Kwoni 1st Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 (edited) Your response says that COE system give the advantage to dealers and that is exactly what I said all along. The COE system already limits the maximum number of cars allowed to be registered yearly. If the way it is implemented can be change to have a more level playing field between buyers and sellers, it will be a better system. Improvements is possible but don't expect it to be lobbied by the dealers sine they have the advantage currently. It can only happen if buyers demand it. As a buyer of coz i hate the COE system..why impose COE..why make life difficult for me... But look at it this way..SG is so small..if we dun restrict and make it harder to buy cars, there is no point buying cars coz you will be stucked in traffic jam everyday due to overpopulation of cars...try driving in KL or Jakarta.. Bigger countries have no such problems..how to compare.. And now we have dealers trying to work around systems to dig the most out of consumers for their own profits...these are the parties that cause the "problems".. If like u say there is a better system to make everybody happy without over increasing the vehicle population, we would gladly hear it...currently i find the COE system pretty objective and transparent... we see what we bid...its the dealers who plays the game to their own benefits...not to forget..COE prices determined by bidders..not the system... Edited April 28, 2016 by Kwoni ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwoni 1st Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 Thanks Bro Kwoni, I quite like the rim myself but scared will not get a good price later when i decided to change, but thinking the difference would not be too much since its not a sort after rim. Agree on refreshing 1-2 years later for a CNY new look would be good!! LOL But the tyres gotta change man... LOL I think the price difference shouldn't change much now and 1-2yrs later since its already used. If u love it, just keep and change the tyres.. change only when u really found something u like... make the best out of your bucks...after all what we want is to feel good and have a good ride when we are behind the wheels. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Workwork Neutral Newbie April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 As a buyer of coz i hate the COE system..why impose COE..why make life difficult for me... But look at it this way..SG is so small..if we dun restrict and make it harder to buy cars, there is no point buying cars coz you will be stucked in traffic jam everyday due to overpopulation of cars...try driving in KL or Jakarta.. Bigger countries have no such problems..how to compare.. And now we have dealers trying to work around systems to dig the most out of consumers for their own profits...these are the parties that cause the "problems".. If like u say there is a better system to make everybody happy without over increasing the vehicle population, we would gladly hear it...currently i find the COE system pretty objective and transparent... we see what we bid...its the dealers who plays the game to their own benefits...not to forget..COE prices determined by bidders..not the system... Agree Dealers open business of course try all means to make more profit. After all they are not charity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 Agree Dealers open business of course try all means to make more profit. After all they are not charity. Ya...seems strange to moan about dealers making more money. Isn't all biz set up to maximise profits? Now we should talk about k3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 I don't think dealer bidding for COE makes a huge difference. They are more rational and set their pricing based on what they think COE will be. You leave it up to individuals, what is stopping the rich guys from whacking 100k reserve price when they want to change car? Also, when your dealer bid say 40k for you and COE became 42k 5 minutes before closing, they won't change your bid anymore as they have already calculated the profit margins. Leave it up to individuals and it's likely you simply login to up your bid by another 3k to secure the COE. Many other people will do the same thing and end up the COE will increase even higher. For such bidding process, you may think individual bidding is better, but in actual fact it will create more chaos in the market. It is best to leave it to the smaller number of rational, biz minded dealers to do the bidding based on cold hard figures and margins. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 Thanks for the reply bro. Its considered used even changed on the first day? How good are the KIA 17" alloy rims as compared to Taiwan/replica rims? If its more better to stay withe the Kia rims I might just change the NEXEN with better tyres. Yes, even just one day also considered used. I ever asked for my Subaru Impreza original factory rims before. These were real proper alloy rims, the tire shop guys told me good, don't change, not worth, what they have costs several thousand dollars to fit to have equivalent quality, so I kept them in the end. Keep your rims. If it's factory fitted, it's good quality. If it's not, then maybe your third party rims are better. In all honesty, unless your rims cost $1000 a piece or so, are forged alloys, those so called alloy rims that are cheaper are just cosmetic... The Nexen tires are decent lar... just a bit noisy I guess... I would just keep them for maybe 30,000 km and then change them lor... why waste... Any bros please advice on the default Tyre size for SX, is it 215/45R17? Dude, whatever your car comes with is the default size. If you're driving the SX, you will already be on 17 inch rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 The COE system - the way it is implemented, allowing dealers to bid for us by proxy - does allow the dealers to profiteer. It's quite easy to see the profiteering... I call it that... but of course it's just business... If you take the Kia Forte K3, current model, current trim and equipment levels, and then compare from last year to this year when the COE is super high to now COE stabilize around $45,000+, and then check SGcarmart for the base price of the car (OMV + ARF) and see the margin - you'll see that the margin gets smaller as the COE drops... Note that the cost of the car to the dealer (factoring currency fluctuations) does not vary too much, so the OMV & ARF is about the same for the same trim level and feature set. So this % margin that SGcarmart calculates is basically the profit earned by the dealer. You see that this just changes as the COE fluctuates. The margin should not change if only the COE value changes right? So why does the margin change? It's quite clear that they profiteer... Ok, the other perspective is this... from the dealer - as COE climbs sky high, there's less certainty of getting the COE since it keeps rising. So to ensure that they can get their COEs, they build a wider margin of profit and bid higher than the last time to get the COE. Furthermore, they need to pad each sale with a wider profit of margin when COE value is high cos volume of sales will drop drastically - there are basically fewer COEs to go around... So whether you think it's profiteering or there's good reason, the COE system as implemented now creates a level of uncertainty which gives rise to a lot suspicion and finger pointing lar... Some people have called for the COE value to be decoupled from the price of the car. This won't solve the problem cos the dealers will simply mark up their car price higher (without COE) to build their margin to get the COEs. Brand marques have greater freedom to mark up higher and hence only expensive cars will get COEs any way you cut it. Some have called for buyers to bid for their own COEs. This is also not feasible. It's quite troublesome and time-consuming. You need the $10,000 deposit to bid. Then you need to have internet banking (some are not savvy with this). And finally you have to activate processes to pay the whole sum in cash. What will happen is that other companies will spring up and just help you to bid for the COE on your behalf. And a whole new cottage industry will spring up and you replace one problem with another... So in other words, it discourages you from buying a car... that's the objective no??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coolbluepica 2nd Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 Having a Dilemma here. 1) Should I change the 17" Alloy Kia Rims & tyres ORrrrrr ..... 2) Keep the Alloy Rims and just change the Nexen tyres to a better one? I think can keep the Kia rims since it's nice and new rims very ex if you get good ones. No point getting cheap rims and it does not bring up the car well. Just change the tyres to a good set. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coolbluepica 2nd Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 It make sense. The more disadvantageous it is for consumers, the more effective the coe system is working. Dont forget coe is there to deter ppl from buying car. And it is effective now because you are thinking more before buying. Moving on, gr100 225/45r17 can fit on k3 17inch rims? Can fit. I'm using CSC5 , 225/45/17. The COE system - the way it is implemented, allowing dealers to bid for us by proxy - does allow the dealers to profiteer. It's quite easy to see the profiteering... I call it that... but of course it's just business... If you take the Kia Forte K3, current model, current trim and equipment levels, and then compare from last year to this year when the COE is super high to now COE stabilize around $45,000+, and then check SGcarmart for the base price of the car (OMV + ARF) and see the margin - you'll see that the margin gets smaller as the COE drops... Note that the cost of the car to the dealer (factoring currency fluctuations) does not vary too much, so the OMV & ARF is about the same for the same trim level and feature set. So this % margin that SGcarmart calculates is basically the profit earned by the dealer. You see that this just changes as the COE fluctuates. The margin should not change if only the COE value changes right? So why does the margin change? It's quite clear that they profiteer... Ok, the other perspective is this... from the dealer - as COE climbs sky high, there's less certainty of getting the COE since it keeps rising. So to ensure that they can get their COEs, they build a wider margin of profit and bid higher than the last time to get the COE. Furthermore, they need to pad each sale with a wider profit of margin when COE value is high cos volume of sales will drop drastically - there are basically fewer COEs to go around... So whether you think it's profiteering or there's good reason, the COE system as implemented now creates a level of uncertainty which gives rise to a lot suspicion and finger pointing lar... Some people have called for the COE value to be decoupled from the price of the car. This won't solve the problem cos the dealers will simply mark up their car price higher (without COE) to build