Ernestchewjiyang0908021996 Neutral Newbie August 23, 2013 Share August 23, 2013 I am looking to replace my Nissan sunny to Volkswagen golf before this year what is the cheapest pric the golf can get thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 Does anyone know will the coe drop below 40k before this year mission impossible Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 mission impossible Everything is possible, when your job is on the line, buying a car with 50% down will be the last thing on your mind. But then with growing population and imports of more rich FT, it is difficult for COE to soften during good times. Supply must also increase faster than demand but this should happen by next year. If LTA don't kajiao the numbers, COE quota in 2014/15/16 (A, B and E) onwards should increase by at least 4x to 5x from current level, and with imports slowing, COE premium should logically drop. How much, I don't know, but 40k is plausible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 Fu(k 99% of the bloody second hand car dealers lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 I bought a car in mid 2012. Now the advertised price is also the same...Same reg year, same model same omv. Since the coe now is lower now and also depreciated price, the cost price for the same car now should drop right? But no! Obviously something fishy going on in the used car market.... Car dealer are not pulling out the bait until they catch the biggest fish!! this is because there is still a strong demand for used cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 Fu(k 99% of the bloody second hand car dealers lah is that a FAKE watch? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 The relax will come near to GE2016 la...confirm..just hold on to your car now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 (edited) awesome ... just nice for 2011/2012/2013 < 5 year old car buyer to change car The relax will come near to GE2016 la...confirm..just hold on to your car now.. Edited August 24, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 (edited) i assumed LTA had learned their lesson hard (GE2011) and likely to 'moderate' the bumper crop of COE supply Everything is possible, when your job is on the line, buying a car with 50% down will be the last thing on your mind. But then with growing population and imports of more rich FT, it is difficult for COE to soften during good times. Supply must also increase faster than demand but this should happen by next year. If LTA don't kajiao the numbers, COE quota in 2014/15/16 (A, B and E) onwards should increase by at least 4x to 5x from current level, and with imports slowing, COE premium should logically drop. How much, I don't know, but 40k is plausible. Edited August 24, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluesport Neutral Newbie August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 How used car dealers affect the COE price???? Is the new car distributor lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 (edited) used car dealer is not budging ... not a single step you go used car dealer and nego for a deal give you the look ... take it or go buy new car so many go buy new car even has to stretch their budget a little and affect the coe lor used car ... a heavily beaten up used car ... is cheap but not very cheap that many will bite a typical < 3 or 4 years old used car ... the depreciation (not selling price) is trailing new car ... might as well buy new car especially those who can afford the 40% downpayment and the worst thing is 3-4 years ago the coe is not high. hence, the paper value of the 3-4 years old car is actually very low. hence, you are paying a very high premium for 3-4 years old car. How used car dealers affect the COE price???? Is the new car distributor lah Edited August 24, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 is that a FAKE watch? Are you trying to make his head explode? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 (edited) awesome ... just nice for 2011/2012/2013 < 5 year old car buyer to change car I brought my car 2 months before new ruling and estimated I can change again in 2016... Edited August 24, 2013 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 i assumed LTA had learned their lesson hard (GE2011) and likely to 'moderate' the bumper crop of COE supply yes, it will be moderated but even with 2x of current COE level, premium should drop (all else being equal) and GE2016 should help to ensure better supply as well, I am not buying anything this year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 do not under estimate the pent up demand and increased of population yes, it will be moderated but even with 2x of current COE level, premium should drop (all else being equal) and GE2016 should help to ensure better supply as well, I am not buying anything this year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 Are you trying to make his head explode? i dun dare to Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 (edited) do not under estimate the pent up demand and increased of population You should reread my first post. I am not expecting population to double or to grow by double digits (if Pinky is to be taken seriously), COE quota will however increased considerably from current low base... It won't crash but it should weaken if supply is increased by say, 2 folds (it is supposed to grow 4x based on deregistration numbers). So I am betting it will drop by 2015 in time for GE2016. LOL... I might be wrong but I based my forecast on available data point and realpolitik. Edited August 24, 2013 by Voodooman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 24, 2013 Share August 24, 2013 is that a FAKE watch? YES and pretty cheap too ..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...