, and have been for decades. If diesel emissions are that harmful, our generation will have already died of various cancers instead of getting to sit around and post on forums. Everything that moves emits something .... even humans need to shit. I foresee hybrid battery solution to be the way forward in future but don't fool yourself that it will be good for environment. The stuff that goes into these batteries are not at all healthy! Not everything comes out of diesel vehicles will cause cancer. Instead, soots from diesel will increase PM2.5 in our air. PM2.5 will retain in our lung. PM2.5 increase will deterioate our air quality. Hybrid is not the way forward. It is purely a bridge towards the end which might be pure electric drive or fuel cell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear November 22, 2016 Share November 22, 2016 by ur logic, then smoking oso not that harmful lor Just for effect, but I guess my point is, why harp on these emissions now when the heavy vehicles have been polluting our air for decades. Yes, VW cheated and got caught for cheating on emissions, but it doesn't imply modern diesel engines are worse off than the ones in those grandfather lorries which are still on the roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yysiong 3rd Gear November 22, 2016 Share November 22, 2016 Just for effect, but I guess my point is, why harp on these emissions now when the heavy vehicles have been polluting our air for decades. Yes, VW cheated and got caught for cheating on emissions, but it doesn't imply modern diesel engines are worse off than the ones in those grandfather lorries which are still on the roads. They are particularly concern on NOx, which real world test shows it emit 15x more, and also PM2.5 Diesel used to be for taxi and commercial only but recently passenger car had grown significantly So we have 2 grp of ppl here 1. Diesel supporter, who say heavy vehicle alr polluting for years why not come after passenger car 2. Environment and health conscious ppl, whom think these emission is killing them and earth There wont be a solution to make everyone happy 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear November 22, 2016 Share November 22, 2016 They are particularly concern on NOx, which real world test shows it emit 15x more, and also PM2.5 Diesel used to be for taxi and commercial only but recently passenger car had grown significantly So we have 2 grp of ppl here 1. Diesel supporter, who say heavy vehicle alr polluting for years why not come after passenger car 2. Environment and health conscious ppl, whom think these emission is killing them and earth There wont be a solution to make everyone happy Its not so simple. In my mind, I think we just need to figure out what it is we are trying to control for. Is it emissions, or is it taxes? Is it NOx + PM2.5 for health reasons or is it carbon for greenhouse reasons ? If it is NOx+PM2.5 emissions, then all the clamouring to tax private diesel makes very little sense because 97 - 99% of the emissions is from commercial trucks and taxis, based on interpretation of LTA data. If it is taxes, then again, taxing private diesel makes very little sense because you barely move the needle. If it is emissions in general, then the longer term answer is hybrid. European countries are moving in that direction because they realise both petrol and diesel are problematic in their own ways. We can have a more constructive discussion on how to curb NOx+PM2.5 emissions if intentions are pure and objectives are clear (i.e. per Spring's suggestion on CEVS). The whole problem with this discussion is that you have folks advocating the government to use the excuse of NOx + PM2.5 emissions to tax private diesel, when their real agenda is to have the opportunity to tell private diesel owners "haha - I told you so!"... That's why this discussion is going nowhere, because facts do not trump political agendas ... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 22, 2016 Share November 22, 2016 If it is emissions in general, then the longer term answer is hybrid. European countries are moving in that direction because they realise both petrol and diesel are problematic in their own ways. Hybrid is just a bridge towards either fuel cell or electric. EU is moving away from ICE with a ban of new ICE cars from 2050 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fungyee77 5th Gear November 22, 2016 Share November 22, 2016 Hybrid is just a bridge towards either fuel cell or electric. EU is moving away from ICE with a ban of new ICE cars from 2050 Yes, agreed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear November 23, 2016 Share November 23, 2016 (edited) Its not so simple. In my mind, I think we just need to figure out what it is we are trying to control for. Is it emissions, or is it taxes? Is it NOx + PM2.5 for health reasons or is it carbon for greenhouse reasons ? If it is NOx+PM2.5 emissions, then all the clamouring to tax private diesel makes very little sense because 97 - 99% of the emissions is from commercial trucks and taxis, based on interpretation of LTA data. If it is taxes, then again, taxing private diesel makes very little sense because you barely move the needle. If it is emissions in general, then the longer term answer is hybrid. European countries are moving in that direction because they realise both petrol and diesel are problematic in their own ways. We can have a more constructive discussion on how to curb NOx+PM2.5 emissions if intentions are pure and objectives are clear (i.e. per Spring's suggestion on CEVS). The whole problem with this discussion is that you have folks advocating the government to use the excuse of NOx + PM2.5 emissions to tax private diesel, when their real agenda is to have the opportunity to tell private diesel owners "haha - I told you so!"... That's why this discussion is going nowhere, because facts do not trump political agendas ... Well said, and expresses my thoughts better than I could have done. I drive a diesel car, so I'll lean towards it, but not trying to influence anyone to go the same way. I'm just annoyed with the captain planets in this thread trying to frame people like me to be environmental killers. Doubt they care about the environment really, they just want to show that they made a superior choice, as you mentioned. Edited November 23, 2016 by Ganwb79 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sktan10 5th Gear November 23, 2016 Share November 23, 2016 Whether diesel taxi,commerical vehicle lorry,van etc is classified under business.Goverment are helping business. Private diesel is classified under private car.Did government say helping private owner?did they? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...