13177 Hypersonic September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 Hello all. Just booked my K3 (SX model) last week. Decided to go with the K3 after looking around for a new car to replace my VIOS whose COE is expiring next May. The so call "freebies" I got were the touch screen LCD (comes with GPS, Reverse Cam, DVD), Rikecool solar film & zertona paint protection. Have no idea on the specs for the LCD and the PPS. Also looking around for good DVR, or pop my current Blackvue over. Good choice la, but thought usually when people used to driving a Toyota, they will continue to buy Toyota cars? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotnyh 3rd Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 As a Vios owner (2008 model), I can say that any Vios owner who steps from a Gen1 or Gen2 Vios into a new K3 will be awed by all the stuff in the new car. The Vios is very austere by comparison. The best thing about the Vios is its bullet proof reliability and FC... but everything else... meh! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 Just send my car for 20,000km service,wow C&C charged very expensive,bring my own oil,just oil filter & AirCon filter,costed $170.00...treated Kia's customers like their Mercedes Benz's customers.. $170 considered cheap liao for AD service & maintaining warranty. Merc service easily more than double that price hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 Got my COE in the last bidding (Sep 1st bidding exercise), but Sales Rep still haven't tell me when stock will arrive. Usually when you booked your car your SE should have let you know estimate arrival or your car right? If not, just give your SE a call to check. For mine, I was to told somewhere around late Sept/Early Oct when I booked my K3. I did a recent check with my SE if the for update of my K3 delivery date. No problem for SE to check for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 (edited) Good choice la, but thought usually when people used to driving a Toyota, they will continue to buy Toyota cars? Haha.. I'm also own a Vios Gen2 owner (still have the car in JB ).. Personally I think current Vios design.... hmm... Although my 9 years with Vios still never give me any problem... seriously.. only aircon once.. Major features attract me getting K3 is - Car cabin size. Definitely bigger than Vios and feel similar for my bro Altis - Aircon vent at the back. My rear passengers keep complaining the Vios Aircon very weak. - Dual zone aircon - Memory seat. (Ahem.... New Merc C180 listen...) - Aircon (and Heating seat) seat - Electric chromatic rearview mirror.. - Control on steering wheel - Price.. $$$ But as a lot of ppl (those die die against Kimchi & K3 one.. lol) say since there are a lot of features/gadgets in car.. it may well mean more chance for things to break down.. hmmm... I don't know, my old Acer laptop still serves me well after 5 long years...lol Maybe current owner can advice if there is a major problems so far they facing? Edited September 9, 2014 by Hybridcar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cmlee 1st Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 Good choice la, but thought usually when people used to driving a Toyota, they will continue to buy Toyota cars? Ha. you are right. Altis is one first car I'd looked at (in terms of specs and price) when I started looking for a car replacement for my vios. However, the price, specs and interior design turns me off. Haha.. I'm also own a Vios Gen2 owner (still have the car in JB ).. Personally I think current Vios design.... hmm... Although my 9 years with Vios still never give me any problem... seriously.. only aircon once.. Major features attract me getting K3 is - Car cabin size. Definitely bigger than Vios and feel similar for my bro Altis - Aircon vent at the back. My rear passengers keep complaining the Vios Aircon very weak. - Dual zone aircon - Memory seat. (Ahem.... New Merc C180 listen...) - Aircon (and Heating seat) seat - Electric chromatic rearview mirror.. - Control on steering wheel - Price.. $$$ But as a lot of ppl (those die die against Kimchi & K3 one.. lol) say since there are a lot of features/gadgets in car.. it may well mean more chance for things to break down.. hmmm... I don't know, my old Acer laptop still serves me well after 5 long years...lol Maybe current owner can advice if there is a major problems so far they facing? Hmm, not sure if my 2005 Vios is gen1 and gen2, but all the things u listed attached me too, and more. Yah, really not sure if all the electronics / features, or KIA (for that matter) is reailable or not. I hope it can last 9-10yrs without major breakdown (i.e. gear box, engine etc). So how long u got to wait from securing the COE to able to drive off with your new ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 