Will u buy Diesel or Petrol Cars in SG

Darky8888

Maybe garmen may give concession to commercial vehicles and whack the private diesel car owners only?

I dont know. And cant reveal much till after Budget 2017. :D

Dont worry, I not in civil service. But my source is very very close to my heart. :XD:

To impose diesel tax, there are 101 excuses reasons to do it, environment issue, health issue, carlite vision, bridge the gap between petrol and diesel, driver travel more with lower fuel cost, etc. etc. and the "compensation" will be 1 year road tax rebate as usual. Be it driver or typical consumer, we can only LLST.

For those that always think changes in vehicle related taxes does not affect them (maybe too much brian wash by the MIW that inflation does not take into account of private transport as only <20% household owned a car or more), time to open your eyes and figure out the chain effects. The same goes for property price (and rental)...

Does anyone know where to get info on all the existing petrol/diesel cars in market compliant to which emission standard? i.e Euro 4/5/6

dun say Diesel Tax............even electric cars like Tesla also can tax song song to Jurong liao.... :D

To impose diesel tax, there are 101 excuses reasons to do it, environment issue, health issue, carlite vision, bridge the gap between petrol and diesel, driver travel more with lower fuel cost, etc. etc. and the "compensation" will be 1 year road tax rebate as usual. Be it driver or typical consumer, we can only LLST.

For those that always think changes in vehicle related taxes does not affect them (maybe too much brian wash by the MIW that inflation does not take into account of private transport as only <20% household owned a car or more), time to open your eyes and figure out the chain effects. The same goes for property price (and rental)...

With prices of cars so expensive, it makes the difference in fuel prices between petrol and diesel very insignificant. Unless you are driving a taxi, there really isn't much point switching to diesel. 

They already saw the loop hole. The relevant authorities are now coming out with the policy. It will be similar to what they do to petrol tax. Watch out for the budget 2017. So remember to top up ur last tank of cheap diesel before budget announcement.

Insider info. [lipsrsealed]

Once they add diesel tax, those who buy diesel car for cheap diesel will kpkb.

The problem is all the commercial vehicles will be hit as well.

That will increase cost of running businesses all around.

Sooner or later. Main reason they will use is to equalize. Since the petrol tax was revised up last year, the gap has increased.

Yeap, they always equalize upwards.

1/2 tank rule to equalize cheap JB petrol.

Then 3/4 tank rule, when it's not enough.

Next is full tank rule.

I think we just discussing on the running costs of owning diesel cars v petrol cars so I'm sharing my experience. Will leave to the forumers to decide on their individual requirements whether its worth to go diesel or not. Of course long term servicing cost has to be taken into consideration as well but I'm unable to share this now as my car is still new.

Comparing car price is a different matter altogether and obviously a BMW can't be compared with a Honda price wise even for petrol v petrol.

Yes, I see what you mean. For me I will rather compare total cost of ownership, including car cost. Diesel cars are naturally more ex as they are mostly conti. Running cost wise I think no fight, diesel is ahead.

I can never keep up with the complicated tax regimes we have here but one things for sure, if it is a SUV/MPV, it will be diesel for me.

Watching closely on the X6 M50d with a torque of 740Nm [;)].

CCB PAP

As far as I know, they are drafting out the policy now. Minister not involved yet, currently at managerial-director level. They were looking into it since Jun-Jul. They are studying the various impact and how the economy goes.

All I can say is just be prepared.

wanna announce better announce quickly and get it over with..then can decide wanna aim for ssangyong XLV diesel or not ..knnccb pap...

seems that they have a perverse way of deriving enjoyment trapping  car owners  such as CNG

Edited by Lycanthrope

wanna announce better announce quickly and get it over with..then can decide wanna aim for ssangyong XLV diesel or not ..knnccb pap...

seems that they have a perverse way of deriving enjoyment trapping  car owners  such as CNG

Nothing new lah. History just repeat itself... That is why I am still sitting on the fence, and I really do travel a lot (saving from fuel bills can be at least $200 - $300/mth).

I dont know. And cant reveal much till after Budget 2017. :D

Dont worry, I not in civil service. But my source is very very close to my heart. :XD:

Wow. sounds bad.. so the price of diesel is going to be priced like petrol? 

I don't know. Heaven secret cannot easily reveal. Later I kena drink kopi.

Anyway, still at draft stage.

Edited by Adrianli

Since CNG owner kenna screwed, i have gave up any hope of buying car not powered by petrol.

The authority are well known for saying how good diesel or CNG is... the other hand never support being green at all, look at all previous DIESEL and CNG owners all ' KPKU ', we have a long way to go in term of being green environment, Yes we can be pro active in car, but not necessary to make money out of the consumers's pocket.

The issue of car ownership here cannot be easily solved coz of high import tax etc . . ." simi ma ai tan lui "  :nosebleed: