KIA K3 Owners check-in!

TTT

Song Yi & Min Ghee are reputable Kia & Hyundai stockists amongst other brands... they have been around for years... I used their parts at Komoco during my 5000 or 10,000 km servicing for the previous Elantra and also at Motorimage for my Impreza... if they really do this, you think Komoco won't take action against them? The reality is that there are many companies that bring in parts for the authorised dealers. In fact, these are the ones who are the authorised spare parts dealers in Singapore... you can look up their websites... in fact Sgcarmart or Mycarforum has a list of companies that stock genuine car parts for most brands... you've got to get the facts right bro... you've quite obviously never bought parts from a stockist before... I have had the opportunity to compare the new part from Komoco and the new part from the stockist... same weight - it was an oil filter. The weight indicates how dense the filter element is. Cheap knockoffs are much lighter as they use much less dense elements as the filter.

And my mechanic who has been in the business all his life has never said anything about knockoffs... he knows the trade and my dad has used him for years... he's always buying parts for our cars from stockists... his own dealers whom he knows lar...

I didn't mentioned it's Song Yi and Min Ghee. I always buy parts from Min Ghee. Back to the point of servicing at 3rd party workshops. So u have to ensure that they take parts from Min Ghee, but I can tell u seldom workshops take parts from Min Ghee as they are costly.

To each his own lar...you type a thousand words and he will tell you stockist sell fake parts. I ask him to name that stockist. Usually these type of people just hearsay and come here talk big give wrong info

Good. Dun give in to komoco when they tell you to overhaul engine in 4 years time

Haha even if I named do u know how to inspect the parts? Listeners can choose not to believe and go according to what u think is right. Info just for sharing and I don't think it's necessary to provide references to what I said.

some shots from today's small gathering

26684700521_3f5f5535f8_h.jpg

Beri nice background, which carpark?

26478855560_68c6316865_h.jpg

26147900583_86a958aa56_h.jpg

26684694821_c5c97d2a0b_h.jpg

Can I join on the next Gathering ?? [:p]

26478855560_68c6316865_h.jpg

26147900583_86a958aa56_h.jpg

26684694821_c5c97d2a0b_h.jpg

Kias (C&C) free servicing package Bo bar Kay one.

Unlike tan chong.

For C&C. Have to pay for a lot of small extras. Like tire rotation etc.

Agree. I used the 1K servicing credit to buy a servicing package. End up even with the package, still have quite a few misc charges that can add up to quite bit. Felt cheated.

Other than that their servicing is quite good but not perfect. My car was affected by sparkplug problem from their servicing sparkplug change. And they couldn't pinpoint the issue for such a long time .... zzzz... 

Beri nice background, which carpark?

hi! its just the stretch of road in between the floating platform and the esplanade. not really a carpark although there are many cars there haha

Can I join on the next Gathering ?? [:p]

sure! there is a SGK3 group on facebook, you can search for that and next time we arrange for a gathering we will probably post there.

Brilliant shots! Fierce

join us next time!

Bro coolpica, bring your own parts lor... they're usually ok with that mah.. saves them time to buy the parts too.

I didn't want to go to outside workshops. Just try to share that some workshops don't use original parts. I ever brought my own O2 sensor and end up workshop charged $80 for labour. They didn't managed to earn from the parts and therefore marked up on labour charges.

Definitely lar... some workshops try to help you save money... some try to ketok you... in any case, caveat emptor...

Agree. I used the 1K servicing credit to buy a servicing package. End up even with the package, still have quite a few misc charges that can add up to quite bit. Felt cheated.

Other than that their servicing is quite good but not perfect. My car was affected by sparkplug problem from their servicing sparkplug change. And they couldn't pinpoint the issue for such a long time .... zzzz... 

Hi Salsa, can briefly advise what extra charges are those and roughly how much u paid in the end? 

And do they charge u during every visit?

Hi Salsa, can briefly advise what extra charges are those and roughly how much u paid in the end?

And do they charge u during every visit?

I believed should be charged for air filters, aircon filters, spark plugs, tyre rotation etc.

hi! its just the stretch of road in between the floating platform and the esplanade. not really a carpark although there are many cars there haha

sure! there is a SGK3 group on facebook, you can search for that and next time we arrange for a gathering we will probably post there.

join us next time!

Found it. Pending !! [bounce2]  haha..

If customer bring the parts and get the workshop to replace, workshop will charge hefty labour as they don't earn from the spare parts.

Normally, workshop will get a discount from eg 10 to 20% off the retail price from stockist.

It is like you go to hawker centre and pass the hawker your egg and kway tiao for them to cook for you.

Most of the workshop that i know of don't like customer to brings parts to them for servicing.

Found it. Pending !! [bounce2]  haha..

Hi guys! Have just gotten my K3 EX and am loving it so far.

Regarding the Singapore K3 FB group, i'm not too sure if i found the correct one because there's hasn't been any active posting but more of adverts. any bros here care to share the group page?

Also, any official K3 whatsapp group? [laugh]

Edited by nexgen

If customer bring the parts and get the workshop to replace, workshop will charge hefty labour as they don't earn from the spare parts.

Normally, workshop will get a discount from eg 10 to 20% off the retail price from stockist.

It is like you go to hawker centre and pass the hawker your egg and kway tiao for them to cook for you.

Most of the workshop that i know of don't like customer to brings parts to them for servicing.

Depends.. some workshop sells the parts much more expensive than getting from stockists.

You can always ask workshop to quote labour only vs parts + labour and compare the price between everything from workshop vs bringing ur own parts.

Usually if price difference not big can just get from workshop, else i usually get my own parts.

Depends.. some workshop sells the parts much more expensive than getting from stockists.

You can always ask workshop to quote labour only vs parts + labour and compare the price between everything from workshop vs bringing ur own parts.

Usually if price difference not big can just get from workshop, else i usually get my own parts.

I agree with you. Some workshop do not have crazy markups and makes no sense to save abit for all the trouble.

If you stick to a regular workshop and buy kopi for them sometimes you will be surprise how nice they can be.

I agree with you. Some workshop do not have crazy markups and makes no sense to save abit for all the trouble.

If you stick to a regular workshop and buy kopi for them sometimes you will be surprise how nice they can be.

Ya bro. The workshop I always go gave me free labour for parts replacements, wheel alignments , tyre rotations.

Ordered a set of premium grade 1500gms carpet car mats and just collected it. The entire car feel is so different with the lush carpets, feeling like in a 5 star hotel compared to the stock very thin low quality car mats that came with the car.

By the way, where do u guys wash your car? Own self wash or petrol kiosk wash? My car is black and worried might get swirl marks of washed at petrol kiosks. Getting tired of washing myself.