Kurty Supercharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 hey guys, U boat don't have much resale value right? i'm contemplating in getting another u boat or just gmt2 tt.. which is better, in terms of resale value. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 Breakfast at Denny's in Nagoya yesterday morning Wah sibei hor miah! hey guys, U boat don't have much resale value right? i'm contemplating in getting another u boat or just gmt2 tt.. which is better, in terms of resale value. Alamak, why you answer your own question? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 Wah sibei hor miah! Alamak, why you answer your own question? haha, noob mah.. gmt2 tt is around 11-12k leh.. while few k, can get uboat just curious, normally how you guys buy rolex from non retail? draw out that much of money or write cheque? or tt half.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 (edited) Enjoying the holidays 40mm ok lah. Just like the Explorer2 which i pass to her too. But i agree the nicest Rolex on a lady's wrist is probably the 36mm unisex models My favorite datejust I have something that look like that. It's the Rolex Yacht Master 16622. haha, noob mah.. gmt2 tt is around 11-12k leh.. while few k, can get uboat just curious, normally how you guys buy rolex from non retail? draw out that much of money or write cheque? or tt half.. Draw out cash from the bank and go buy. Cheque they will not take unless they know you very well Bro...I suggest you decide what you really want and save for it, rather than buying what you can afford now, and then end up buy sell buy sell to reach the one you want. Those buying and selling will cost you quite some money. I know a guy who flip 38 lower cost watches before settling with a stable of watches that he feels are the keepers in terms of branding and value. Thinking back, he told me that those flips had cost him at least a brand new two-tone daytona. I see that the typical patterns for new collectors are like this . Say they really want the SS daytona but it cost $12k pre-own So meanwhile, they go buy a tag heur that cost $4k. But you see, the guy had just spent 4k which could have been save for the daytona, After spending 4k, his daytona now becomes more difficult to reach. So 3 months later, he found that he didn't really want the tag heur, so he sold it for 3k so that he can get his daytona. He has just lost 1k now. Meanwhile, the impatience set in again and the cycle repeats itself. By the time he got is daytona, he has lost numerous thousands cycling through all the cheaper watches which he eventually didn;t want. Edited March 21, 2014 by Icedbs 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 (edited) I have something that look like that. It's the Rolex Yacht Master 16622. Draw out cash from the bank and go buy. Cheque they will not take unless they know you very well Bro...I suggest you decide what you really want and save for it, rather than buying what you can afford now, and then end up buy sell buy sell to reach the one you want. Those buying and selling will cost you quite some money. I know a guy who flip 38 lower cost watches before settling with a stable of watches that he feels are the keepers in terms of branding and value. Thinking back, he told me that those flips had cost him at least a brand new two-tone daytona. I see that the typical patterns for new collectors are like this . Say they really want the SS daytona but it cost $12k pre-own So meanwhile, they go buy a tag heur that cost $4k. But you see, the guy had just spent 4k which could have been save for the daytona, After spending 4k, his daytona now becomes more difficult to reach. So 3 months later, he found that he didn't really want the tag heur, so he sold it for 3k so that he can get his daytona. He has just lost 1k now. Meanwhile, the impatience set in again and the cycle repeats itself. By the time he got is daytona, he has lost numerous thousands cycling through all the cheaper watches which he eventually didn;t want. thanks for sharing, good point there. i have some spare cash.. thats why thought of pamper myself with a watch.. the other side of me, telling myself just to get a simple piece like u boat, then use the rest of the money for investment.. contradiction but i seriously love 116713LN Edited March 21, 2014 by Kurty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 The perfect unisex Rolex Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 thanks for sharing, good point there. i have some spare cash.. thats why thought of pamper myself with a watch.. the other side of me, telling myself just to get a simple piece like u boat, then use the rest of the money for investment.. contradiction but i seriously love 116713LN Bro, if you really like the 116713LN, then just go for it or save for it. Unless you think you can buy u-boat first and then purchase the Rolex later. And you really love the u-boat too. In short, buy the ones you really like and cherished and not buying some first as a stepping stone. This hobby is a really expensive one, everything is minimally 4 figure here so some thoughts are needed unless 4 - 5 figure items are nothing to you. I made some of these mistakes myself in the past.......and end up with a bunch of "stepping stone" watches that I never wear now. And all of them if added together, is not cheap! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 Bro, if you really like the 116713LN, then just go for it or save for it. Unless you think you can buy u-boat first and then purchase the Rolex later. And you really love the u-boat too. In short, buy the ones you really like and cherished and not buying some first as a stepping stone. This hobby is a really expensive one, everything is minimally 4 figure here so some thoughts are needed unless 4 - 5 figure items are nothing to you. I made some of these mistakes myself in the past.......and end up with a bunch of "stepping stone" watches that I never wear now. And all of them if added together, is not cheap! Very agree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 Bro, if you really like the 116713LN, then just go for it or save for it. Unless you think you can buy u-boat first and then purchase the Rolex later. And you really love the u-boat too. In short, buy the ones you really like and cherished and not buying some first as a stepping stone. This hobby is a really expensive one, everything is minimally 4 figure here so some thoughts are needed unless 4 - 5 figure items are nothing to you. I made some of these mistakes myself in the past.......and end up with a bunch of "stepping stone" watches that I never wear now. And all of them if added together, is not cheap! i read some poor reviews about this series, due to the ceramic.. its 11k to 12k, definitely something that i have to consider, afterall its a time piece. what you mentioned, do have a strong point. i got many watches, only a few are good ones.. sometime thinking back, i regretted buying them.. too commercial and no resale value. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 The perfect unisex Rolex Bro, you open rolex shop one is it? how come got so many different ones and all so nice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 Bro, you open rolex shop one is it? how come got so many different ones and all so nice? Thanks for your compliment dude. Boh lah, no shop but i do like Rolex. So far have only 9 Rolexes. Today i brought cash to go negotiate with shop for a full gold diamond daytona, but too bad watch was sold earlier when i was in HK this week.. Destined not to buy.....sigh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 Thanks for your compliment dude. Boh lah, no shop but i do like Rolex. So far have only 9 Rolexes. Today i brought cash to go negotiate with shop for a full gold diamond daytona, but too bad watch was sold earlier when i was in HK this week.. Destined not to buy.....sigh.... rich.. wipe table also can have 9 rolex.. study so much for what, might as well go wipe table, sweep the floor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 rich.. wipe table also can have 9 rolex.. study so much for what, might as well go wipe table, sweep the floor. Hard earned money lah, Kurty. Study for knowledge and good foundation can already. If really want to make money, dont study too much, makes one stupid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 Hard earned money lah, Kurty. Study for knowledge and good foundation can already. If really want to make money, dont study too much, makes one stupid. haha, no offense. i understand, i never regretted studying, it makes one a better person and gain knowledge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 haha, no offense. i understand, i never regretted studying, it makes one a better person and gain knowledge. No prob at all lah, we've been in here long enough. On a seperate note, i was thinking hard about buying so many watches and wonder if i should just stop. There will simply be no end and its no longer gratifying becos i know i could walk out and buy a really expensive watch if i wanted to, tomorrow. This compared to my first Rolex which i was really excited about and wore wholeheartedly for 8 yrs before buying another. I think i should really wear what i have till the day i depart. Each piece would hopefully have been with me for at least 30yrs and would mean something to the people i give to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 21, 2014 Share March 21, 2014 No prob at all lah, we've been in here long enough. On a seperate note, i was thinking hard about buying so many watches and wonder if i should just stop. There will simply be no end and its no longer gratifying becos i know i could walk out and buy a really expensive watch if i wanted to, tomorrow. This compared to my first Rolex which i was really excited about and wore wholeheartedly for 8 yrs before buying another. I think i should really wear what i have till the day i depart. Each piece would hopefully have been with me for at least 30yrs and would mean something to the people i give to. hobby some time could lead to addiction. i'm one who often submit to that.. i got tons of shoes and shirts for a guy.. vain pot but if your wallet is deep to afford it, why not? life is short, we don't carry it with us when we go under. having said that, if its something that holds sentimental value to you, passing it on, the wearer will always remember you. like till date, my granny gave me a thin gold chain, i still keeping it. but having 9 piece, is really an amazing record. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 (edited) hobby some time could lead to addiction. i'm one who often submit to that.. i got tons of shoes and shirts for a guy.. vain pot but if your wallet is deep to afford it, why not? life is short, we don't carry it with us when we go under. having said that, if its something that holds sentimental value to you, passing it on, the wearer will always remember you. like till date, my granny gave me a thin gold chain, i still keeping it. but having 9 piece, is really an amazing record. Thanks, but its all relative as they say it.I could buy another 9 tomorrow but really what for? I think going forward, i will prefer a good reason to buy or else it becomes senseless, meaningless. A good reason as in to commemorate something of true significance becos i realise that my last 7 purchases were purely out of plain fancy. It would be better to mark a milestone, to truly "earn" it regardless of the pricetag. I think need to get back to basics before i lose self discipline. Edited March 21, 2014 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 21, 2014 Author Share March 21, 2014 (edited) My Rolexes and why i bought them. 1998 - Submariner - first hard earn Rolex that i bought after coming out to work 2003 - lady Datejust - valentines day gift for my wife 2006 - Explorer2 - bought it to show face to friend who opened a watchshop in jkt, sold in 2010 becos it was simply left unworn in the drawer 2006 - Daytona SS - decided that i needed a more upmarket Less common Rolex 2011 - Datejust vintage - for fun, sold within a year 2011 - Daydate Vintage - first foray into gold Rolex, sold after a year 2012 - Explorer2 - realised my mistake in selling it and bought one back. 2012 - GMT2 full gold - wanted the "most manly gold watch" 2012 - Daydate Champagne - realised my mistake in selling the vintage daydate earlier and bought back a newer model 2013 - Daydate White - pass the earlier Daydate to my wife so bought another one for my exclusive use. 2013 - Datejust Turnograph - wanted a clssic no fuss Rolex 2013 - Submariner Blue Gold - gotta have a discontinued blue gold Sub. 2013 - GMT master pepsi - didnt think just buy 2014 - GMT Master Pepsi Vintage - just to have one matt dial Rolex Ooops, i have 10 Rolexes now, not 9 !!! And today i almost bought a Daytona full gold diamond dial and a seadweller but destiny prevented the purchases. So i think i need to get back to basics. Edited March 21, 2014 by Throttle2 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...