merc280v6 6th Gear March 30, 2017 Share March 30, 2017 True also.... see if PML sell the 216D for 100K, people will flock to snatch it..... diesel bad for environment..... simi lai eh.... no good you dont buy lor... limpeh queue first... Exactly why the garmen has to make passenger diesels unattractive from the VES surcharge at registration! No queue and No buy lor !! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 I'm not sure why the mileage/year is always brought up as the benchmark for diesel. It's a fixed ratio right? As it stands now, for the same distance traveled, diesel fuel cost = 0.5x petrol fuel cost. This doesn't change whether you are 10k mileage or 30k mileage. Now, if your travel pattern is predominantly short trips of 5-10 km, this will be a problem for diesel. If your exhaust gases are not hot enough, the DPF cannot do its job properly. Prolonged running in this condition will clog it up => maintenance cost So I feel, when deciding between the 2, use your average distance per trip actually. Diesel is better for those 20-30 km per trip. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 Just some tiagong news.. If one is looking for new diesel cars , hold your horses as some ADs will have excess inventories and maybe they will clear them at special prices before 2018.. Tiagong nia hor..If it doesn't happen, dun kpkb here 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 Just some tiagong news.. If one is looking for new diesel cars , hold your horses as some ADs will have excess inventories and maybe they will clear them at special prices before 2018.. Tiagong nia hor..If it doesn't happen, dun kpkb here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kazuya 4th Gear March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 I'm not sure why the mileage/year is always brought up as the benchmark for diesel. It's a fixed ratio right? As it stands now, for the same distance traveled, diesel fuel cost = 0.5x petrol fuel cost. This doesn't change whether you are 10k mileage or 30k mileage. Now, if your travel pattern is predominantly short trips of 5-10 km, this will be a problem for diesel. If your exhaust gases are not hot enough, the DPF cannot do its job properly. Prolonged running in this condition will clog it up => maintenance cost So I feel, when deciding between the 2, use your average distance per trip actually. Diesel is better for those 20-30 km per trip. You should be looking at overall cost of a diesel car vs petrol car. Diesel car have special tax as well.... Side track, The infiniti Q30 Diesel looks really good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear April 1, 2017 Share April 1, 2017 At 2.0L my 520d tax costs $2006/yr. The 520i is $1210/yr. The difference is around $800 extra for diesel... it's really a no-brainer. Even if you travel very little (like me) around 15k/yr, breakeven is in 6 months or less. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zzgiggs 1st Gear April 2, 2017 Share April 2, 2017 At 2.0L my 520d tax costs $2006/yr. The 520i is $1210/yr. The difference is around $800 extra for diesel... it's really a no-brainer. Even if you travel very little (like me) around 15k/yr, breakeven is in 6 months or less. in terms of general maintenance, anything particularly unique (and potentially costly) to diesel engines in general ? (putting aside the brand-specific issues) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuzzylogic 2nd Gear April 2, 2017 Share April 2, 2017 The Euro 6 diesels typically use adblue to reduce NOx emissions so topping up of adblue needs to be done periodically. If you get a dpf failure that could costly I reckon. Otherwise mechanically, diesel engines are fairly robust. Part of the reason diesel engines were primarily used in heavy duty machinery initially. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator April 2, 2017 Share April 2, 2017 (edited) The Euro 6 diesels typically use adblue to reduce NOx emissions so topping up of adblue needs to be done periodically. If you get a dpf failure that could costly I reckon. Otherwise mechanically, diesel engines are fairly robust. Part of the reason diesel engines were primarily used in heavy duty machinery initially. Any idea why BMW diesels don't need to add adblue compared to say Citroen n some other diesel makes? Edited April 2, 2017 by Spring 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowd1 1st Gear April 3, 2017 Share April 3, 2017 Any idea why BMW diesels don't need to add adblue compared to say Citroen n some other diesel makes? Probably because there isn't currently a NOX standard to adhere to. Maybe next year with VES standard measuring NOX levels it will be introduced if they still want to continue selling diesels here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator April 3, 2017 Share April 3, 2017 Probably because there isn't currently a NOX standard to adhere to. Maybe next year with VES standard measuring NOX levels it will be introduced if they still want to continue selling diesels here Thks for the reply but surely there must be a bigger reason why BMW doesn't use adblue vs other makes as this NOX standard is only introduced now. Point I'm making is Citroen could have done without adblue as well right? since BMW can and I don't think they are so silly as to introduce this as it's an added cost all round. I'm just guessing but perhaps the diesel technology is different? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear April 3, 2017 Share April 3, 2017 Thks for the reply but surely there must be a bigger reason why BMW doesn't use adblue vs other makes as this NOX standard is only introduced now. Point I'm making is Citroen could have done without adblue as well right? since BMW can and I don't think they are so silly as to introduce this as it's an added cost all round. I'm just guessing but perhaps the diesel technology is different? It's kinda optional here, and is a pain in the ass to have to fill up two things in a car... as a fair comparison most people don't even check their damn engine oil, coolant and brake fluids regularly... some don't even check their tyre pressures... let alone ask people to top up adblue. the engine cuts out when adblue is tank empty due to regulations, and can be very troublesome if that happens. that's the only drawback of diesels. otherwise, diesels are best suited for SG roads and climate because they run cooler that petrols and in general require less maintenance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator April 3, 2017 Share April 3, 2017 It's kinda optional here, and is a pain in the ass to have to fill up two things in a car... as a fair comparison most people don't even check their damn engine oil, coolant and brake fluids regularly... some don't even check their tyre pressures... let alone ask people to top up adblue. the engine cuts out when adblue is tank empty due to regulations, and can be very troublesome if that happens. that's the only drawback of diesels. otherwise, diesels are best suited for SG roads and climate because they run cooler that petrols and in general require less maintenance. Obviously it's a pain and also there are costs involved and hence was wondering why Citroen and those makes that use adblue want to do this when BMW doesn't. I mean can get away with it, just get away right? Of course if new policy has other pollutant measurements then of course bopian. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged April 3, 2017 Share April 3, 2017 since gahmen decides all diesel are bad and all diesel are equal, what's the likelihood in future oil companies say no point ship in euro 5, small margin, market etc. Just stick to euro 4? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear April 3, 2017 Share April 3, 2017 All this quite similar like cigarettes as I think we already lost count how many time tax raised ? I think diesel car will be the next cigarette tax and will raise until you Tak boleh tahan . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear April 3, 2017 Share April 3, 2017 since gahmen decides all diesel are bad and all diesel are equal, what's the likelihood in future oil companies say no point ship in euro 5, small margin, market etc. Just stick to euro 4?Euro5 ADO legislation already announced by GoS for July 2018 implementation ... after several years of grace given to the oil majors here. Will lose their license to operate if retail stations continue to supply Euro4 ADO after the mandate becomes law next year! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged April 3, 2017 Share April 3, 2017 Obviously it's a pain and also there are costs involved and hence was wondering why Citroen and those makes that use adblue want to do this when BMW doesn't. I mean can get away with it, just get away right? Of course if new policy has other pollutant measurements then of course bopian. Maybe those makes don't produce non-adblue models? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged April 3, 2017 Share April 3, 2017 Euro5 ADO legislation already announced by GoS for July 2018 implementation ... after several years of grace given to the oil majors here. Will lose their license to operate if retail stations continue to supply Euro4 ADO after the mandate becomes law next year! ð Thanks for reply! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...