Our Singapore Conversation OSC, National Rally tonight

Wind30

And i am telling you, a politician staying in a semi-D in Singapore is not modest by my standard, because part of his job portfolio is to be able to connect to the ground. TU justify you logic by the fact that Khaw earns a lot of money. U do know the PM just gave everyone in the cabinate a pay cut bcos it is politicially untenable. So there. I understand what you are trying to say. I merely disagree with your logic.

Are you able to discern disagreement with misunderstanding? [rolleyes]

Base on your logic, all the wrong ones can be a politician liao.....

It doesnt matter hw rich the politician is , what matter more is how he got rich.

Legit or not legit.

If legit, i have no problems if he is very very very rich.

The most important is whether he talk sense and act sense or not.

Regarding connection to ground.

It has less to do with riches, it has more to do with background and culture and upbringing.

Over and out

Edited by Throttle2

I only watched the last 20 min when Pinkie talked about Changi Airport jewel, PLA moved to Changi and PSA moved to Tuas.. My thought is "how does this really benefit Singaporeans across the board" ??

1. Changi Airport Jewel - Yet another shopping mall and indoor garden; additional rental revenue for our "privatized" Changi Airport Group and tourist attraction. Real benefits to Singaporeans like ease the cost of living or jobs ? none.

2. PLA moved to Changi - Just one way to sell the 6.9M population target by convincing Singaporeans "we have more space to expand, relax !"... Of course land sale to build condos/BTOs means more $$$ to govt.

3. PSA make room for Waterfront residences - Come on, how many Singaporeans really care about waterfront or land-front? Just gonna benefit the rich and ultra-rich to push up property prices further and squeeze Singaporeans out of market.

I've no comment about the earlier speech but the last 20 minutes was a disconnect to me. Hard to feel the ground when you are in the ivory tower [;)]

totally agree with you

the plans he announced were actually part of the 6.9m white paper

his announcement was one big major step towards implementing the 6.9m white paper

there is a small benefit, probably unintended, for ponggol people

the F16s which will be shifted to changi is unlikely to fly through ponggol

Base on your logic, all the wrong ones can be a politician liao.....

It doesnt matter hw rich the politician is , what matter more is how he got rich.

Legit or not legit.

If legit, i have no problems if he is very very very rich.

The most important is whether he talk sense and act sense or not.

Regarding connection to ground.

It has less to do with riches, it has more to do with background and culture and upbringing.

Over and out

T2, I would like to upgrade U to T1 (terminal 1); if only people know the "real" happenings rather than just relying on propaganda newspaper; something is really wrong here; the organisation that is suppose to oversee the country to be corruption free BUT itself is involved in so many corruption cases; this is perhaps the tip of the ice-berg

can let me add on the 10th hope

SINGAPORE DOWN

becos some of these 9 hopes will bring fall on singapore economic

1, 2, 3 and 8 is okay, actually best cos it will help singaporean alot.

Number 1 HDB price down makes housing affordable and they should introduce no sublet of flats.

Number 2 Medical cost down ONLY for SINGAPOREAN. for foreigners, keep it high as its contributing to our economy.

Number 3 Transportation cost down, ONLY for Singaporean. can use IC to tap EZ Link to enjoy subsidized ride

Number 8 Gives more chance for local to study uni, local uni.

4&6 cannot say down also cannot say up. If we reduce the number will create shortage of workers especially in Singapore service industry like F&B, Retails and Tourism

5 No Comment

9??? COE down? Le Siao Bo??? can imagine singapore machiam Jakarta or BKK [laugh]

At least Housing & Medical will maintain at current rate or Gov will try keeping it down.

My kids will be coming to an age of getting their own flats and hope they maintain that for the next 5 ~ 7 years with that kind of calculation as shown by LHL .... [sweatdrop]

Thats settle for owning a HDB flats, how about the simple renovation ? Could easily cost $20k for a brand new flats with kitchens cabinets and necessary household items.... [:|]

At least Housing & Medical will maintain at current rate or Gov will try keeping it down.

My kids will be coming to an age of getting their own flats and hope they maintain that for the next 5 ~ 7 years with that kind of calculation as shown by LHL .... [sweatdrop]

Thats settle for owning a HDB flats, how about the simple renovation ? Could easily cost $20k for a brand new flats with kitchens cabinets and necessary household items.... [:|]

you must have married pretty young and soon will enjoy your "independence"; the rest of us still struggling, perhaps excluding T2, congratulations, bro. [thumbsup]

I think you missed the point; someone mentioned that in Singapore he lives in a modest semiD in YCK so it is unlikely that he will spend tax-payers money to renovate his office; but does anybody know how many prime property that he and his family have in Malaysia; how often do you think he flies back to Penang; hence, in short, what he has in Singapore is NOT a complete picture and truly where is heart really is; it is about time for true governance, that all ministers and MP declare their assets to prevent corruption. Appreciate if you read everything in the proper context. In addition, advice people to CSI for the truth.

Got corrupt or not, we don't know and we don't speculate. So are you saying that the more properties a Minister has, the more corrupt he is? We don't know and we don't go around accusing these ppl.

I must agree with your point about the asset declaration by Ministers and MPs, which i think its already a SOP in the PMO. To my understanding, the garment will dig everything from your closet if they want to get you into politics. So we need to place our faith in the system.

