Enye Hypersonic August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 Yah, suddenly u feel that there is no housing bubble at all. Everything is still affordable. i think i'll buy 2 condos tomorrow aim to pay off in 30 years ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Animian Clutched August 6, 2013 Author Share August 6, 2013 I have a different strategy. Since HDB loan is pegged at CPF OA interest rate +0.1%, I keep all the money in OA and wait for suitable time to pick up some shares. The opportunity cost is 0.1% only. Depending on your loan size, it is ~$100-400 per year. there are 2 way to see it 1) if one is confident investment with return more than enuff to cover interest then no issue else 2) better pay off whatever ... to incur less interest lor for lousy investors like us ... buy what blue chip and price will go down and nearly heartache ...think better to clear the loan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 I have a different strategy. Since HDB loan is pegged at CPF OA interest rate +0.1%, I keep all the money in OA and wait for suitable time to pick up some shares. The opportunity cost is 0.1% only. Depending on your loan size, it is ~$100-400 per year. I agree with your view since cpf % is same as hdb might as well But my 2 nd one can't take loan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Animian Clutched August 6, 2013 Author Share August 6, 2013 I agree with your view since cpf % is same as hdb might as well But my 2 nd one can't take loan you haben reached min sum har ? that;s why cannot take cpf loan for 2nd property ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 I think HDB/URA is doing a pretty good job of estate planning. Just that overall numbers are challenging ... ya agree, the problem is really too many too fast... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 I have a different strategy. Since HDB loan is pegged at CPF OA interest rate +0.1%, I keep all the money in OA and wait for suitable time to pick up some shares. The opportunity cost is 0.1% only. Depending on your loan size, it is ~$100-400 per year. but if u use it to buy shares, your opp cost is no longer 0.1% as the amount is out of your CPF and not earning the OA interest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 but if u use it to buy shares, your opp cost is no longer 0.1% as the amount is out of your CPF and not earning the OA interest. it become 2.4% because you loan from it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Animian Clutched August 6, 2013 Author Share August 6, 2013 it become 2.4% because you loan from it then might as well pay loan lolz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 you haben reached min sum har ? that;s why cannot take cpf loan for 2nd property ? There's a rule that half of the profit from my current has to go to new flat so with cpf oreadi covered the full sum of next flat Still tot can see some cash if can take loan again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Animian Clutched August 6, 2013 Author Share August 6, 2013 There's a rule that half of the profit from my current has to go to new flat so with cpf oreadi covered the full sum of next flat Still tot can see some cash if can take loan again wah got such rule Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 There's a rule that half of the profit from my current has to go to new flat so with cpf oreadi covered the full sum of next flat Still tot can see some cash if can take loan again that is if you take CPF loan IIRC. Take bank loan dun need. check with your fav agent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 wah 300k EA pay off in less than 5 yrs 1 million condo pay off in less than 15 yrs very affordable 300k to pay off in 5 yrs is not difficult.. most pple will have a sizeable amount CPF to start with Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 300k to pay off in 5 yrs is not difficult.. most pple will have a sizeable amount CPF to start with That's the problem! CPF is meant mainly for retirement, but somehow along the way, people minds get muddled and start exploring ways to utilise it and justify the sky high prices of subsidised housing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 that is if you take CPF loan IIRC. Take bank loan dun need. check with your fav agent That's wat the hdb gal told me half the profit must go into nex flat But if it's only apply to hdb loan then I will talk to a bank loan when nearer Tks But if jus pay with profit n cpf then no loan oso ok as I see still will get some balance cash Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 That's the problem! CPF is meant mainly for retirement, but somehow along the way, people minds get muddled and start exploring ways to utilise it and justify the sky high prices of subsidised housing. tats why get a small flat and clear off fast then can start to save up on CPF again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 it become 2.4% because you loan from it haha no la...its 2.6%. means u loan 2.6% to buy shares. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 300k to pay off in 5 yrs is not difficult.. most pple will have a sizeable amount CPF to start with Am I missing something? Assuming one couple start working at 25, CPF starts from zero. Assuming max CPF contribution from day 1, the max CPF contribution to OA is $2K/mth. To pay off 300K loan without using cash, the couple have to work 150 months, or equal to 12.5 yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 6, 2013 Share August 6, 2013 tats why get a small flat and clear off fast then can start to save up on CPF again but many people are paranoid that they will not be able to use their hard earned money. Plonking it in housing is the next natural step most people will do. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...