Intimidating Custom Official

Rogersk8ter

There is no right or wrong answer to your situation.

It's up to you on how you explain to the officer and control the situation, rather than letting the officer control you. If he talk loud to you, then u got to talk louder than him. Just tell him "My engine dying. How the F you want me to move the car?! Now do your job and call a F'ing tow truck for me!"

You scare scare like a sick chicken, of coz the officers sure makan you lah!!!

Don't say i just keyboard warrior only. I was in a similiar situation as you in Dec 2012. It was in the JB custom on Tuas checkpoint. Car overheated abit with warning light came on. I was already near to the JB passport counter. After chop passport, i just pulled one side, in front of those counters and just pop bonnet and check. No officer came to tell me to F off. They see me pop bonnet, they just sit there and watch. No problem at all. I even stop there for 30 mins.

No need to scare.

eh .. you donut ma ... everyone knows officers love donuts ... !

I know they are doing their job, that doesnt mean they can be uncivil and unprofessional. Just feels sad for some ppl when they put on some uniform their power multiplies.

tks to all bros.

Its at Tuas chk point leh. Car is not boken down....i stop to check.

nobody seems to answer my qns.....guess this is unique case har?

Like some said, you are in singapore custom ma. If you got nothing to scare or declare, then you can EXPECT CUSTOMER SERVICE. Everything black n white. They KL you, you hoot complain letter up.

Malaysia custom, dun play play, be humble a bit.

it's like that one lah. Our immigration officers always beo me like I'm a criminal like that. Once at Changi Airport, the officer saw my passport photo and barked fiercely " go change your photo!"

I was thinking at that time " Where's the nice and courteous <Welcome to Singapore Mr McDonald> that I have heard before ? " No love for locals ??? Then the Customs side always beckon me over with stern look to have my luggage checked.

That said I also came across friendlier ones, though they are mainly females. ICA male officers got menopause ??

I know they are doing their job, that doesnt mean they can be uncivil and unprofessional. Just feels sad for some ppl when they put on some uniform their power multiplies.

Uniform group leh? U wan them very nice ar?

Then how they deter baddies ???

Hahaha

There is no right or wrong answer to your situation.

It's up to you on how you explain to the officer and control the situation, rather than letting the officer control you. If he talk loud to you, then u got to talk louder than him. Just tell him "My engine dying. How the F you want me to move the car?! Now do your job and call a F'ing tow truck for me!"

You scare scare like a sick chicken, of coz the officers sure makan you lah!!!

Don't say i just keyboard warrior only. I was in a similiar situation as you in Dec 2012. It was in the JB custom on Tuas checkpoint. Car overheated abit with warning light came on. I was already near to the JB passport counter. After chop passport, i just pulled one side, in front of those counters and just pop bonnet and check. No officer came to tell me to F off. They see me pop bonnet, they just sit there and watch. No problem at all. I even stop there for 30 mins.

No need to scare.

I had a similar situation too about a year back but at Woodlands ; my radiator must have sprung a leak due to long queue in the hot afternoon at about 5pm and my engine temp started going in the red zone and the red warning thermometer icon came on and I switched off my aircon and passed the immigration and just near where they check the fuel level area I stopped/ opened the bonnet to release the cap and the and told the officer nearby about the issue he even told me where the toilet was and get water and surprisingly he gave me his water bottle (some pepsi or coke bottle 1.5l) to fill up- I stayed in the area for over 30 mins to bring the temp down; I think you should not be afraid at all if you have a genuine issue (especially in Singapore with a SGP registered car) - I was not obstructing the traffic as there was a small bay for parking "Authorised Vehicles Only"

I have not encountered such incidents at the customs despite my frequent travel.

Reason - when they see an important person, they know.

This is my bad day....

Was going to JB to meet a client this morning via Tuas 2nd link.

Along the way, dashboard warning light came on and off.

I stopped my car just after the custom check point.

2 officers, not sure they are custom officials or Atos security, waved frantically at me coming down from the watch tower.

I drove up and wind down the window to be met with a intimidating man in blue(Bayee Sing) who raised his voice asking me do I know that is a non parking zone? He was so mad and asked his partner to take my car number.

