Lkg for independent workshop to check 2nd hd car condition

dear forumers, im looking to buy a 2nd hand car..

does anyone have any independent workshop to recommend to do a comprehensive check on the condition of the car ?

ie gear box chasis etc...

the dealer says will bring to STA or VICOM but im a little skeptical after reading up on their reputation in the papers recently.

just want to make sure im not buying a lemon.

does anyone have any independent workshop to recommend to do a comprehensive check on the condition of the car ?

the dealer says will bring to STA or VICOM but im a little skeptical after reading up on their reputation in the papers recently.

try AA. more comprehensive also got member's discount

Do you have a trusted mechanic? If so, bring him along la.. If not yet, then go get a workshop which you may have to use in future (normal wear and tear is unavoidable), be friendly.. ask the mechanic there for help ba.

Bro, just bargain on the selling price of the car for a few thousand. Most dealers do not do any repairs. 2nd hand car will have problems most of the time depending on the age of the car and also if previous owner take the effort to care for the car. In most cases, if the owner is going to sell the car, They will not bother to sent it for any major repair. Save a few thousand from bargaining so you may use it for repairs later.

I bought my ride just 2 months ago and was quoted for repairs up to 2k plus.,. Then went to seek 2nd opinion and was told no need to change so many things. So it is difficult to determine whether you bought a lemon. As long as engine working, rest of the things you replace belong to wear and tear, considered lucky liao.

thanks for the input guys ...

hmm no ive got no trusted mechanic ... but i think i can try asking my brother's friend...

anyway, yea as it is a PI car, there are no service records... and when i asked if it was serviced, the guy said yes, and will throw in one servicing for me after purchase (which i dont know to believe or not after all the stories ive been reading)

also, price wise, i cant seem to knock much off leh ... its a feb 07 car, advertising 43.8k. best price im given is only 42.5. and they refuse to go down any further ...

Don't bother abt their servicing. Hao Siao one.

Just whack the lowest price then go outside workshop do a full servicing yourself.

Don't bother abt their servicing. Hao Siao one.

Just whack the lowest price then go outside workshop do a full servicing yourself.

ya i also think hao siao one ... recently serviced still will throw in 1 free servicing ... at the end of the day its a biz thats running for profit... not some charity...

too good to be true...

but im just concerned abt the price...

condition and all looks good but just cant bargain much

ya i also think hao siao one ... recently serviced still will throw in 1 free servicing ... at the end of the day its a biz thats running for profit... not some charity...

too good to be true...

but im just concerned abt the price...

condition and all looks good but just cant bargain much

some of the dealers are blacklisted here. which dealer you buy from?

try AA. more comprehensive also got member's discount

AA is the way to go. But, need to be realistic 'cos the report is also very realistic. [laugh] If one is not realistic, don't buy 2nd hand car.

hmm no ive got no trusted mechanic ... but i think i can try asking my brother's friend...

anyway, yea as it is a PI car, there are no service records... and when i asked if it was serviced, the guy said yes, and will throw in one servicing for me after purchase (which i dont know to believe or not after all the stories ive been reading)

also, price wise, i cant seem to knock much off leh ... its a feb 07 car, advertising 43.8k. best price im given is only 42.5. and they refuse to go down any further ...

This price, abv 2 l car??

Difficult to judge whether the price is right or not without knowing make/model, but I think you should negotiate down further...

+1 to an AAS pre-purchase inspection.

Also +1 to "Don't bother abt their servicing. Hao Siao one.

Just whack the lowest price then go outside workshop do a full servicing yourself. "

Edited by Elfenstar