Maths problem

Sosaria

because, Bernard says he now know.

Meaning, cannot be May as May still has 2 dates.

Err... U yeah I understand already a few post later.

A only knows the month and B knows the day.

So if A says he is very sure B does not know the BD too. meaning ,

If the BD is other date in May or June, A cannot say he is Very Sure B does not know. (he can only say Maybe B will know. which is not the case here)

Since there is unique date in May and June , A cannot be 100% sure B Does not know too. The fact he is very Sure , means it is not within those 2 months lor

This way can liao kai bo ?

If still cannot ... I give you this ....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18xXPnlnb2I

I trawled the net for explanations, and found one with a simple logic jump for my own understanding.

Case point - Albert was able to make the inference " Bernard did not know(have) the answer" because the correct month Cindy told Albert, did not have a unique date.

Hence May and June with unique dates( which meant possible instant answer for Bernard otherwise) were eliminated straight away.

Neither Albert nor Bernard had a discussion before hand, and Cindy told neither party, they did not have the complete answer, which many had tried to assume

Edited by Sturtles

I trawled the net for explanations, and found one with a simple logic jump for my own understanding.

Case point - Albert was able to make the inference " Bernard did not know(have) the answer" because the correct month Cindy told Albert, did not have a unique date.

Hence May and June with unique dates( which meant possible instant answer for Bernard otherwise) were eliminated straight away.

Neither Albert nor Bernard had a discussion before hand, and Cindy told neither party, they did not have the complete answer, which many had tried to assume

ya something like that ,... here give you a PSLE Cert

After A n B narrow down to July , Aug .... B can identify the BD since he got the day. hence he said he now know.

the reason we can narrow down the answer is bec of the last hint ... but how the last hint can be possible .....

Those questions are meant for Mathematician la. Something simpler for car enthusiasts here...

Either 6 or R.

Those questions are meant for Mathematician la. Something simpler for car enthusiasts here...

Sorry, I drive auto, don't know how to solve.

Student Cheryl Tan, 18, is suing Raffles Girls' School. She says her former school failed to protect her from getting bullied and she was forced to study overseas. str.sg/33H

She wants the school to pay not just for her pain and suffering, but also the $220,000 it cost to continue her studies at the prestigious Wells Cathedral School in England.

Not a math question but I believe we have found Cheryl! Can ask her when her birthday is now [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Student Cheryl Tan, 18, is suing Raffles Girls' School. She says her former school failed to protect her from getting bullied and she was forced to study overseas. str.sg/33H

She wants the school to pay not just for her pain and suffering, but also the $220,000 it cost to continue her studies at the prestigious Wells Cathedral School in England.

Not a math question but I believe we have found Cheryl! Can ask her when her birthday is now [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

she should have sued the school for revealing her birthday instead.....much easier to win as the whole world now knows her birthday......😂😂😂

One group uses only one material. The other group uses two or more material.

wah... i dunno the correct answer

but i think you may be right

Look like IQ test to me ........ what a kettle got to do with a mobile phone ?

science question

original.jpg

Spoiler:

It's a lot like that stupid "petals around the rose" or "polar bears around an ice hole" puzzle.

original.jpg

大哥.... its friday la... can don't stress out our brain please?? [bigcry]

still hurting from ur last qn... [:p]

damn... 欠扁 qn... [mad]

Edited by SuPerBoRed

大哥.... its friday la... can don't stress out our brain please?? [bigcry]

still hurting from ur last qn... [:p]

damn... 欠扁 qn... [mad]

This is for kids lah. Smart people like you very hard to answer [laugh] [laugh]

Can someone solve this P5 question?

attachicon.gif10402935_385751114937109_7956840234831081160_n.jpg

This is a bad, bad question. Firstly, the English gave me cancer. Not to sound jiak-kantang, but it's written in a "typically" Chinese-educated English style with the wrong tenses, etc. For a question where so much hinges on a proper interpretation, this is very unfortunate.

Related to that, the word choices are poor. The word "know" is highly ambiguous because knowledge, in general use, can mean all sorts of things, including someone having "illicit" or secret knowledge that he/she is not supposed to be privy to, or simply a near-certainty gained by reading someone's expression. At any rate, it is possible to make the puzzle statement "watertight" by posing it thus:

"Cheryl is a real mischievous minx with a 200IQ. Albert and Bernard, both of whom are extremely intelligent themselves, and (you can assume) logically infallible, want to get 'fresh' with her but she decides to play coy and test their logical powers with a fiendish test. Cheryl's quite a slut and not into the whole exclusivity thing, so she wants both boys together (or not at all), but only if they both "measure up", so to speak (and she's less interested in trouser-snake size than brain pan size). So she devises the following test:

She first gives them both a list of ten possible dates for her birthday, assuring them (truthfully) that her birthday does indeed fall on exactly one of those days. She sets them the challenge that she will only consent to go out with them if they *both* get the answer as quickly as possible, using only definite logical deductions and absolutely no guesswork. If either of them is in a position to logically deduce the answer before the other and blurts it out, both lose out. So it is to the boys' advantage to be be certain that both know the answer without actually mentioning it as soon as they know (Cheryl will check that the boys have the right answers separately). The boys are allowed to make single declarative statements about the state of their own knowledge and what they can deduce about what the other knows, but without actually mentioning any specific months or days, because that would disqualify them both. Every statement must be logically indisputable (and Cheryl would know, having a 200IQ) or both would be disqualified.

(LIST)

She then separates the boys into two opaque soundproof rooms (so neither boy can see the other, nor hear what he says unless that mike happens to be turned on) which have microphones that only Cheryl can toggle on and off. She first goes into Albert's room and tells him only the month (such as "January", just for instance) of her birthday, feels up his crotch (hey, she may be a genius, but she's still a lusty lass) and leaves. She then enters Bernard's room and tells him only the numerical day of the month (such as "12th of the month", just for instance) of her birthday, does the same with his crotch and leaves.

She now instructs the two boys through a common one-way PA system that she will toggle the microphones in turn. Albert will speak first, then Bernard, then finally Albert again.

So Albert says: "I cannot say for certain what Chery's birthday is, but I can say for certain that there is no way Bernard can be sure, either."

And Bernard replies: "Before your statement, I couldn't be sure, but after your statement, I am now sure of Cheryl's birthday!"

And Albert rejoins: "Now that you've told me that, I too am sure of her birthday!"

And they both got it right! And I won't go into any further details in a PG-rated puzzle, Albert, Bernard and Cheryl all had the biggest smiles the next morning.

Question: What is Cheryl's birthday?