Pocus Turbocharged August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 (edited) hi guys. my baby girl just born on Sunday. today is her 5th day. Noticed that her jaundice seem to be getting worse instead of better. eyes turning yellow. Is there anything to be worried about? We're sunning her every morning and evening per doc advice. thanks in advance I believe you got PD visit to follow up on the Jaundice right? The doctor would have aken blood samples to determine the seriousness of the Jaundice. If it's very bad (like over 10) most probably go back hospital for phototherapy. Else just continue your sunning routine. Another way to help Jaundice is to practice scheduled feeding(wake him up to feed every 2 hours) instead of feeding on demand(wait for him to cry then feed). If your wife's milk supply not enough, mixed feed with formula first until your wife establish a steady supply. Frequent urination and bowel movement will pass the jaundice away so they can recover faster. Edited August 16, 2013 by Pocus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koko 4th Gear August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Dear TS, Please observe your baby carefully... Jaundice is too common that many people tends to overlook. It should be getting better instead of getting bad. There are several reasons link to jaundice: - Liver is not developing well - Baby is rejecting mother breast milk. - etc. Do observed her, if: - the excrement is in strange colour - she vomit milk a lot - cut down her appetite too much (about half) For your info, jaundice can kill. The common method to cure jaundice, of cos everybody knows, it get the early morning sun. If it is severe, they need phototherapy, which required hospitalized. (if stabilized, but still having jaundice, you can rent the phototherapy machine to use at home) It the jaundice level is too high (above 400 umol/l) blood transfusion is required. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 I think is common with all races............lol previous generation our parents once leave hospital don't want to go back mah.......... [laugh] Heard common to asian ..esp Chinese n indians...due to the food we eat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 haha ok, I thought they say ang moh babies rarely have jaundice..... yep I find it a wonder why I seldom hear babies of our generation warded for jaundice treatment. i think this ultraviolet light tanning comes from ang moh leh............so must be ang moh gin nah tio until they cannot tahan...........chinese only believe in the sun.............hahahahaha... [laugh] my mum told me all her children also tio..........only my youngest bro was admitted because his condition was very bad.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic August 16, 2013 Author Share August 16, 2013 this level of yellow looks ok? or should i rush her to hospital? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 hi guys. my baby girl just born on Sunday. today is her 5th day. Noticed that her jaundice seem to be getting worse instead of better. eyes turning yellow. Is there anything to be worried about? We're sunning her every morning and evening per doc advice. thanks in advance in short not sure just go to the doc or call n ask the doc......pays to be more kiasu.. if persist...better ask 2nd opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 My 3.5 mths old baby girl had jaundice too when she is about a week old when routine check up at Polyclinic.. took her for sun tan every morning but only come down a little. Wife fren suggest feed baby with sips of water so as to flush out the jaundice..and also if on breast feeding tend to have jaundice too.. Some folks may if mother take a lot of papaya babies tend to have higer juandice problem. My baby girl took 5 weeks to get an all clear from the doctor. Hope it helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 this level of yellow looks ok? or should i rush her to hospital? press on the skin a bit. if it is still yellowish or reddish, do send her there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patrickyan Clutched August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Wah hope your baby recovers fast bro..... Mine coming january 2014. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 i think this ultraviolet light tanning comes from ang moh leh............so must be ang moh gin nah tio until they cannot tahan...........chinese only believe in the sun.............hahahahaha... [laugh] my mum told me all her children also tio..........only my youngest bro was admitted because his condition was very bad.......... precisely, the ang moh invented something and force it on our Chinese babies to use! very smart businessman they are. oh......ok so at least during our generation, there is one example in your brother who was admitted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 (edited) this level of yellow looks ok? or should i rush her to hospital? SO CUTE!!!!.....I want to sayang her..... for peace of mind...just bring her to hospital or your PD for a check lah...$ is small matter to get some peace of mind.. Edited August 16, 2013 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 this level of yellow looks ok? or should i rush her to hospital? Cute girl! But photo can be deceiving, my laptop screen looks ok, but other may look yellowish. I can see her eye abit yellow but for jaundice, the eye is always the last place to turn white when they recover. jaundice travel top down and recover bottom up. If in doubt just go PD to confirm lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Wah hope your baby recovers fast bro..... Mine coming january 2014. Congratz ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic August 16, 2013 Author Share August 16, 2013 thanks guy. will do. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 This thread is v useful to me... mine coming next month. eh i thot came aldy? this with another one?? wohoo...u sibei hot [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 this level of yellow looks ok? or should i rush her to hospital? alamak, why never clean her neck. if worried, just go lar. anyway, i have been taught that sunning your baby cause more harm than good. the effectiveness is very minimal, best is to go for phototherapy.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Heard common to asian ..esp Chinese n indians...due to the food we eat our food must be affecting the liver sia...............but almost all new born i come across have this issue........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Heard common to asian ..esp Chinese n indians...due to the food we eat Studies have shown that Asian of eastern descendent, esp chinese have the highest occurence of Jaundice in the world. It's in our chinese genes, that's why our liver sucks and chinese tend to get drunk faster than angmoh and other races. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...