Our Singapore Conversation OSC, National Rally tonight

Wind30

then he will tell you..

what is enough?? Toyota, Porsche or Maserati,

follow by,

you either get to buy it, or you dont get to buy it.

Lol.. U minister caliblur Liao... Keje

The FT who get the job had also made sacrifices too. they leave their homeland to another place of unknown. some even have to leave their family behind. what is two year compare to that?

if want to compare, which is more worth it, it will never end lah. potential income?? unless the FT is very good. on the long run they will still loss up.

pros and cons...FT send back small money can feed whole family.

im not sure if leaving homeland is a sacrifice cos ppl leave for a better life. if its a sacrifice, it's worth it. but i suspect many sg males don't see their ns sacrifice as worth it when they see how FT is treated here.

Whether its a wasted or not, there is no choice when national security is concerned.

Maybe it is time to tweak and reduce the NS duration. But again, i know SAF is having problems with this as the number of eligible males which they can enlist are getting lesser and lesser every year. If we increase the no. of regulars to make up for this shortfall, there has to be more attractive incentives to entice people to sign up as regulars. Again, this is a cost in which the country has to bear.

So as Singaporean males, really LLST and must catch up fast after 2 years of NS.

i think its generally accept NS is needed. its only the FT part that makes guys feel ...whats the point

pros and cons...FT send back small money can feed whole family.

im not sure if leaving homeland is a sacrifice cos ppl leave for a better life. if its a sacrifice, it's worth it. but i suspect many sg males don't see their ns sacrifice as worth it when they see how FT is treated here.

my point is, no point comparing us to FT. NS we have to serve so be it. they have their sacrifice, we have our own. there is no way to compare which is greatest.

i think its generally accept NS is needed. its only the FT part that makes guys feel ...whats the point

sorry to say this, but if anyone have this thinking, then he had not sacrifice. we dont call it sacrifice without having any disadvantage.

will it make you feel better if the FT is from Korea or Taiwan?

they afterall like us have 2 years NS.

Edited by Joseph22

Going by what PM had mentioned yesterday during the rally, FTs are here to stay and more will come. [laugh]

But ultimately, if they can tweak the system and allow NS-men more tangible incentives such as more priority when queuing up for a BTO etc, i think the citizens who had done NS at least won't feel so bad when the country give something back in return. CPF top-ups for NS-men are insufficient as the few hundereds are too little and we can't do much with our CPF anyway.

Running a country is not like running a company which sole aim is profit making.... our guys in ivory tower is running it like Singapore INC.. there will be reprecussions... alot... FT is needed when locals are lacking in the skill sets... not the costs... once you bring in the cost factor... there will be no end.... and it will spiral into a vicious cycle...

(side note is we are paying them millions and they are not delivering... saying that they will earn much more in the private sector.. who are they kidding... these type of report card for running the country.. they will be booted out in 1 or 2 quarters if they are in private practice)

You got watch last night NDR. all the runways in parallel formations ... [laugh]

Machiam traffic lanes, to each its own, no cross junctions .... [sly] , No worries of ah tiong beating 'red' at junction. [:p]

for a moment i thought you have checked out all the "runways" of the female audience..... :D :D

actually driving a porsche and trying to park it in between container trucks is not so easy..... not care will full end up underneathe the trucks.. :o

What you said is not new at all.

If they are sincere about bringing down the costs of living and doing business in this country, whack the rental market and land costs hard. But of course, it is a sacred cow which they don't dare to touch.

What you said is not new at all.

If they are sincere about bringing down the costs of living and doing business in this country, whack the rental market and land costs hard. But of course, it is a sacred cow which they don't dare to touch.

Yes land cost is the number 1 problem. But bringing it down won't reduce the price either.

might have to go early to Teck Ghee to take queue number ..... :o

after last night talks, a lot of ppl going to see him for a flat in Sengkang ..... -_-

since when is sengkang under teck ghee??!! .... you got insider info that sengkang n teck ghee going to join as a bigger GRC??? if not see him for sengkang flats also no use :D

just kidding, pls dont say i spread rumours for 2016

Stays in 2 rooms hdb flat, cycle to work, eat 'katong nasi lemak' ($1.30/-) for lunch and 2 kosong prata ($1.40) for dinner .... [:p]

stay in 2rm hdb --- yes

cycle to work --- yes

eat 1.30 nasi lemak / 1.40 pratas --- hmmm, why not surf mcf till forget/no-need to eat?? :D " internecture / intellecture " food more filling than NL or Pratas [thumbsup]

since when is sengkang under teck ghee??!! .... you got insider info that sengkang n teck ghee going to join as a bigger GRC??? if not see him for sengkang flats also no use :D

just kidding, pls dont say i spread rumours for 2016

hur..... LHL said he was the housing agent for Mr Khaw, stressing that Sengkang flats affortable with ncome of $1000/-.... -_-

[:p][:p]

Agree with what you said as we had other things such as rising global food & oil prices etc to contend with. But all these are seldom within our control as Singapore is often just a price taker when it comes to things like this.

Land costs and rentals, however, are a different kettle of fish. It is more or less decided by the policies which we have in place, so it is still up to us to manipulate especially when it is a significant component among the rising costs. So many components of the CPI basket are being driven up directly or indirectly by the rising rentals.

$1.50 of the $3.50 economical mixed rice is going to the rental instead of the food which we are paying for, as a very general coffeeshop estimation given by the boss of the mixed rice stall.

stay in 2rm hdb --- yes

cycle to work --- yes

eat 1.30 nasi lemak / 1.40 pratas --- hmmm, why not surf mcf till forget/no-need to eat?? :D " internecture / intellecture " food more filling than NL or Pratas [thumbsup]

can cycle to Bright Hill Temple & eat bee-hoon for lunch & dinner if you don't want nasi lemak & prata ... [:p]

So will they shift Sembawang Airbase to elsewhere ?

Can expand Yishun by another 25% .... [sly]

wait, one thing at a time:- PLAB already can yield 800ha!!! this can easily create 40,000 1000sqft flats!!! if average household headcount is say 5, it means can take in 200,000 newcomers!!! add this number to the mrt passenger size every morning, it will take how many additional trains to clear the jam at the station platforms!!??

if they want to shift Sambawang airbase, changi there may not have any space for it... unless they build a multi-storey runway!! :D

post-122886-1376893671_thumb.jpg

Base on my logic? you have over-inferred.

I also have no issue that he is very very rich. Its ok and I think Khaw is far better than his predessor. But let us be objective here.

I am only saying this: If you are a politician and u stay in a landed property, you are not living a modest lifestyle by Singaporean standard. You can be a great politician, and administrator of policies, but your dun get to say u live a modest lifestyle when u stay in a landed property in Singapore, because we are talking about top 10% housing prices.

Just like Bill Clinton lost his right to claim he is morally upright after the Lewinsky incident. He is one of the better US president and it is ok if he is very attractive to women, I am fine with that. Buts lets not call him morally upright.

Lets call a spade a spade not a big spoon shall we?

And i am only saying this, that it is a modest lifestyle relative to his position in society and the income that he makes. Thats acceptable anytime by my standards....

Landed house doesnt = lavish lifestyle

and HDB doesnt = modest lifestyle