Friendstar Supercharged August 15, 2013 Share August 15, 2013 Hi. I am new to leisure cycling. I know there is this website called togoparts but I'm not familiar with the people there and don't wish to do the usual minimum post count before creating a topic. I'm sure there is a sizable group of cyclists in MCF. Just wondering where I can get my hydraulic disc brakes bleeded? How much does it cost roughly? I'm staying in the east and will hope to have a bike shop recommendation. I tried asking a bike shop in bedok called teck hock Hin and was told that he is very busy till late September. ZZzzzz. Maybe brakes bleeding is not a lucrative type of business and is frowned upon by the shop owners. I'm hesitant to go those very old fashioned uncle bicycle shop cos I got a feel that they won't know how to service. Any suggestions please? Pls advise cost too Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugen85 1st Gear August 15, 2013 Share August 15, 2013 You can go to SCH or Tay Cycle at Tampines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 15, 2013 Share August 15, 2013 Hi. I am new to leisure cycling. I know there is this website called togoparts but I'm not familiar with the people there and don't wish to do the usual minimum post count before creating a topic. I'm sure there is a sizable group of cyclists in MCF. Just wondering where I can get my hydraulic disc brakes bleeded? How much does it cost roughly? I'm staying in the east and will hope to have a bike shop recommendation. I tried asking a bike shop in bedok called teck hock Hin and was told that he is very busy till late September. ZZzzzz. Maybe brakes bleeding is not a lucrative type of business and is frowned upon by the shop owners. I'm hesitant to go those very old fashioned uncle bicycle shop cos I got a feel that they won't know how to service. Any suggestions please? Pls advise cost too Thanks! I like cyclecraft on east coast road (near the junction with still road). My bikes don't have hydraulic discs so I don't know the price. You may want to call and ask. They won't be the cheapest (and far from the most expensive), but their mech is great. If you're new, and you bought a used bike, I would say get a full service and clean. That's usually between $70 and $100 everywhere. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 (edited) Hi. I am new to leisure cycling. I know there is this website called togoparts but I'm not familiar with the people there and don't wish to do the usual minimum post count before creating a topic. I'm sure there is a sizable group of cyclists in MCF. Just wondering where I can get my hydraulic disc brakes bleeded? How much does it cost roughly? I'm staying in the east and will hope to have a bike shop recommendation. I tried asking a bike shop in bedok called teck hock Hin and was told that he is very busy till late September. ZZzzzz. Maybe brakes bleeding is not a lucrative type of business and is frowned upon by the shop owners. I'm hesitant to go those very old fashioned uncle bicycle shop cos I got a feel that they won't know how to service. Any suggestions please? Pls advise cost too Thanks! Bro, Does your braking feel mushy/spongy Otherwise dont really need to bother. There are many bike shops that can do this or you can do it at home if you have the correct brake fluid. No need to pay so much and you can up your skills and tech knowledge by a lot if you work on your own bike. My knowledge is base on Motorcycle hydraulic brakes which i believe does apply becos thats where bicycles base their technology on as well. The simplest way is really to pump the brake levers and allow air to escape with the reservoir open. 1. Ensure bike is stable 2. Adjust your brake lever / reservior so that it sits flat and nice. 3. Open the reservior cap 4. Remove diaphragm (be careful not to spill brake fluid) 5. Activate your brakes by pumping the lever 6. Continue to do that until it feels firm and tight again. 7. Top up your reservoir with brake fluid. 8. Put back diaphragm and cap. 9. All done. Good luck. Edited August 16, 2013 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Hi. I am new to leisure cycling. I know there is this website called togoparts but I'm not familiar with the people there and don't wish to do the usual minimum post count before creating a topic. I'm sure there is a sizable group of cyclists in MCF. Just wondering where I can get my hydraulic disc brakes bleeded? How much does it cost roughly? I'm staying in the east and will hope to have a bike shop recommendation. I tried asking a bike shop in bedok called teck hock Hin and was told that he is very busy till late September. ZZzzzz. Maybe brakes bleeding is not a lucrative type of business and is frowned upon by the shop owners. I'm hesitant to go those very old fashioned uncle bicycle shop cos I got a feel that they won't know how to service. Any suggestions please? Pls advise cost too Thanks! errrrr.....leisure cycling need hydraulic brake meh? sounds like sibei serious cycling to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Go youtube and look lo. I learnt how to bleed my brakes and service the whole bike from youtube. