Enye Hypersonic May 30, 2016 Share May 30, 2016 Some of us know 7 = enye 70k = enye 700k also = enye All numbers with 7 is enye Lolx this forum really has a strange and morbid fixation on the number 7 my creepy forum indeed ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic May 30, 2016 Share May 30, 2016 Enye, on 30 May 2016 - 09:22 AM, said: this forum really has a strange and morbid fixation on the number 7 my creepy forum indeed ya lor..thinking of 7 I wanna ki siao 7am go work 7pm reach home lunch budget aim $7/2 per day office swimming pool only 0.7+0.2m "deep" how to swim...worst..no gals there swimming? my current n previous cars have number 7 on plate 1 week 7 days thinking why 7 always surrounding me ...cant forget 7 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic June 4, 2016 Share June 4, 2016 hmmmm 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doppel Turbocharged June 4, 2016 Share June 4, 2016 hmmmm 13344569_10154719346426840_707826685437919991_n.jpg That is incorrect: Cancelling two zeros (10 - 10) is not allowed. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 https://theindependent.sg/yet-another-primary-school-maths-question-stumps-netizens/ Another primary school math question has left netizens puzzled, sparking a debate on social media about the correct order of solving sums and the importance of quantifiers in mathematical equations. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 (edited) On 5/18/2023 at 12:47 PM, Kopites said: https://theindependent.sg/yet-another-primary-school-maths-question-stumps-netizens/ Another primary school math question has left netizens puzzled, sparking a debate on social media about the correct order of solving sums and the importance of quantifiers in mathematical equations. actually this is quite basic stuff. p1 term 3-4 should already know. I admit i often get mixed up with this in the past but after my kid went to p1. It's quite fundamental to being precise. Not sure what the fuss is about. The acronymn is GET. Group x Each = Total 5 x 8 implies 5 families of 8 kg each. https://www.quora.com/How-can-you-explain-the-difference-between-4-3-and-3-4-to-grade-4-learners If i mark my own kid, sure give zero lol. Edited May 18, 2023 by Lala81 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 Turboflat4 will yawn at this one...where is he btw? 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 A monkey gets 3 bananas in the morning and 4 bananas at night. He not happy and complain to owner So the owner agreed to give him 4 bananas in the morning and 3 at night. Teachers are monkeys because they are ONLY happy with the second one and the first one is no good to them! If you cannot do - teach! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 Ya, X is call 'times' in ang mo, so this is how i see it. 5 times 8 means 8 occurs five times. (8,8,8,8,8) = 40 8 times 5 means 5 occurs 8 times.(5,5,5,5,5,5,5,5)= 40 But when writing math equation they are the same. i.e. 5 x 8 = 8 x 5 like wise x.y=y.x 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 The teacher marked the kid wrong because he answered without stating the "kg" unit. Nothing new. 60 years ago, my maths teacher also marked my correct answer wrong for the same reason. Kerna called up and then told "if you don't put units then the answer is what? Durians?". I carried the lesson all my life and always put down units. Back to this question. Without the units, if the kid had answered as 40,000. Then when marked wrong, kid will say is 40,000 grams or 40kg. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 (edited) For completeness the kid should have written 5 kg x 8 = 40 kg A bit hard for even the most pedantic teacher to mark wrong! Unless the teacher see the model answer as 8 x 5 = 40 kg and thought that's not the same as 5 x 8 = 40 kg Some teachers know less than kids! I has so many examples where teachers were wrong but didn't admit it and insist they were right. And people wonder why an idiot on the road is wrong and still want to argue its not their fault, its yours! They learn from teachers lah! Face more important right? Edited May 18, 2023 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 12:54 PM, Lala81 said: actually this is quite basic stuff. p1 term 3-4 should already know. I admit i often get mixed up with this in the past but after my kid went to p1. It's quite fundamental to being precise. Not sure what the fuss is about. The acronymn is GET. Group x Each = Total 5 x 8 implies 5 families of 8 kg each. https://www.quora.com/How-can-you-explain-the-difference-between-4-3-and-3-4-to-grade-4-learners If i mark my own kid, sure give zero lol. Teacher marked my son correct. 🤔 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 1:19 PM, serenade said: The teacher marked the kid wrong because he answered without stating the "kg" unit. Nothing new. 60 years ago, my maths teacher also marked my correct answer wrong for the same reason. Kerna called up and then told "if you don't put units then the answer is what? Durians?". I carried the lesson all my life and always put down units. Back to this question. Without the units, if the kid had answered as 40,000. Then when marked wrong, kid will say is 40,000 grams or 40kg. Lala overthink lah. 😁 My son got it right with kg in his answer. Nothing to do with group and mulitper. Primary 3 only!😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 (edited) On 5/18/2023 at 1:25 PM, Kopites said: Lala overthink lah. 😁 My son got it right with kg in his answer. Nothing to do with group and mulitper. Primary 3 only!😁 Err... this is in all their basic textbooks from primary 1 onwards. In fact the very first lesson on multiplication, u should already see all the picture diagrams. Order matters. It starts with basic stuff like this. A 3*2 matrix is not the same as 2*3 matrix. I know white cat, black cat both can catch the mouse. But these are just basic habits to build for later more advanced stuff. If the working didn't matter, then it will just be a open ended answer. And maybe get full mark or half mark. No units at the answer also definitely will get minus mark. Honestly this kinda marking is nothing compared to Science short answer questions marking. Edited May 18, 2023 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 You guys actually attempted to answer the question...i tink I'd have more than a math problem if I ever attempt to answer it...i must be siao to try find out the answer of a math question when my kids have no interest to find out themselves...i hail the tutors...tutors hail my money...😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 I paid lots to tutors. Tutor's money is hard earned. They have to teach boring subjects to uninterested kids yet still be nice and smiley. Day and night. Don't know how come my kids come to tuition time got so much urine and poo. In 90 minutes Chinese tuition, can pee 3X and poo. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 12:47 PM, Kopites said: https://theindependent.sg/yet-another-primary-school-maths-question-stumps-netizens/ Another primary school math question has left netizens puzzled, sparking a debate on social media about the correct order of solving sums and the importance of quantifiers in mathematical equations. Thats how I got stuck in Preambree Tree....... ......tok 'bout it in real life scenario 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 The only time that a x b is not equal to b x a is if a and b are vectors and "x" is the vector cross operation ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...