Roundabout rules: was NTUC right?

Nicholas

Let's me share my most recent filtering offence just like roundabout rules.

I signal and filter left to exist. However, the TP saw and penalize me as inconsiderate driving with 9 demerit pts & $170 fine.

My observation was the car on the left has slowed and gave way to my car to exist. However, the TP judgement is I have caused other to jam brake to avoid collision.

There was no horn from the other car or whatsoever during this incident. I appeal for this offence at TP HQ

No horn doesnt mean he never jam brake,maybe he saw TP behind liao so he saved the trouble of horning you.

Hahahahaha, what a laugh, based on this theory, the car on the outer lane can exit any exit indiscriminately? Hahahahhaha

Allowed to exit if its safe and exit as you please is different. This is a roundabout, not a traffic light junction where there may be arrows indicating strict lefts and rights.

Also on the outer lane when transversing on the inner lane you cut across the broken lines, the vehicle cutting across broken lines need to make sure it is safe before moving over. This is very basic, unless it is like Newton circus type of roundabout where the broken lines indicate clearly it is supposed to be an exit when leading to orchard or towards novena. Or continue on right at the same exits.

Really what a joke....

Never see my picture in post #135 ah [:p]

Let's me share my most recent filtering offence just like roundabout rules.

I signal and filter left to exist. However, the TP saw and penalize me as inconsiderate driving with 9 demerit pts & $170 fine.

My observation was the car on the left has slowed and gave way to my car to exist. However, the TP judgement is I have caused other to jam brake to avoid collision.

There was no horn from the other car or whatsoever during this incident. I appeal for this offence at TP HQ

Ur case quite similar to this thread, somemore thru eyes of TP. Ref back to diagram in post #1. The blue arrow maybe over exaggerated. Imagine both cars are travelling on a 2 lane straight road. Then red car is like trying to filter into blue car lane......and presto, the likeness of ur case.

wow, filtering can kena 9 demerit points is scary...

Ur case quite similar to this thread, somemore thru eyes of TP. Ref back to diagram in post #1. The blue arrow maybe over exaggerated. Imagine both cars are travelling on a 2 lane straight road. Then red car is like trying to filter into blue car lane......and presto, the likeness of ur case.

wow, filtering can kena 9 demerit points is scary...

Kenna 9 points is scary but many people still do it, so maybe not scary enough?

What if filter w/o checking and a rider is unable to stop?

@Tcx607: If you have cam can try to appeal. If not, it's your word against a TP so can only LPPL.

This rule applies only when there are no lane markings. In TS case, I'm guessing there are lane markings, left lane turn out, right lane go round about.

Agree, when there is lane markings, then lane discipline should be practice instead of the round about rule.

This is a classic case for why most Singapore roads have lane markings .. but overseas suburbs, roundabout or traffic junction without traffic lights or markings are very common, but everyone keep a safe lookout and give way regardless of "roundabout rule" or "right of way".

I know the Marine Parade circle has no lane marking. The road width is big enough for 3 cars breadth. One of the few places where Roundabout rule should be practice.

Hi, I'm afraid that I'm not well versed in this topic like you think I am, I'm simply agreeing to the highway code and disagreeing that Mrs Han is 100% liable.

The scenario that you said, should seldom happen if blue car gives way to traffic in roundabout, that is also in highway code. This means that you should wait until roundabout traffic is clear before the cars from your side move off.

Like some said, it should probably be 50/50 because cars on left should know there is a possibility that car on right side may turn left and keep a lookout for each other.

I made this topic because I'm not so sure myself and want to hear the views of others. My conclusion so far is the same as what some have said. Both failed to lookout for one another so they should be at 50/50 fault. And if we are at a roundabout and want to exit, always try to keep left which is fail safe. [:)]

if i read correctly, your argument is blue car must definately exit at the accident exit because it was the 2nd exit for him. so the road must be definately clear for your wife to exit without any problem.

my question is what if the blue car entered the roundabout one entrance later than your wife, and end up same position side by side with your wife at the accident exit. but the difference now is he can choose not to exit at the accident exit because it is only his first exit. so your wife is not so sure if she can exit now correct?

if this argument holds water, very hard to drive leh... have to monitor and remember which car enter from which entrance to establish when is the "die-die must exit" exit for all neighbouring cars...

if i read correctly, your argument is blue car must definately exit at the accident exit because it was the 2nd exit for him. so the road must be definately clear for your wife to exit without any problem.

my question is what if the blue car entered the roundabout one entrance later than your wife, and end up same position side by side with your wife at the accident exit. but the difference now is he can choose not to exit at the accident exit because it is only his first exit. so your wife is not so sure if she can exit now correct?

if this argument holds water, very hard to drive leh... have to monitor and remember which car enter from which entrance to establish when is the "die-die must exit" exit for all neighbouring cars...

thats why han solo lost to the empire [laugh][laugh][laugh]

blue car is not wrong in this case of accident imo

the red car need to check clear before changing lane

if it not clear, it advise to go 1 more round

the blue car wins cause the red car langgar the blue car which in normal situation is going straight while red car change lane.

blue car is not wrong in this case of accident imo

the red car need to check clear before changing lane

if it not clear, it advise to go 1 more round

the blue car wins cause the red car langgar the blue car which in normal situation is going straight while red car change lane.

I think you are reading TS reasoning(not that i agree) wrongly here... TS is saying his wife was merely exiting from her own lane as her lane allowed her to do that AND blue car must also exit from his own lane (because it was 2nd exit, compulsary to exit). nothing to do with changing lanes....

Bro, thats why as mentioned in my post general rule is

1. Keep left if you are turning at 9 o'clock. Keep left or right if you are turning to 12 o'clock. Keep right if you are turning to 3 o'clock.