their margin to get the COEs. Brand marques have greater freedom to mark up higher and hence only expensive cars will get COEs any way you cut it. Some have called for buyers to bid for their own COEs. This is also not feasible. It's quite troublesome and time-consuming. You need the $10,000 deposit to bid. Then you need to have internet banking (some are not savvy with this). And finally you have to activate processes to pay the whole sum in cash. What will happen is that other companies will spring up and just help you to bid for the COE on your behalf. And a whole new cottage industry will spring up and you replace one problem with another... So in other words, it discourages you from buying a car... that's the objective no??? Can please discuss back on the car K3 here... You may set up a new thread called COE. The thing is you are living in Singapore and just have to accept the Coe system. Just buy it if you have money, if not don't buy. Or migrate to another country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BullsEye 1st Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 Can fit. I'm using CSC5 , 225/45/17. Can please discuss back on the car K3 here... You may set up a new thread called COE. The thing is you are living in Singapore and just have to accept the Coe system. Just buy it if you have money, if not don't buy. Or migrate to another country. Haha. Ya set a new COE thread. Why think so much. Got more issue to worry like $400 HDB parking in future i read on news yesterday. What's on these people mind nowadays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coolbluepica 2nd Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 Haha. Ya set a new COE thread. Why think so much. Got more issue to worry like $400 HDB parking in future i read on news yesterday. What's on these people mind nowadays. What $400 HDB parking bro? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BullsEye 1st Gear April 28, 2016 Share April 28, 2016 What $400 HDB parking bro? http://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/1200-for-cbd-parking-400-for-hdb-will-you-still-drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear April 29, 2016 Share April 29, 2016 http://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/1200-for-cbd-parking-400-for-hdb-will-you-still-drive Writer tok cok la... compare overseas country to SG.. SG is whole country a city lo.. London Tokyo USA Mel all got surburbs where people stay in.. they dun stay in CBD n thus no need pay the high city parking.. my colleague stay in Mel , take train to & from work, but able to afford 2 cars for the family as all over non-city areas the car parking is free, car price is 1/5 SG price and petrol is cheaper..... In SG, even our living area carpark is priced at city parking rates? Where is the logic??? Only to control the car population? There are other ways to control the car numbers, see if the govt dare to use or not la.... votes vs cars..... In SG, petrol already heavily taxed, road usage taxed, car price already taxed sky high, what else to tax? left car park only lo.... Squeeze n Squeeze... that's all pay and pay only knows how to control.... Moving on, gr100 225/45r17 can fit on k3 17inch rims? Can. I'm using this same size & tyre on my K3... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear April 29, 2016 Share April 29, 2016 Year 2020 will see the roll out of the next gen ERP system. Its supposed to lighten your wallet further Writer tok cok la... compare overseas country to SG.. SG is whole country a city lo.. London Tokyo USA Mel all got surburbs where people stay in.. they dun stay in CBD n thus no need pay the high city parking.. my colleague stay in Mel , take train to & from work, but able to afford 2 cars for the family as all over non-city areas the car parking is free, car price is 1/5 SG price and petrol is cheaper..... In SG, even our living area carpark is priced at city parking rates? Where is the logic??? Only to control the car population? There are other ways to control the car numbers, see if the govt dare to use or not la.... votes vs cars..... In SG, petrol already heavily taxed, road usage taxed, car price already taxed sky high, what else to tax? left car park only lo.... Squeeze n Squeeze... that's all pay and pay only knows how to control.... Can. I'm using this same size & tyre on my K3... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear April 29, 2016 Share April 29, 2016 Year 2020 will see the roll out of the next gen ERP system. Its supposed to lighten your wallet further Waiting to see if they will charge once the car moves or only upon entering selected areas only, like right now.... Then how do they take pics of the cars without cash card if entering ERP areas? Satellite pic or still have gantry cameras? Hmmm... But nothing to stop them from doing the former, if they want... Seems more like going in this direction... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
niftynicholas Neutral Newbie April 29, 2016 Share April 29, 2016 Anyone has got problem too? I am unable to access my GPS anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blublak 3rd Gear April 29, 2016 Share April 29, 2016 Any bros please advice on the default Tyre size for SX, is it 215/45R17? yeah...you are right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear April 29, 2016 Share April 29, 2016 (edited) Anyone has got problem too? I am unable to access my GPS anymore. Seems like map licence expired? Call your SE lo.. Edited April 29, 2016 by Lurpsexx ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...