Tesla Model S

Porker

ok what ... we are the ONE & ONLY nation

i'm sure other country govt want to learn this new trick [sly]

all countries are dying to learn from us how to charge tax on tax, coe, arf, erp, etc ... it's like having a golden goose leh

post-7984-0-70094900-1457681170_thumb.png

LTA has now official become the WORLD's laughing stock...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/un-body-on-tesla/2589878.html

真的是丢脸丢到家,不对,应该是丢出国了。

还是快点找个台阶下吧, 别越描越黑了。 :a-no: :a-no:

Edited by Carbon82

well LTA got caught with their pants down. at least while they are being held accountable things will change, since this has taken on an international face. it doesnt hurt that elon musk decided to add his $0.02 and hopefully this will make things clear (and hopefully better) for everyone.

personally, would love to own a tesla one day. but from my understanding, it would be easier to live in a landed property, as for condo, you would have to build your own charging point AND pay rental for the lot / charging station (due to common area). not all condos will have this rule, but i would not be surprised if they have to look to standardize it once more and more people switch to EVs.

The amazing thing is, they continue to pull their underwear down also. :huh:

Hi boys, shit just got real.

https://www.techinasia.com/tesla-test-properly-conducted

Tesla: ‘We believe the test was likely not properly conducted’
tesla-model-s.png

Tesla Model S

Tesla issued a response today to Tech in Asia’s query on the huge difference between the energy efficiency of the used Tesla Model S when it was rolled out of the factory in 2014, and when a test was conducted by car inspection firm Vicom and Singapore’s Land Transport Authority (LTA).

The electric car company said: “We believe the test was likely not properly conducted, and we are working cooperatively with the LTA to test the car again.”

Tech in Asia has asked for an elaboration from Tesla on why it thinks the test was likely flawed.

The controversy started when IT professional Joe Nguyen tried to import his used Tesla Model S into Singapore and got his car tested in order to receive a electric vehicle rebate. Instead, he was taxed US$10,900 because his car didn’t meet the standards.

According to an LTA statement released yesterday, the car’s Certificate of Conformity stated that its consumption rating was 181 Wh/km. However, Vicom’s test put it at 444 Wh/km. This led observers to wonder what caused the huge difference in efficiency.

LTA then suggested that the discrepancy might have been caused by wear and tear. “The emissions and fuel efficiency of a used car, unlike a new car, can vary significantly depending on its prevailing condition, how it was previously driven and maintained,” it said.

Tech in Asia has reached out to LTA for comment.

For those who wants to know more about Tesla and other electric cars, there's a good documentary called "Revenge of the Electric Car"

Do catch it.

It is the battle between a small electric car manufacturer vs the government of a small nation. Who will win?

来啊来啊, 买大买小,买好离手。。。

This "show" is better than any movie of late. Not that I am anti-government, but they are pushing their luck too far this time... While most SIngporean will guai guai swallow whatever reasons provided, but now that the issue has been blown out of proportion and many eyes are on us, please stop shaming us, please.

Khaw-Boon-Wan-Tolong-e1372272938223.jpg

Edited by Carbon82

It is the battle between a small electric car manufacturer vs the government of a small nation. Who will win?

来啊来啊, 买大买小,买好离手。。。

This "show" is better than any movie of late. Not that I am anti-government, but they are pushing their luck too far this time...

Tesla market cap is half that of GM.....  

Not that small la.

来啊来啊, 买大买小,买好离手。。。

This "show" is better than any movie of late. Not that I am anti-government, but they are pushing their luck too far this time... While most SIngporean will guai guai swallow whatever reasons provided, but now that the issue has been blown out of proportion and many eyes are on us, please stop shaming us, please.

Normally Tesla won't be bothered with a market like ours. However, this issue has taken on a bigger proportion because our govt claimed that their cars are not efficient, which is against what the company is all about. This will make future customers in the big markets of Tesla cars wonder if they are buying a green product. This may potentially hurt Tesla's revenue.

If they can sue our govt, I bet they will.

a used Tesla S efficiency drop 145% like shit after 2 years ... siao liao ... who is going to buy Tesla

is Tesla cheating like VW? perhaps, Vicom crack the code of Tesla-gate? - must give credit to Vicom

i wonder how well a turbo diesel perform based on wear and tear and how driver cheong NSH - as LTA says

Tesla's entire reputation rests on this case. If LTA findings proved to be valid, then GG.

post-7984-0-29316200-1457688384_thumb.png

It really does not get any better than this. In the application of the carbon emissions penalty, if the approach was from a fuel efficiency point of view, LTA is essentially saying is that the electric motor vehicle is only as efficient as the most inefficient internal combustion engine vehicle. Furthermore the "standard" that they applied also does not look very standard, they are comparing used electric with spanking new internal combustion engine vehicles.

If the approach was from pollution by the vehicle i.e, direct CO2 emission from the vehicle (ignoring the pollution from source as it is common to all powergrid users in Singapore regardless the purpose and manner consumed), the vehicle has zero tailpipe emission.

What I had interpreted (I may be wrong) from LTA's explanation was that they had taken into account both components, mangle them up, apply a cofactor from some reference and wahlah! -> carbon emission! If this "magical formula" stands, they would have literally found the long sought after formula for turning sh*t (well, CO2 to be exact) into gold $$$! We'll become richer than the Saudis! No joke!  :want:

Cscbb: You are awesome. Really. So go ahead, don't belittle yourself and keep thinking that Nguyen is the only one who can import his own EV. You can do it too. Go get yourself the same EV and enjoy all the "unfair" benefits that you have claimed that Nguyen is enjoying. I promise that I will not say that you are being selfish or trying to be funny. And I'd reckon that even for your case, most bros here would still be of the view that the carbon emission penalty should not apply. Cheers! [thumbsup]

Taken from Straits Times, quoting LTA's statesment:

Electric cars are not carbon emissions free.  They may not produce emissions from the tailpipe like conventional cars, but they take electrical power from the national power grid which has to burn fuel to produce the electricity, and in the process produces carbon emissions.

So if this reasoning stands, then what is stopping the government from implementing Carbon Emission taxes to everything in the future?

Taken from Straits Times, quoting LTA's statesment:

Electric cars are not carbon emissions free. They may not produce emissions from the tailpipe like conventional cars, but they take electrical power from the national power grid which has to burn fuel to produce the electricity, and in the process produces carbon emissions.

So if this reasoning stands, then what is stopping the government from implementing Carbon Emission taxes to everything in the future?

Stop putting ideas of carbon emission tax other agencies heads. Skali happen I curse u Edited by BenTong

On a second thought, LTA is taking over Singapore Power?

Taxing on the product that another produce?

Darn! They are good! No need start up capital, no need investment, no need infrastructure.

Stop putting ideas of carbon emission tax other agencies heads. Skali happen I curse uððððð

yalor ... next time charge iPhone portable "battery bank" must also pay CO2 tax [sweatdrop]