2. Signal your intention clearly (Heck, you see drivers who still refuse to signal)

3. Check for traffic and ensure clear before proceeding/entering the roundabout.

4. Keep in lane.

5. Signal when exiting.

This is the general practice in countries where roundabout is aplenty

But 1 may argue what if it's heavy traffic? If you have every intention to turn to 12 o'clock, even if you are on the left lane in a 2 lane roundabout(note my point (1), you need to allow the incoming traffic pass, that is already in the roundabout that is going to exit on your 9 o'clock(chances are he entered from your 12 oclock or 3 oclock, even if he is in the right lane(lane 1,inner). This can be determined by his indicators, so that is why (5) is very important, signal when exit.

But if you are turning left to 9 oclock instead(keeping to left lane), you can proceed with care, as he(the car that is already at the roundabout exiting and in right lane) will exit and keep to his right will you exit keeping to the left at the same exit. But if there is a car in the left lane, u have to let it pass first(chances are the car in the left or 2nd lane enter roundabout 1 entrance before yours, from your 9 oclock)In most countries this is how they deal with heavy traffic situation,. That is why during peak period, you will see the right lane(1) is usually more congested than the left lane.

So to answer your question,in most places, if the blue car is entering one entrance later, and he is goin to 12 or 3 o'clock, he should wait for TS wife car to exit first before proceeding. If he is exiting on the first exit, i.e 9 o'clock, ,by right he should wait till clear too. by left he can proceed and exit together with TS wife car, but with caution, like how our northern neighbour does.

At roundabout...just be very aware of your surrounding. No say right or wrong...just have to give way sometime even if you have the right of way unless you dun mind the hassle of making a claim (some drivers dun mind...)

IMHO...I think the taxi is wrong not to give way but if I was the red car...I would have kept to the left lane to exit. I use that roundabout quite a fair bit...usually enter at 6 and exit at 12...I would take the left lane all the way and wary of the cars on the right...cos its very hard to keep to the right lane and then try to filter in due to the close proximity of the exits and it does not help that the 9 o'clock exit/entrance has vehicles coming in to join the roundabout.

However, if I am on the 12 o'clock entrance, I will take the outer lanes to by pass the 3 & 6 o'clock and start to filter in to take the 12 o'clock exit (basically a u turn lah).

Above is based on car travelling towards AYE to Tuas direction.

If too confusing...just be very careful of circles lor...I hate circle...last time the one at kallang was the worst. Sibeh stress to use that road...which I always try to avoid.

At roundabout...just be very aware of your surrounding. No say right or wrong...just have to give way sometime even if you have the right of way unless you dun mind the hassle of making a claim (some drivers dun mind...)

IMHO...I think the taxi is wrong not to give way but if I was the red car...I would have kept to the left lane to exit. I use that roundabout quite a fair bit...usually enter at 6 and exit at 12...I would take the left lane all the way and wary of the cars on the right...cos its very hard to keep to the right lane and then try to filter in due to the close proximity of the exits and it does not help that the 9 o'clock exit/entrance has vehicles coming in to join the roundabout.

However, if I am on the 12 o'clock entrance, I will take the outer lanes to by pass the 3 & 6 o'clock and start to filter in to take the 12 o'clock exit (basically a u turn lah).

Above is based on car travelling towards AYE to Tuas direction.

If too confusing...just be very careful of circles lor...I hate circle...last time the one at kallang was the worst. Sibeh stress to use that road...which I always try to avoid.

Taxi????

please look at the whole thread. that place is not consider a round about btw. :ph34r:

Anyway, bottom line is that motor insurance in Sg is like an umbrella made of rice paper. Looks good at first, but wait for a rainy day and see what happens.

Just get the cheapest insurance you can get away with and drive defensively (this does not necessarily mean slowly - accelerating out of potential trouble is often just as helpful, if not more so).

And for the love of god - avoid Auntie Lucy like the plague. Haven't we heard enough horror stories about her? [rolleyes]

Haha! You ARE really prejudiced against aunty Lucy like the plague, must add in your gratitious advice unconnected to teh issue!

assuming that the accident has occurred a while ago, i think NTUC is right and the red car should assume full liability.

i use that roundabout quite often. before LTA made the changes recently and if i remember correctly, the arrow marking on the outer lane of the roundabout is a straight or left turn, i.e. cars on the left most lane can choose to continue around the roundabout or exit it. that being said, cars cannot exit from the right lane. i remember this because it annoys me when cars "cut queue" by exiting the roundabout from the right lane when there is only one legal exiting lane, which is the left lane.

it is only the recent changes to the arrows, i noticed that cars on the left lane must exit and cars on the right have the choice of continuing or exiting the roundabout.

The main question is where did the blue car hit your red car OR where did your red car hit the blue car.

Can you illustrate the impact point and angle. These are the crucial points.

assuming that the accident has occurred a while ago, i think NTUC is right and the red car should assume full liability.

i use that roundabout quite often. before LTA made the changes recently and if i remember correctly, the arrow marking on the outer lane of the roundabout is a straight or left turn, i.e. cars on the left most lane can choose to continue around the roundabout or exit it. that being said, cars cannot exit from the right lane. i remember this because it annoys me when cars "cut queue" by exiting the roundabout from the right lane when there is only one legal exiting lane, which is the left lane.

it is only the recent changes to the arrows, i noticed that cars on the left lane must exit and cars on the right have the choice of continuing or exiting the roundabout.

thanks for pointing this out....now i know why my interpretation of the case differs fr some others....becos i recently drove in tat roundabout n wat u described is the most recent arrows scheme painted on the road.