Cheefarn 5th Gear June 15, 2015 Share June 15, 2015 On 6/15/2015 at 7:12 AM, 7hm said: so it's like Mercedes' Intelligent Light System or Ford's Dynamic LED? Should be really neat, if KIA is going to bring it to market it means it will soon be a mainstream feature? I don't think the Hyundai group will apply this expensive lighting tech to all their cars. Only up market models will get it I am sure. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged June 15, 2015 Share June 15, 2015 On 6/15/2015 at 9:11 AM, Cheefarn said: I don't think the Hyundai group will apply this expensive lighting tech to all their cars. Only up market models will get it I am sure. Logical... doubt Accent or Elantra or Rio will get... Next gen Cerato/Forte or Sonata probably... i40 already has this technology, so does Cee'd, I think. But, if it at least is coming to Optima it is a sign it is arriving to the mass-er sort of market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear June 15, 2015 Share June 15, 2015 If only Kia brings in the MT version of K3. So heartening to see so many korean car owners here. Over at hyundai thread, there is hardly any one.. Zzz... And the only B&B MT cars are only down to Nissan Almera and Hyundai Accent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear June 15, 2015 Share June 15, 2015 (edited) On 6/13/2015 at 5:42 PM, 7hm said: Come to think of it... why were you tailgating??????? "Lao hua"... Cannot see clearly.... Lol "Why the car so chio? Must find out what car is that"... By the time he/she get close to it... He/she cannot believe he/she is praising K3... Lol Edited June 15, 2015 by Hybridcar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AaronLow 1st Gear June 16, 2015 Share June 16, 2015 On 6/15/2015 at 12:40 PM, Ivan_06 said: If only Kia brings in the MT version of K3. So heartening to see so many korean car owners here. Over at hyundai thread, there is hardly any one.. Zzz... And the only B&B MT cars are only down to Nissan Almera and Hyundai Accent. hi ivan. im a elantra driver myself. yes we do not chat over mcf. but we have an elantra club registered in the registry societies of singapore. we have a facebook page. We have events and meetups every month. We have road trips. We have group buys. Currently we have 95 registered club members. and we are like 1 big family. Do visit our fb page to see our videos. Just search elantra club on facebook. This coming friday at kallang car park we will have our monthly meet up. Do come take a look. At least 25 cars will appear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
drwatson 1st Gear June 16, 2015 Share June 16, 2015 anybody that books sports here doesn't have their body kit installed until the first servicing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear June 17, 2015 Share June 17, 2015 On 6/15/2015 at 7:12 AM, 7hm said: so it's like Mercedes' Intelligent Light System or Ford's Dynamic LED? Should be really neat, if KIA is going to bring it to market it means it will soon be a mainstream feature? FYI, the current Optima 2.4 we have already came standard with steerable headlamps beam. The beam throw is auto adj based on your steering wheel angle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged June 17, 2015 Share June 17, 2015 On 6/17/2015 at 2:43 AM, Cheefarn said: FYI, the current Optima 2.4 we have already came standard with steerable headlamps beam. The beam throw is auto adj based on your steering wheel angle. have ah? I ask them Optima got steering beam they say don't have. Sonata also don't have, only i40 got AFLS. Cornering angling beam not that rare now, but what is rare is fully adaptive pattern feature like ILS. Like, beam widen at slow speed, or throw further at high speed, etc. In the Koreans I know the Forte doesn't have, Optima they told me at the time don't have in its bi-xenons, while i40 has full AFLS (but no high beam assistant). i40's also got dedicated cornering halogen in addition to its projector actuation. Not sure about their larger cars like the SUVs, but of course, Genesis has it. Some cars I think don't have left/right angling but have only dedicated cornering light. Volkswagen Golf with the bi-xenons, I saw a video which show the projectors have angling.... VW SG told me though the car doesn't turn the projectors but use the foglamps as cornering lights. Not sure whether believe them or believe video Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear June 17, 2015 Share June 17, 2015 On 6/17/2015 at 5:28 AM, 7hm said: have ah? I ask them Optima got steering beam they say don't have. Sonata also don't have, only i40 got AFLS. Cornering angling beam not that rare now, but what is rare is