Our Singapore Conversation OSC, National Rally tonight

Wind30

If you think all this shift here shift there is to accomodate the 6.9m, think again. The 6.9m will already be here before they start shifting. The timeline for redevelopment of the PLAB area is 2027 onwards. The population will hit 6.5 to 6.9m by 2030.

Then it begs the question, all these shifting + tanjong pagar is to create space for who? [cool]

Wait for the next population growth white paper lo. Do we seriously believe that the gahmen would just stop at 6.9mil??

a picture tells a thousand words

PLAB was my unit during NS

so many fond memories there

even it can't escape the redevelopment [bigcry]

i won't mind if the redevelopment is for Singaporeans, but..... [:|] [:|]

i do not know whether there are benefits housing civilian airport and military airbase together

my guess is yes

but i think the over-riding consideration wasnt the mutual benefits of housing both airports together

but the purpose was to free up paya lebar land

not just freeing up land but also the plot ratio

once plot ratio is increased, current freehold land near the vicinity of paya lebar will HUAT AHHHHHHHH!!!!! [laugh]

paya lebar and its vicinity is served by KPE and the NE line

freeing it up for population expansion makes a lot of sense since there is some current transport asset

whether the transport asset is sufficient to supoort the paya lebar town and its NE neighbours like poonggol is a whole lot different issue

whether paya lebar town will house predominatly SG people or new citizens is er..........up to your imgaination :D

only a deep recession will impact the properties (both private and public) now

have to say that the govt is in a big dilemma... on one hand, they want to cool the property prices, on the other hand, they cannot cool it so much that the current buyers will suffer big losses

so can only increase the grants

it's their own doing anyway, cos in the mid-200s, they din step in to control and let public housings surge too much

public housings shouldn't be an investment tool in the first place

But I also wonder, if Singaporeans do not 'grow' their 'wealth' through housing, how will they be able to get such 'wealth' or aspire towards better housing? Compared to other investment tools, this housing thing is relatively 'brainless', just stay and let it appreciate. If Singaporeans 'forced' to invest to get the extra needed to upgrade, then I fear a lot of people either cannot afford, or will lose big time. Bet ten times lose nine times.

PLA shifting to Changi is a good ideal ... -_-

Imagine one faulty F15 crash into a housing block or residential area and the number causaltities ...... :o (Touchwood)

Then a lot of resources will be activated ..... [sweatdrop] . At Changi, it just crash into the sea .. [lipsrsealed]

Imagine one faulty F15 crash into a housing block or residential area and the number causaltities ...... :o (Touchwood)

Then a lot of resources will be activated ..... [sweatdrop] . At Changi, it just crash into the sea .. [lipsrsealed]

they can also make use of Changi airport in case on emergency???

i am not sure about how bad the traffic will be

but transport issue was the one very very significant thing that was left out in his speech

we can have paya lebar towen, west coast town and the changi mega airport

but what about transportation? what plans does pap have to solve transportation issues?

currently, the mrt lines is struggling to cope with demand

how does these new plans impact transport demands?

what plans does pap have to solve them?

my concern is why was transport left out?

The loud noise generated by the jets over Punggol area is actually a small inconvenience as the flight schedules are not that frequent as perceived. The greater issue is safety of the residents in Punggol as these jets do fly in very close proximity to the estate and if one malfunction midair.... [sweatdrop]. My RSAF fren who is stationed at PLAB refused to make Punggol his first choice when opting for a flat.

Another thing, KPE will become alot more congested when the new town is up and running [bigcry]

Edited by Toothiewabbit

i know i know [sly] ponggol huat ah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [laugh]

The loud noise generated by the jets over Punggol area is actually a small inconvenience as the flight schedules are not that frequent as perceived. The greater issue is safety of the residents in Punggol as these jets do fly in very close proximity to the estate and if one malfunction midair.... [sweatdrop]. My RSAF fren who is stationed at PLAB refused to make Punggol his first choice when opting for a flat.

On another aspect, KPE will become alot more congested when the new town is up and running [bigcry]

for years ponggol people have been lobbying for some solution to this

i think the MP is TCH

now TCH can very huat in ponggol liao [sunny][sunny][sunny]

But I also wonder, if Singaporeans do not 'grow' their 'wealth' through housing, how will they be able to get such 'wealth' or aspire towards better housing? Compared to other investment tools, this housing thing is relatively 'brainless', just stay and let it appreciate. If Singaporeans 'forced' to invest to get the extra needed to upgrade, then I fear a lot of people either cannot afford, or will lose big time. Bet ten times lose nine times.

nope dun get me wrong

i'm ok with the gradual appreciation of housing, but not till the extent of a speculative bubble...

