Will u buy Diesel or Petrol Cars in SG

Darky8888

Anonymous

Where got reporter tell ppl the source

It is definitely emission related.

Tweak on road tax of motor car will not have an impact on business

Yes it's emission and $$$ related. Nothing to do with the environment. It's always $$$ before anything else.

If emission related, how does tweaking the tax on pte diesel vehicle going to help improve the situation when the population of these vehicles are so insignificant?

It is to prevent further growth of current small population

Yes it's emission and $$$ related. Nothing to do with the environment. It's always $$$ before anything else.

I have a fren with 2 young children goes around in bicycle & public transport. That's the only way to prevent Kenna screw

It is to prevent further growth of current small population

How long would the growth be required to even match the number of diesel commercial vehicle, taxis to have impact on EMISSION when we have so many old trucks running around? From our gahmen way of doing things, they should be happy to let this pte diesel population grow till a point when they increase the tax to get more moolah.

Why kill a golden goose? :D

How long would the growth be required to even match the number of diesel commercial vehicle, taxis to have impact on EMISSION when we have so many old trucks running around? From our gahmen way of doing things, they should be happy to let this pte diesel population grow till a point when they increase the tax to get more moolah.

A lot of old trucks are being "killed" from next year onwards. Watch out for sudden glut of commercial vehicles which has been reported on news.

A lot of times, operator of govt machinery has no idea what's the bigger pic.

Petrol car is the norm

Diesel private car is THE alien.

These diesel private car gives them more work.

If emission related, how does tweaking the tax on pte diesel vehicle going to help improve the situation when the population of these vehicles are so insignificant?

Cancer always start small ... beginning with the oncogene.

1 cell is all it takes to proliferate all over the body!

That's what the garmen is after ... to prevent private diesel car-population from proliferating, before it gets too late to control.

Nip it at the bud, now!

Cancer always start small ... beginning with the oncogene.

1 cell is all it takes to proliferate all over the body!

That's what the garmen is after ... to prevent private diesel car-population from proliferating, before it gets too late to control.

Nip it at the bud, now!

Ur statement very funny. Only diesel car contribute to emission problem? By removing away all diesel cars doesn't mean emission issues resolved.

U are essentially saying removing a small cancer growth quickly before it spread but when in actual fact there is already another much bigger growth in place.

Commercial vehicles has a statutory life span of 20 yrs.

An old petrol car can extend 10 yr COE indefinitely. That doesn't mean the old petrol engine does not pollute.

Commercial vehicles has a statutory life span of 20 yrs.

An old petrol car can extend 10 yr COE indefinitely. That doesn't mean the old petrol engine does not pollute.

In any case, I dun see petrol or diesel powered cars are here to stay for the next 20yrs. Electric cars will be the norm then.

Ur statement very funny. Only diesel car contribute to emission problem? By removing away all diesel cars doesn't mean emission issues resolved.

U are essentially saying removing a small cancer growth quickly before it spread but when in actual fact there is already another much bigger growth in place.

That will be Stage 2 ... old (>10 years), diesel commercial engines will have to go! Just cut them off. Not negotiable!

The garmen can also introduce many other changes for commercial diesels. E.g. COE can 5+5 years ... where upon the first 5th year, owner will have to deregister and replace it with a new vehicle, but continuing to use the remaining 5 years of COE left.

Yes, it's gonna be higher Opex for companies,but all toward saving Gaia

That will be Stage 2 ... old (>10 years), diesel commercial engines will have to go! Just cut them off. Not negotiable!

The garmen can also introduce many other changes for commercial diesels. E.g. COE can 5+5 years ... where upon the first 5th year, owner will have to deregister and replace it with a new vehicle, but continuing to use the remaining 5 years of COE left.

Yes, it's gonna be higher Opex for companies,but all toward saving Gaia ðð¼

This will likely push more commercial vehicles toward turbocharged gasoline and gasohol engines.

How do u expect low torque petrol driven commercial vehicle to pull their load ?? If the change requires killing off the biz n economy, u think gahmen will implement?

Turbocharged gasoline lah dode! 3.0T conspermed got plenty torque. 450Nm or even higher

Turbocharged gasoline lah dode! 3.0T conspermed got plenty torque. 450Nm or even higher ðð¼

Won't kill the economy lah. That's far too short sighted and narrow minded. It involves switching from diesels to TC gasoline trucks only what ... where's the bleed?

Taxation can also be tweaked for TC gasoline commercial vehicles (only), to hold even the overall net Opex.

Garmen once voted in, can do anything hor !!!

All in the name of saving Gaia ðð¼

Hardly any gasoline trucks around. Name me any rhd trucks in gasoline. It will still be diesel.

These are not trucks la. I mean the dumper trucks and the Y plate ones.the Isuzu one is gas. Not petrol. Meaning LPG or CNG. Which out dear govt already taxed and claimed it's not more emission friendly compared with petrol.

There are almost zero petrol trucks in the market. Diesel is still more fuel efficient and provides the torque in the end. Majority of Diesel trucks will still be around as there is no substitute. I'm just curious what kind of excuse will be thought of to tax diesel or try to eliminate the use of diesel in Singapore.

Bottom line is that we get screwed once more.

probably some lame excuses thought out by these people .. its a no brain cells decimating task really ... afterall majority of the voters have decided to invite them to screw our ass ...hence they can do anything they want based on their wimps and fancies ... we are f*** as usual...

These are not trucks la. I mean the dumper trucks and the Y plate ones.the Isuzu one is gas. Not petrol. Meaning LPG or CNG. Which out dear govt already taxed and claimed it's not more emission friendly compared with petrol.

There are almost zero petrol trucks in the market. Diesel is still more fuel efficient and provides the torque in the end. Majority of Diesel trucks will still be around as there is no substitute. I'm just curious what kind of excuse will be thought of to tax diesel or try to eliminate the use of diesel in Singapore.

Bottom line is that we get screwed once more.

I am talking about trucks (US terminology - where an SUV and UTE / open pickup are called a trucks) and vans for small-to-medium businesses. These are the many that amass SG roads and ought to be decimated first!

I am not talking about buses, prime movers and dumpsters!

You wrong frequency?