I tried to explain but he appeared so pissed and instructed me to make a U turn back!

I made a U turn back to custom not know what to do. An Atos security came towards me and i told her what happened.

She took my passport and went into a room for sometime. She came back and told me she will lead me towards the road back to jb again. My conversation with her seems to tell me that guy shd not ask me to make U turn and has happened a few times already.

Here are my qns...

Are those guys sitting in the tower customer police officers or Atos security?

I did not notice any no stopping markings or signs after the custom check point. Like to know is that so?

What is the fine? Demerit points?

Stopping/parking illegally is an offence. Such outburst is necessary as a deterrent?

A few months back I was returning to SG by cway n there was a jam. Cos of this I was very high tide so needed to go toilet.

I found a closed lane at Immigration(where ty check yr PP) n parked there n went looking fr a toilet.

I came across a Customs officer n I asked him fr the toilet. He asked why I park there n leave my vehicle, which is not allowed.

I told him I very urgent high tide n he abt to tok summore n I told him if u still tok I wil pee right in front of u.

He quickly left.

I then managed to find the toilet near the customs offices n a ger officer also said I cannot leave my vehicle in this area. I said I go toilet first then we can tok.

When I came out n went to see her, she said its OK lah.

I then went back to my car without any more incident.

They hv their rules for safety n security reasons like terrorist explode car with bomb etc but there wil b exceptions to the rule if u hv a very good reason.

U can give yr reason to them n if ty still not happy, U can also bring it up with their senior officer to decide what ti do.

Some of those ATOS officers really behave like big F from my personal experience. We shd know our rights. If they KL with me, I will F them NIC LY on the spot. It happened to me once at the airport.

I go JB every week n so far I never had any problems with the AETOS or ICA officers b4.

I usually even joke with them to make our lives less stressful. [grin]

I also do the same with the Msian Immigration n Customs officers n so far ty never give me a hard time. [confused]

tks to all bros.

Its at Tuas chk point leh. Car is not boken down....i stop to check.

nobody seems to answer my qns.....guess this is unique case har?

So far u never receive any summons so just leave it lah.

If u do get a letter or summons, then explain yr case.

Better if u hv some black n white to back up yr story like a receipt with same date saying u sent fr chacking n repair of certain park of yr engine.

This is a small issue. Next time any of them shout at u, just tell them u r not deaf yet.

I go JB every week n so far I never had any problems with the AETOS or ICA officers b4.

I usually even joke with them to make our lives less stressful. [grin]

I also do the same with the Msian Immigration n Customs officers n so far ty never give me a hard time. [confused]

Met a very chio female, she smiles n joked as she checked my pasipok at woodlands..... Beauty contest material [thumbsup] You may have met her before!? [:)]

I hv met quite a few [gorgeous] on both sides of the cway. I wil usually hv some small tok with them while waiting fr clearence.

Ty r all very nice n friendly pple. [thumbsup]

I hv met quite a few [gorgeous] on both sides of the cway. I wil usually hv some small tok with them while waiting fr clearence.

Ty r all very nice n friendly pple. [thumbsup]

No wonder there are jams........ your small talk how "small"?..... :o :o

Gei gei..... Very jam so take red lane hor

Hahaha gei siao use toilet as excuse

Haha [:p]

A few months back I was returning to SG by cway n there was a jam. Cos of this I was very high tide so needed to go toilet.

I found a closed lane at Immigration(where ty check yr PP) n parked there n went looking fr a toilet.

I came across a Customs officer n I asked him fr the toilet. He asked why I park there n leave my vehicle, which is not allowed.

I told him I very urgent high tide n he abt to tok summore n I told him if u still tok I wil pee right in front of u.

He quickly left.

I then managed to find the toilet near the customs offices n a ger officer also said I cannot leave my vehicle in this area. I said I go toilet first then we can tok.

When I came out n went to see her, she said its OK lah.

I then went back to my car without any more incident.

They hv their rules for safety n security reasons like terrorist explode car with bomb etc but there wil b exceptions to the rule if u hv a very good reason.

U can give yr reason to them n if ty still not happy, U can also bring it up with their senior officer to decide what ti do.