look at the prices in the past 5-8 years, so many properties doubled, some even tripled

this is not healthy

public housings are for Singaporeans to build their homes, and homes are the basic foundation of this country

Years back when I went to Ponggol to view so many unsold flats, can already smell so much kerosene smell. [bigcry]

those kerosense smeel dont come from the f16s lah

they come from the mega oil refineries from pasir gudang, MY

once in a while, like a month?, those refineries will do a donno call what burn out whereby they clean up their system by burning alot of fuel

you can see the sky turn brigh orange and a burned fuel smell

the distance from ponggol to pasir gudang, i leave it to google map to show you [sly]

Years back when I went to Ponggol to view so many unsold flats, can already smell so much kerosene smell. [bigcry]

north pungol has an entire LRT line abandoned there until moss grew all over it liao. does anyone rem pungol21 plan frm 1996? It was shelved due to asian crisis.

All i can say is complacency is setting into alot of locals. My sources tell theres been lots of blind buying n family group buying... prop doesnt go up in a straight line... watch out for japan & china all i can say...

for years ponggol people have been lobbying for some solution to this

i think the MP is TCH

now TCH can very huat in ponggol liao [sunny][sunny][sunny]

Acheree, its Ms I-facebooked-during-national-anthem-NDP 2011 who is MP over Punggol. TCH is her boss. So both HUAT AHHH!! [:p]

Come to think of it... would it be call Pasir Ris-Punggol-Paya Lebar GRC next time?? HUAT AHHH!!! [laugh]

natural lands and military facilities are now being sacrificed for more residential development

the Singapore core will probably be hovering at 3m+ in the next 20 years

this is a very obvious move [:|] [:|]

i am not sure about how bad the traffic will be

but transport issue was the one very very significant thing that was left out in his speech

we can have paya lebar towen, west coast town and the changi mega airport

but what about transportation? what plans does pap have to solve transportation issues?

currently, the mrt lines is struggling to cope with demand

how does these new plans impact transport demands?

what plans does pap have to solve them?

my concern is why was transport left out?

You are not the only one. I thought I missed the transport part. They invest a lot on the MRT and buses, now waiting the Thomson line to complete. I dun think they will encourage car ownership and most probably let the COE shoot high high. They can widen the expressways built a bit more road but that's it. Carparks now also I see is becoming a problem. I dunno how SME's can afford to buy light good vehicles in future to do business. Cost will confirm be passed on to the consumers. Basically prices of many things will have to increase. On the other hand there will be very good GDP numbers for PM to present. Smilely face all over TV. :D

natural lands and military facilities are now being sacrificed for more residential development

the Singapore core will probably be hovering at 3m+ in the next 20 years

this is a very obvious move [:|] [:|]

building residential area to house an enlarged population is the easy part

level trees and bring bob the builder in, not very difficult

the question is how do we meet the transportation needs of an enlarged population?

that is obviously not easy

you see we cant close mrt for a month for super renovation

i hope we have some incredible brilliant solutions to this

You are not the only one. I thought I missed the transport part. They invest a lot on the MRT and buses, now waiting the Thomson line to complete. I dun think they will encourage car ownership and most probably let the COE shoot high high. They can widen the expressways built a bit more road but that's it. Carparks now also I see is becoming a problem. I dunno how SME's can afford to buy light good vehicles in future to do business. Cost will confirm be passed on to the consumers. Basically prices of many things will have to increase. On the other hand there will be very good GDP numbers for PM to present. Smilely face all over TV. :D

in the 6.9M white paper, the west coast town, the migration of port facilites to the west and giving up of military space was mentioned

my reading of his announcement is that the 6.9M White Paper has commenced implementation

Base on my logic? you have over-inferred.

I also have no issue that he is very very rich. Its ok and I think Khaw is far better than his predessor. But let us be objective here.

I am only saying this: If you are a politician and u stay in a landed property, you are not living a modest lifestyle by Singaporean standard. You can be a great politician, and administrator of policies, but your dun get to say u live a modest lifestyle when u stay in a landed property in Singapore, because we are talking about top 10% housing prices.

Just like Bill Clinton lost his right to claim he is morally upright after the Lewinsky incident. He is one of the better US president and it is ok if he is very attractive to women, I am fine with that. Buts lets not call him morally upright.

Lets call a spade a spade not a big spoon shall we?

i m neutral on this topic.

Maybe he feels his house is modest relative to his income?

btw, he may take few $20k holidays very 6 months but come back to his "modest" home. ie very hard to decide his life style is modest or not by the type of house he lives in. he may also sip expensive liquor, smoke expensive cigars etc everyday, we cant really tell [:)]