KIA K3 Owners check-in!

TTT

1500gsm??? That's really heavy leh...

I wash myself. My dad has a way of washing the car that uses very little water and can be done in 15 min. Just get a medium pail. Fill with water. Pour out water to a smaller pail until about full. Add a bit of car wash detergent. Soak in your towel, it will foam up a bit, squeeze most of the water out. Just use the wet towel (not sopping wet) to wipe through your car. The detergent will take care of stains. It's very effective. Rinse out your cloth frequently. Once the whole car is covered, wash out the cloth thoroughly and squeeze it really dry. Wipe off the water and foam on your car. Dry off the car basically. Voila! The car is shiny and smooth and very clean. And you've used only about 5 L of water. Use the same water to wash the wheels using another piece of cloth. The tires will still be dry, and you bad apply tire blacking polish to make it shine.

This way don't need to use so much water to wash the car and is less tiring cos nu don't have to wipe through the car so many times. Finally use the clean water in the first pail to wash out the cloths that you used. Then use the cloths to dry off both the pails. I leave the smaller pail in the car. Drying it properly ensures your boot isn't damp.

The car wash detergent has a polishing effect and a silicone deposit that keeps the paintwork shiny and smooth. I prefer to use Autoglym's car wash. It's super expensive but super effective. And cos you use only a bit each time it really lasts a very long time.

For a smaller car, I could use a 2 L bottle of water to wash out the whole car including the wheels.

Hope this helps.

Edited by teomingern

I wash myself. My dad has a way of washing the car that uses very little water and can be done in 15 min. Just get a medium pail. Fill with water. Pour out water to a smaller pail until about full. Add a bit of car wash detergent. Soak in your towel, it will foam up a bit, squeeze most of the water out. Just use the wet towel (not sopping wet) to wipe through your car. The detergent will take care of stains. It's very effective. Rinse out your cloth frequently. Once the whole car is covered, wash out the cloth thoroughly and squeeze it really dry. Wipe off the water and foam on your car. Dry off the car basically. Voila! The car is shiny and smooth and very clean. And you've used only about 5 L of water. Use the same water to wash the wheels using another piece of cloth. The tires will still be dry, and you bad apply tire blacking polish to make it shine.

This way don't need to use so much water to wash the car and is less tiring cos nu don't have to wipe through the car so many times. Finally use the clean water in the first pail to wash out the cloths that you used. Then use the cloths to dry off both the pails. I leave the smaller pail in the car. Drying it properly ensures your boot isn't damp.

The car wash detergent has a polishing effect and a silicone deposit that keeps the paintwork shiny and smooth. I prefer to use Autoglym's car wash. It's super expensive but super effective. And cos you use only a bit each time it really lasts a very long time.

For a smaller car, I could use a 2 L bottle of water to wash out the whole car including the wheels.

Hope this helps.

I do PPS. Then every week, uses 2 liter bottle for water, pour half into a small pail, then use microfiber cloth to clean the car. Do it second round with the other half bottle. No shampoo used.

Ya bro. The workshop I always go gave me free labour for parts replacements, wheel alignments , tyre rotations.

Ordered a set of premium grade 1500gms carpet car mats and just collected it. The entire car feel is so different with the lush carpets, feeling like in a 5 star hotel compared to the stock very thin low quality car mats that came with the car.

By the way, where do u guys wash your car? Own self wash or petrol kiosk wash? My car is black and worried might get swirl marks of washed at petrol kiosks. Getting tired of washing myself.

Bro can share lobang for the car mats?

Hope this helps.

Be careful of swirl marks when you wipe your car without rinsing off the dust the first round. Fast and water saving methods are good if your car is not too dirty...it will cause swirl marks if you dun rinse off any particles on the paint before wiping with cloth.

I said this coz I tried both methods..my car is black so I can see the difference very clearly...

Hi Everybody just made a downpayment for the K3 SX model. Decided against waiting for the new facelift.. $97549 with guaranteed 6 bid COE.

I also realised that now C&C offering Uber Scheme. Downpayment 10-15% and strecth up to 10 years with 3.98 interest.

Hi guys.. Just an update.. Ive secured my coe today. SE promised me 6bid guaranteed. End up first bid got it. SE bid at 49,999. Car should be out next week.. Glad to join the K3 family!!!

