Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 13, 2013 Share August 13, 2013 Explain why do singapore buses (pa plates) and panel vans have to stick the 80/90 km/h sticker when they go over the causeway? That's because these vehicles are not allowed into malaysia without a permit. To get the permit, they need to affix the sticker. Only non-commercial vehicles from Singapore are allowed in without a permit. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 13, 2013 Share August 13, 2013 (edited) Agree with you. LTA should just impose EU rules on DRL instead of "no" without merits. I had fixed a aftermarket DRL from a reputable manufacturer - which dims after the headlights are on. It does enhance vehicle visibility especially in cp. Will the workshops/manufacturer want to follow the instructions and be liable for any improper installation? Part of the EU/DOT/JSR accreditation involves this. IIRC, there are 7 (or is it 8) specific steps for this accreditation involving design to installation. For aftermarket based E marked lights in Europe, the owner is liable for proper installation, however LTA does take a lazy stance so no go. I also suspect this is the reason why the rules on aftermarket exhausts is what it is, rather than allowing for a blanket use of aftermarket exhausts but they need to meet emission and sound standards. Edited August 13, 2013 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear August 13, 2013 Share August 13, 2013 Correct me if im wrong. It sounds more like a taxation issue to me. Cars fitted with stock DRLs come with a slightly higher OMV, around a couple of hundred dollars, Due to that, tax amount is slightly higher. When we retrofit it locally, it "escapes" the additional OMV, hence they are considered "illegal". Just my $0.0002 Aftermarket installed ones are illegal. Just like fog lamps, factory fitted ones are legal because they meet certain specifications for glare, dimming when headlights come on, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 13, 2013 Share August 13, 2013 Correct me if im wrong. It sounds more like a taxation issue to me. Cars fitted with stock DRLs come with a slightly higher OMV, around a couple of hundred dollars, Due to that, tax amount is slightly higher. When we retrofit it locally, it "escapes" the additional OMV, hence they are considered "illegal". Just my $0.0002 I'm sticking with that they're lazy buggers lah If they were that neow about OMV, they wouldn't allow locally fitted leather seats etc. Basically why bother having more cars coming in to be checked when they can do a blanket ban and have less work to do. Same thing with the exhausts too. LTA approved ones have their emissions and sound checked once. After that, it's a quick visual inspection of the cars that have already put them on (i.e. make sure that the cat and muffler are there) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jackzhangxiao Neutral Newbie August 14, 2013 Share August 14, 2013 Factory comes with standard that is adhere to more or less international agreed standard. If LTA approves it...you will see cars that will fit so much DRL that makes it look like a float from the Ching Gay parade. There will always be people that tend to over do things. I agree with that. Once LTA opens the gate, all different birds will come in. However, consider this, is that illegal to on High beam during normal drive? Im talking about Illegal, not courtesy. So if its NOT illegal to turn on your high beam during normal drive, then why must ban self-add DRL? sure it will not as bright as high beam. And LTA should set the standards for self-add DRL and shouldnt ban ALL self-add DRL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greg_S Neutral Newbie August 14, 2013 Share August 14, 2013 I'm with you mockngbrd! The LTA should focus on fixing the roads and not so much the cars driving on them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AdamColeman Neutral Newbie August 15, 2013 Share August 15, 2013 I agree with that. Once LTA opens the gate, all different birds will come in. However, consider this, is that illegal to on High beam during normal drive? Im talking about Illegal, not courtesy. So if its NOT illegal to turn on your high beam during normal drive, then why must ban self-add DRL? sure it will not as bright as high beam. And LTA should set the standards for self-add DRL and shouldnt ban ALL self-add DRL. HID Light you mean ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desmojon 1st Gear August 15, 2013 Share August 15, 2013 LTA should go catch pot holes and patchy road repair works... Also curb over filled cement mixers that drops cement on the roads when they accelerate. Hazard for motorist. Not sure who pays for the money to remove the hardened cement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear August 15, 2013 Share August 15, 2013 I agree with that. Once LTA opens the gate, all different birds will come in. However, consider this, is that illegal to on High beam during normal drive? Im talking about Illegal, not courtesy. So if its NOT illegal to turn on your high beam during normal drive, then why must ban self-add DRL? sure it will not as bright as high beam. And LTA should set the standards for self-add DRL and shouldnt ban ALL self-add DRL. While some may add on for a purpose...some tend to over do things. Some may even install different colour LED to the car...then some blur drivers will be distracted...When HID first came out...a lot of people was distracted by the white light. Then all go and install HID...and HID dun work well with cars without projector headlights...if use with a reflector...its damn blinding to others. So instead of approving some aftermarket and rejecting others...just blanket ban lor...easier for enforcements. Once you have too much sub rules...its becomes very hard to enforce and maintain. Factory YES and non factory NO...easier to enforce. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AlanZ Neutral Newbie August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 (edited) Yup, if they can't enforce, at least take down their number and report to immigration or police? Can't be that kamlan right? They will be kamlan if they do that. Why will reporting to Immigration or Police help? They are not law and policy makers, only enforcers. N vehicles with those problems dont fall under their jurisdiction. Unless our Government steps up on policy for foreign vehicles. Every evening when I travell at BKE heading towards woodlands I get swarmed by JB bikes who rides recklessly. Some with extreme loud exhaust and whitesmoke, blacksmoke, small numberplate etc. LTA can only do so much to local vehicles, but I strongly feels that the number of bikes entering singapore and causing polution n harm to our roads daily is more than the entire bike numbers we have in whole of SG, which needs to be tackled. Edited August 21, 2013 by AlanZ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 21, 2013 Share August 21, 2013 (edited) LTA officers on the road patrolling just doing their job... But i can't understand their engineers that set the rules. The exhaust modification which may affect brake, etc is a joke lah!!! Well if you think of it: exhaust system modification DO affect brake, because: exhaust system modification = decat, change extractor, change muffler, side-plant = up to 20% more (illegal) power for NA, even more for Turbocharged cars if you include modifying the turbo to a bigger one (which is STILL considered "exhaust modification") the increase horsepower and torque WILL affect the braking power of the stock brakes who may not be able to OPTIMALLY cope with the increased power of the modified exhaust system. So actually the LTA engineer is really very smart and logical. BUT BUT BUT When the LTA engineer explain the technical implications to the minister.....COMFIRM alot of technical infomation is lose in translation. Then when the minister explain to the public the rational....become laughing stock!!! I believe this is a common problem with vendors working for clients....both GOV and private. You explain technical things to the top, 60% of them don't really get it. Only a few technically sound ones and still in the know, will understand. AND WHEN they explain this things to the public/shareholders.....become laughing stock....ultimately affect your reputation as an engineer as they will say the source is from you/your coy. Sounds like a comic strip of Dilbert... Edited August 21, 2013 by Pocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joecamel 1st Gear August 22, 2013 Share August 22, 2013 [email protected] drop them an email, will take them about 2 weeks to revert and another 2 weeks to fix it. world class! Agree on this. The quality is going downhill. I was unable to search the status of this project at junction of serangoon ave 2/serangoon ave 3., if it is "completed", then its definitely shitty work. can someone advise the status? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...