fully adaptive pattern feature like ILS. Like, beam widen at slow speed, or throw further at high speed, etc. In the Koreans I know the Forte doesn't have, Optima they told me at the time don't have in its bi-xenons, while i40 has full AFLS (but no high beam assistant). i40's also got dedicated cornering halogen in addition to its projector actuation. Not sure about their larger cars like the SUVs, but of course, Genesis has it. Some cars I think don't have left/right angling but have only dedicated cornering light. Volkswagen Golf with the bi-xenons, I saw a video which show the projectors have angling.... VW SG told me though the car doesn't turn the projectors but use the foglamps as cornering lights. Not sure whether believe them or believe video For Optima, the preFL version already have the AFLS. This is why Optima uses projector lens. The lens holder is electrically movable X and Y Axis. For the FL Optima, that Dot matrix (some called it Microsoft Windows!) foglamps acts as extra cornering lights as well. Just like most new Euro cars are doing these days. Its is true that the prev gen YF Sonata 2.4 doesn't have this feature. Only the i40 got it. But the current nobody-buys Sonata.... it has AFLS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged June 17, 2015 Share June 17, 2015 On 6/17/2015 at 7:37 AM, Cheefarn said: For Optima, the preFL version already have the AFLS. This is why Optima uses projector lens. The lens holder is electrically movable X and Y Axis. For the FL Optima, that Dot matrix (some called it Microsoft Windows!) foglamps acts as extra cornering lights as well. Just like most new Euro cars are doing these days. Its is true that the prev gen YF Sonata 2.4 doesn't have this feature. Only the i40 got it. But the current nobody-buys Sonata.... it has AFLS. Huh... they told me don't have, Hyundai SG website don't mention AFLS for Sonata at all... Or you mean other country?? The dot matrix foglamps... thought we call them "ice cube" hahahahaha! I actually liked that look, sort of disappointed they decided not to keep it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bunnybluey 1st Gear June 17, 2015 Share June 17, 2015 Newbie here! Just to share that my hubby & I hv booked a K3 SX Sports on Tuesday, shd be getting our new car soon. Our 1st 2 cars were Jpn brand, & to be honest, we did not look into Korean brand back then when we bought our 1st car 13 yrs ago & 2nd car 9 yrs ago. Back then, Jpn brand cars were made in Jpn, but now that a lot had moved to Thailand, we thought why not look out for a continental car or Korea brand, told my hubby that I prefer Korea made than Thailand made, haha... At first, I was planning to look at Hyundai first but after a salesperson from XX Jpn brand said their car is using YY engine & cars using such engine perform better, & mentioned which other brands that are using such engine, Kia was mentioned, so I ended up visiting Kia first before Hyundai. After visiting few brands, we decided on Kia Forte K3 SX Sports. We were attracted by the features that it offered as this was the only car in Cat A that can meet the features we're looking for like leg space, boot space & rear air-con!!! Rear air-con is really something that I hope for as it frustrates us as either front passengers are freezing or back passengers are melting! Of course, we were impressed by the other features that comes with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2824 2nd Gear June 18, 2015 Share June 18, 2015 Do u mind sharing what other discounts they can give against the listed price? Thanks On 6/17/2015 at 6:58 PM, bunnybluey said: Newbie here! Just to share that my hubby & I hv booked a K3 SX Sports on Tuesday, shd be getting our new car soon. Our 1st 2 cars were Jpn brand, & to be honest, we did not look into Korean brand back then when we bought our 1st car 13 yrs ago & 2nd car 9 yrs ago. Back then, Jpn brand cars were made in Jpn, but now that a lot had moved to Thailand, we thought why not look out for a continental car or Korea brand, told my hubby that I prefer Korea made than Thailand made, haha... At first, I was planning to look at Hyundai first but after a salesperson from XX Jpn brand said their car is using YY engine & cars using such engine perform better, & mentioned which other brands that are using such engine, Kia was mentioned, so I ended up visiting Kia first before Hyundai. After visiting few brands, we decided on Kia Forte K3 SX Sports. We were attracted by the features that it offered as this was the only car in Cat A that can meet the features we're looking for like leg space, boot space & rear air-con!!! Rear air-con is really something that I hope for as it