And anyway, it is impossible to trace everything when a person really wants to be corrupt. There is no 100% watertight guarantee. The policies and system is there.

Just because someone in MCF say that it is unlikely he will use tax payers money to renovate his office, we don't have to condemn him and talk about all his properties and money. Where's the relation?

40 Places Reserved to Ensure Open Access to All Primary Schools

1Starting from the 2014 Primary One (P1) Registration Exercise, the Ministry of Education (MOE) will reserve 40 places in every primary school for registrants in Phase 2B and 2C to ensure continued open access in all primary schools.

2The 40 places will be reserved before the start of the P1 Registration Exercise. As is currently, the number of vacancies remaining after Phase 2A2 (including the 40 reserved places) will continue to be split equally between Phase 2B and 2C, in each school.

3The P1 Registration Framework is reviewed regularly. The eligibility criteria in the various phases of the P1 Registration Framework reflect a careful balance of considerations, including convenience to parents, parental ties, community involvement and proximity. MOE is committed to making every school a good school, so that every student receives a quality and holistic education, regardless of the school which he or she attends. As such, MOE will continue to resource all our schools with well-trained teachers, invest in suitable education facilities, and ensure adequate financial support for good school programmes.

http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/2013/08/...ary-schools.php

you must have married pretty young and soon will enjoy your "independence"; the rest of us still struggling, perhaps excluding T2, congratulations, bro. [thumbsup]

As you can see, down the years, 2 room might hit $300k .... [sweatdrop]

My only wishes is that 21yrs above can buy 2 rooms flat from current 31 yrs.

This maybe kiasu Singaporean where one 'chope' a flat first and then get married. Then with combine salary with wife/hundand, upgrade to 3 or 4 rooms flats.... [laugh]

I only watched the last 20 min when Pinkie talked about Changi Airport jewel, PLA moved to Changi and PSA moved to Tuas.. My thought is "how does this really benefit Singaporeans across the board" ??

1. Changi Airport Jewel - Yet another shopping mall and indoor garden; additional rental revenue for our "privatized" Changi Airport Group and tourist attraction. Real benefits to Singaporeans like ease the cost of living or jobs ? none.

2. PLA moved to Changi - Just one way to sell the 6.9M population target by convincing Singaporeans "we have more space to expand, relax !"... Of course land sale to build condos/BTOs means more $$$ to govt.

3. PSA make room for Waterfront residences - Come on, how many Singaporeans really care about waterfront or land-front? Just gonna benefit the rich and ultra-rich to push up property prices further and squeeze Singaporeans out of market.

I've no comment about the earlier speech but the last 20 minutes was a disconnect to me. Hard to feel the ground when you are in the ivory tower [;)]

his retirement job will be expert consultant (or chairman in) to big time developers... now he's trying to impress them with all these things [:)]

40 Places Reserved to Ensure Open Access to All Primary Schools

1Starting from the 2014 Primary One (P1) Registration Exercise, the Ministry of Education (MOE) will reserve 40 places in every primary school for registrants in Phase 2B and 2C to ensure continued open access in all primary schools.

2The 40 places will be reserved before the start of the P1 Registration Exercise. As is currently, the number of vacancies remaining after Phase 2A2 (including the 40 reserved places) will continue to be split equally between Phase 2B and 2C, in each school.

Phew! What a relief for you... [laugh]

Got corrupt or not, we don't know and we don't speculate. So are you saying that the more properties a Minister has, the more corrupt he is? We don't know and we don't go around accusing these ppl.

I must agree with your point about the asset declaration by Ministers and MPs, which i think its already a SOP in the PMO. To my understanding, the garment will dig everything from your closet if they want to get you into politics. So we need to place our faith in the system.

And anyway, it is impossible to trace everything when a person really wants to be corrupt. There is no 100% watertight guarantee. The policies and system is there.

Just because someone in MCF say that it is unlikely he will use tax payers money to renovate his office, we don't have to condemn him and talk about all his properties and money. Where's the relation?

I am not very sure, but "walk the talk" applies especially to persons who talk about commitment and loyalty regarding their audience and themselves. Their urge for others to be loyal and committed to the place they live will be more authetic and genuine if the talks are backed by this "walk the talk" which could also means putting all the eggs in the basket called little red dots (ok, this could be too extreme ie not having plan B if plan A fails)... some call this lead by example, not so much about corruptions, but i could be wrong [:)]

totally agree with you

the plans he announced were actually part of the 6.9m white paper

his announcement was one big major step towards implementing the 6.9m white paper

there is a small benefit, probably unintended, for ponggol people

the F16s which will be shifted to changi is unlikely to fly through ponggol

a picture tells a thousand words

993979_629045440461780_1453313052_n.jpg

PLAB was my unit during NS

so many fond memories there

even it can't escape the redevelopment [bigcry]

i won't mind if the redevelopment is for Singaporeans, but..... [:|] [:|]

My take from the NDP rally,

1) Change to P1 registration. - good move. I support.

2) Change to PSLE. - I support.

3) Higher Medisheld. - I thought he say gov will do more, why ppl have to pay more?

4) Housing cost. - Seems like the attention is increase housing grant, not reduce housing price. The high price still remain unchanged.

5) Changi T5, PSA port. - Sounds like a nice plan, but till 2030 and beyond, still long way lah.