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 errrrr.....leisure cycling need hydraulic brake meh? sounds like sibei serious cycling to me. Nowadays most mtb come with hydraulic brakes ma. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Bro East side try Tay cycle at tampines, friend got his GT ava 1.0 from there, they should be able to do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 go to motocycle mech shop to do ok ok just joking onlyu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupe07 Neutral Newbie August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Hi. I am new to leisure cycling. I know there is this website called togoparts but I'm not familiar with the people there and don't wish to do the usual minimum post count before creating a topic. I'm sure there is a sizable group of cyclists in MCF. Just wondering where I can get my hydraulic disc brakes bleeded? How much does it cost roughly? I'm staying in the east and will hope to have a bike shop recommendation. I tried asking a bike shop in bedok called teck hock Hin and was told that he is very busy till late September. ZZzzzz. Maybe brakes bleeding is not a lucrative type of business and is frowned upon by the shop owners. I'm hesitant to go those very old fashioned uncle bicycle shop cos I got a feel that they won't know how to service. Any suggestions please? Pls advise cost too Thanks! if u r a hands on person, go youtube. Quite easy. Depending on the brand of your brakes, Johnson baby oil can be used. no need pure hydraulic oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 if u r a hands on person, go youtube. Quite easy. Depending on the brand of your brakes, Johnson baby oil can be used. no need pure hydraulic oil. That's very bad advice - unless you know what you're doing. The wrong oil can cause your brake system's rubber seals to fail and cost you more than the savings of using some oil that wasn't intended to be used as brake fluid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Johnson baby oil?? Are you serious? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Proper brake fluid should be cheaper than this baby oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 the quantity needed also very little as the brake pump reservoir is quite small only..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Some bicycle brake systems specify mineral oil. Others specify the use of more commonly-available DOT-series brake fluid. This is the first time I have heard of baby oil being used. Just like cars, brakes are just about the most important system on a bike. I don't see why you would want to cut corners on this. I have more brake pots on my bike than I do my car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steamroller Clutched August 16, 2013 Share August 16, 2013 Yes it can be DIYed but can be messy if not done properly. 2 places to go in the east: EMF Cycle http://www.eguide.com.sg/Companies/EMF-Cycles L&T Cycle http://www.ltcycle.com Elderly owner at EMF used to work as a mechanic @ L&T. NOW that he is on his own, his charges are cheaper. Knowledgeable and friendly but go early and avoid weekends if you dun want to wait. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 Nowadays most mtb come with hydraulic brakes ma. SRAM is developing hydraulic brake & gear shifting mechanism for roadies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarquin 1st Gear August 20, 2013 Share August 20, 2013 Below instructions by right should work... If shimano... For avid not sure though.. You'll see bubbles On the reservoir when you grip the levers when "burping" The brakes.. But wear rubber gloves.. Bro, Does your braking feel mushy/spongy Otherwise dont really need to bother. There are many bike shops that can do this or you can do it at home if you have the correct brake fluid. No need to pay so much and you can up your skills and tech knowledge by a lot if you work on your own bike. My knowledge is base on Motorcycle hydraulic brakes which i believe does apply becos thats where bicycles base their technology on as well. The simplest way is really to pump the brake levers and allow air to escape with the reservoir open. 1. Ensure bike is stable 2. Adjust your brake lever / reservior so that it sits flat and nice. 3. Open the reservior cap 4. Remove diaphragm (be careful not to spill brake fluid) 5. Activate your brakes by pumping the lever 6. Continue to do that until it feels firm and tight again. 7. Top up your reservoir with brake fluid. 8. Put back diaphragm and cap. 9. All done. Good luck. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...