Jaundice in Baby

Little_prince

this level of yellow looks ok? or should i rush her to hospital? [bigcry]

congrats fellow tiko bro!

your baby looks ok to me...not to worry so much ok? [:)]

our food must be affecting the liver sia...............but almost all new born i come across have this issue...........

u make it sound like u sow your seeds all over the world and you ahve many babies [laugh] [laugh]

our food must be affecting the liver sia...............but almost all new born i come across have this issue...........

heard is the spices...but chinese seldom take spice right? indians i understand..

but when sun the baby..must cover eyes n at least wear something..if not catch a cold...

saw a young father...just tan his baby without covering eyes n just wearing a diaper

Jaundice can be very common but don't fool around and take it lightly.

Both my sons have jaundice and 1st child wasn't too serious. Just expose to sunlight.

2nd bad, almost have to go for blood transfusion. Rented the UV lamp home for 1-2 weeks.

Like other mentioned, if unsure bring baby to doctor immediately.

heard is the spices...but chinese seldom take spice right? indians i understand..

but when sun the baby..must cover eyes n at least wear something..if not catch a cold...

saw a young father...just tan his baby without covering eyes n just wearing a diaper

Singapore and Malaysian Chinese takes lots of spices also le.......

chilli, curry, tom yam, garlic, ginger

Singapore and Malaysian Chinese takes lots of spices also le.......

chilli, curry, tom yam, garlic, ginger

oh yeah hor....forget abt them...not wonder....and if the mother is breast feeding....worse i think..

Jaundice in Baby is very common. My 2 gals got it when they born. They stayed hospital for 1 weeks. Nothing to worry about.

Edited by Megaweb

hi guys.

my baby girl just born on Sunday. today is her 5th day. Noticed that her jaundice seem to be getting worse instead of better. eyes turning yellow.

Is there anything to be worried about?

We're sunning her every morning and evening per doc advice.

thanks in advance

This is what I did and past down from old folks/myths.

Go to a a hawker stall selling 'sugar-cane juice'. Tell the stall owner that you need pure sugar cane juice. They will squeeze a fresh sugar cane without putting in any ice cube or any other additives (like fine sugar). Just pure sugar cane juice. -_-

At home, wash your index or little finger clean and dip it into the sugar cane juice. Place your finger tip and push it into the baby mouth and let her suck. Do not feed too much, at most 2 fingers tip.... [:)]

Some says use 'tea' spoon but not necessary.

After Jaundice....another nightmare will come....

COLIC!!

Hope your girl doesn't get it.....good luck and update us on her status.

Bro, you go see pediatrician better

these are the real experts in baby care

pay a liitle more, is worth it one

last time my kid fever, GP couldnt tell whats wrong, dont dare to give anti biotics

pediatrician one look, check the ear, straightaway tell me is ear infection

the strange thing is the GP also got check the baby ear just about 6 hours ago

Seems like normal n sb cute man your bb haha very round

Can feel for u cos we r oso very overly cautious parents

Abit abit see doc n very shag

Notice some parents Bo chey Bo Yao one

Sb easy life one

But end of story, once u n wife not comfortable

Best seek pd help

Congrats bro

Dear TS,

Please observe your baby carefully...

Jaundice is too common that many people tends to overlook. It should be getting better instead of getting bad.

There are several reasons link to jaundice:

- Liver is not developing well

- Baby is rejecting mother breast milk.

- etc.

Do observed her, if:

- the excrement is in strange colour

- she vomit milk a lot

- cut down her appetite too much (about half)

For your info, jaundice can kill. The common method to cure jaundice, of cos everybody knows, it get the early morning sun.

If it is severe, they need phototherapy, which required hospitalized. (if stabilized, but still having jaundice, you can rent the phototherapy machine to use at home)

It the jaundice level is too high (above 400 umol/l) blood transfusion is required.

Wah you said until so scary, TS first time daddy, cannot take it one.

TS, just bring her to your PD for advise, very common, dont think too much.

Oh yes, chinese believe putting some 黄枝(ng kee) under her pillow and when bathing her to help her with her jaundice, but not effective with my children la.

Edited by Coltplussport

Cover the baby eyes and bring her out to the morning sun for 5 minutes also can. -_- . Do not let the baby eyes see direct sunlight, just the body and do it for few morning. Not afternoon or evening sun as they are too strong.

In hospital, in serious cases, they will put it in a incubator and under ultra violet light for 30 minutes... :ph34r:

After Jaundice....another nightmare will come....

COLIC!!

Hope your girl doesn't get it.....good luck and update us on her status.

errr...in fact after Jaundice...more problems...night feeds, change diaper, schooling, rebellious, cant find a good job, cant find boyfriend / girlfriend, cant afford house,....etc....

the nightmare just started.... [laugh]

errr...in fact after Jaundice...more problems...night feeds, change diaper, schooling, rebellious, cant find a good job, cant find boyfriend / girlfriend, cant afford house,....etc....

the nightmare just started.... [laugh]

then blame gahmen again [laugh] [laugh]

Jaundice in Baby is very common. My 2 gals got it when they born. They stayed hospital for 1 weeks. Nothing to worry about.

Nothing to worry cos u got go see doc then doc sent them go scan uv light ma

Now ts at home asking cfm worry wat

Sometimes things happened to us before, we been thru n say easy la dun worry

But think back u at that x did u worry?

If now ts go doc, cfm no worry la, got doc care ma

No offense jus to share

After all all comes with a gd heart only diff approach

Cover the baby eyes and bring her out to the morning sun for 5 minutes also can. -_- . Do not let the baby eyes see direct sunlight, just the body and do it for few morning. Not afternoon or evening sun as they are too strong.

In hospital, in serious cases, they will put it in a incubator and under ultra violet light for 30 minutes... :ph34r:

still think natural sun is still the best...dun like the sound of UV lights..but then if serious ..got no choice