Hi, not sure where can i post this so just chose the latest one to post. I have a cat A $500 Komoco voucher and cat B/C $1000 voucher. Willing to let go at $450 and $950 respectively

Come I sell you the $500 Komoco voucher at $50 since you are reselling it at $450. Let you earn $400.

Hi guys.. Just an update.. Ive secured my coe today. SE promised me 6bid guaranteed. End up first bid got it. SE bid at 49,999. Car should be out next week.. Glad to join the K3 family!!!ðð..

Welcome to the family!

I too got my COE today .  Anyway, dont quite like the DRL(looks like 2 long eyebrow!) , too glaring ! any bro knows where to install a dimmer to control the DRL ?

I too got my COE today . Anyway, dont quite like the DRL(looks like 2 long eyebrow!) , too glaring ! any bro knows where to install a dimmer to control the DRL ?

Bro it's a unique trademark of K3, all of us have it and it's nice. Anyway u won't be able to see it while driving, unless u get off the car to look while engine is running.

Yeah, i'm actually quite like the DRL. Looks so attractive from far  [;)]

Be careful of swirl marks when you wipe your car without rinsing off the dust the first round. Fast and water saving methods are good if your car is not too dirty...it will cause swirl marks if you dun rinse off any particles on the paint before wiping with cloth.

I said this coz I tried both methods..my car is black so I can see the difference very clearly...

Aiyoh bro... don't press so hard... just clean gently... our cars won't be too dirty one lar... mostly park in HDB multi-storey car park and under shelter... ha ha ha... seldom need to splash so much water. So far it's good. No scratch marks. I use microfibre cloth, it helps cos it doesn't trap dust and dirt particles. Once you rinse everything comes off.

Congrats and welcome to the club. But today Coe meh? Not yesterday ?

Ya my car is black too, very headache, gets dirty very easily and been washing once every 3 days. Scared swirl marks and uses lots of water.

Thanks bro for the tutorial. I uses auto gym shampoo too and it's really good as it has a water repelling effect and car is easy to dry. But will wiping causes swirl marks? I prefer to use lots of water to ensure no scratches.

Won't get scratch marks... just don't press hard.

Yeah, i'm actually quite like the DRL. Looks so attractive from far  [;)]

I tot it looks like the Merc DRLs tho...

Aiyoh bro... don't press so hard... just clean gently... our cars won't be too dirty one lar... mostly park in HDB multi-storey car park and under shelter... ha ha ha... seldom need to splash so much water. So far it's good. No scratch marks. I use microfibre cloth, it helps cos it doesn't trap dust and dirt particles. Once you rinse everything comes off.

Won't get scratch marks... just don't press hard.

Bro I assume your car dun get dirty that easily.. for me..my car gets very dusty after 1-2weeks...gets worse after rain..can see dust and water spots..If I am to just wipe off without rinsing...definitely swirl marks will show. If I dun apply too much pressure..its hard to get the car clean...not to say doing it in 15mins...

I oredi see swirl marks on part of my bonnet..so I had to use Autoglym resin polish to polish off the marks.. it works amazingly...

I tot it looks like the Merc DRLs tho...

Bro I assume your car dun get dirty that easily.. for me..my car gets very dusty after 1-2weeks...gets worse after rain..can see dust and water spots..If I am to just wipe off without rinsing...definitely swirl marks will show. If I dun apply too much pressure..its hard to get the car clean...not to say doing it in 15mins...

I oredi see swirl marks on part of my bonnet..so I had to use Autoglym resin polish to polish off the marks.. it works amazingly...

My wife says, from far looks like the new C class DRL. 

Any bros tried Lucky Car Polish PPS before?

Actually can go C&C do Zertona PPS , for only $300plus after 20% off using coupons. Zertona is a renowned brand for marine PPS.

Any Bros changing engine oil every 5k? C&C std is 10k but I feel that it's too long. Thinking of changing oil every 5k outside and 10k at C&C. Understand that outside workshops uses OEM Kia EO filter. How to ensure that uses Original Kia oil filter ?

My wife says, from far looks like the new C class DRL. 

i have mistaken k3 for a merc a few times already  [laugh]