frustrates us as either front passengers are freezing or back passengers are melting! Of course, we were impressed by the other features that comes with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged June 18, 2015 Share June 18, 2015 (edited) On 6/17/2015 at 6:58 PM, bunnybluey said: At first, I was planning to look at Hyundai first but after a salesperson from XX Jpn brand said their car is using YY engine & cars using such engine perform better, & mentioned which other brands that are using such engine, Kia was mentioned, so I ended up visiting Kia first before Hyundai. I dunno what they talking about here... Hyundai & KIA under same corporate umbrella, so they are sharing drivetrain (engine & transmission) and platform (suspension, chassis design, etc.) ... Those larger older Korean cars (last gen) should be using an engine we call Theta-II... newer ones have Nu series engine (like i40). As these engines are Hyundai motocorp developed though, they are not being used by any other brand especially those from Japan... who are mostly using their own engines, like Honda use their VTEC system engines and Toyota have VVT-i. Unless your XX Jpn brand SE is just generalizing that all these cars have variable valve timing (Hyundai/KIA call this CVVT) 1.6L engines I dare say the Japanese marques are too proud of their own engine technology to ever think of comparing their engines to Korean ones let alone say they are "using the same such engine". Edited June 18, 2015 by 7hm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
gensity 1st Gear June 18, 2015 Share June 18, 2015 Kia officially launch the k3 with sunroof liao Saw inside strait times Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maomao82 2nd Gear June 18, 2015 Share June 18, 2015 On 6/18/2015 at 5:29 AM, gensity said: Kia officially launch the k3 with sunroof liao Saw inside strait times Ermm.. I thot it was already available sometimes back. At least it was when I booked my SX Sports 3weeks back. Anyway juz tio COE yesterday.. Adviced collection date will be 1st week July. 2weeks waitin time izzit normal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear June 18, 2015 Share June 18, 2015 On 6/18/2015 at 5:56 AM, Maomao82 said: Ermm.. I thot it was already available sometimes back. At least it was when I booked my SX Sports 3weeks back. Anyway juz tio COE yesterday.. Adviced collection date will be 1st week July. 2weeks waitin time izzit normal? normal... some longer waiting due to car not even start production at Korea Factory... lol... like mine 3 months 2 weeks most likely already in Singapore long before KIA start bidding COE for you. I'm quite sure your SE have told you if your car is existing stock or need to wait.. Congrats anyway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bunnybluey 1st Gear June 18, 2015 Share June 18, 2015 On 6/18/2015 at 4:09 AM, 7hm said: I dunno what they talking about here... Hyundai & KIA under same corporate umbrella, so they are sharing drivetrain (engine & transmission) and platform (suspension, chassis design, etc.) ... Those larger older Korean cars (last gen) should be using an engine we call Theta-II... newer ones have Nu series engine (like i40). As these engines are Hyundai motocorp developed though, they are not being used by any other brand especially those from Japan... who are mostly using their own engines, like Honda use their VTEC system engines and Toyota have VVT-i. Unless your XX Jpn brand SE is just generalizing that all these cars have variable valve timing (Hyundai/KIA call this CVVT) 1.6L engines I dare say the Japanese marques are too proud of their own engine technology to ever think of comparing their engines to Korean ones let alone say they are "using the same such engine". My bad, perhaps I should be more specific. It's the technology used to make the engine, e.g. direct injection. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7hm Turbocharged June 18, 2015 Share June 18, 2015 On 6/18/2015 at 8:20 AM, bunnybluey said: My bad, perhaps I should be more specific. It's the technology used to make the engine, e.g. direct injection. Direct injection, huh? That's what I was actually expecting you to be referring to, though some of the Hyundai-KIA cars use MPi engines (multi-point injection) instead of GDi (gasoline direct injection). In fact your SE could be wrong... KIA's website tells me the Forte sold here in 1.6L guise is a Gamma MPi and not a direct injection model (GDi). Anyhow GDi is no longer a new thing or major selling point imo... of course a GDi engine is usually better performing, but to pitch your car based on GDi... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...