Ha. you are right. Altis is one first car I'd looked at (in terms of specs and price) when I started looking for a car replacement for my vios. However, the price, specs and interior design turns me off. Hmm, not sure if my 2005 Vios is gen1 and gen2, but all the things u listed attached me too, and more. Yah, really not sure if all the electronics / features, or KIA (for that matter) is reailable or not. I hope it can last 9-10yrs without major breakdown (i.e. gear box, engine etc). So how long u got to wait from securing the COE to able to drive off with your new ride? My COE WAS secured during 2nd July exercise. But I was already told beforehand (when sign the paper) that my order will be arrived earliest mid-Sept, otherwise early Oct. I order Golden Beat + Brown leather seats.. so gotta wait. Ya, I hope electronics will last through 9-10 years :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charmet 3rd Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 Received a reply from KIA today. Telling me that in the future, if anything goes wrong and they trace the cause back to the device (cam / power magic pro) I installed, then they will not warrant the warranty and since the cam is connected 24/7, the load on the battery will increased. Thus, they won't cover the warranty of the battery too. Likewise, if I were to change my horn, the same thing - if fault is trace to horn / fuse box due to the horn installation then no warranty. Sorry to hear that mate. It's the same for Borneo Motors. I wanted to install my own dashcams, but BM insisted that it would void their warranty and they wouldn't respect it if I insisted on using my own. However, if I were willing to shell out $750 to install their front and rear view Blackvues, they would be happy to do so, and respect the warranty. Same issue on the horn. Personally I can understand where the ADs are coming from, given the parts may not be under the same coverage and may not be installed by their qualified technicians. But it does make me feel most cars nowadays ain't built with the same dexterity and robustness as the earlier days. Oh well, you can always keep your current dashcam and have it tapped to your IU once the 5 year warranty is over :) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 (edited) Ha. you are right. Altis is one first car I'd looked at (in terms of specs and price) when I started looking for a car replacement for my vios. However, the price, specs and interior design turns me off. I dont really appreciate the interior of the new altis, looks so outdated. Thinking how come till date, cannot find k3 on used car market? Edited September 9, 2014 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banz86 5th Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 I dont really appreciate the interior of the new altis, looks so outdated. Thinking how come till date, cannot find k3 on used car market? I think everyone really likes the K3 for the good specs and comfort. It's a good car to drive on a daily basis. Even after 5 years of driving the Forte, I still think its a good buy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear September 9, 2014 Share September 9, 2014 I dont really appreciate the interior of the new altis, looks so outdated. Thinking how come till date, cannot find k3 on used car market? actually i was thinking K3 not that many on Singapore road? Not easy to spot one... but I can see a lot of new Altis and Mazda 3 in contrast.. hmm... Ah... I already seen used (new) Altis in sgcarmart for sale last month!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 welcome ex vios to K3 :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 actually i was thinking K3 not that many on Singapore road? Not easy to spot one... but I can see a lot of new Altis and Mazda 3 in contrast.. hmm... Ah... I already seen used (new) Altis in sgcarmart for sale last month!! This is what I meant lo. Even when elantra launched in 2011, after about 1 year or so can find elantra in the used car market. But till now still no sight of K3 on the used car market. I think everyone really likes the K3 for the good specs and comfort. It's a good car to drive on a daily basis. Even after 5 years of driving the Forte, I still think its a good buy... So you are driving the previous forte? Your car is EX or SX version? Saw the 09/10 forte on the used car market, price consider quite low as compared with altis, thinking it is a good buy?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cmlee 1st Gear September 10, 2014 Share September 10, 2014 welcome ex vios to K3 :P You too? how's your experience with K3 so far? Sorry to hear that mate. It's the same for Borneo Motors. I wanted to install my own dashcams, but BM insisted that it would void their warranty and they wouldn't respect it if I insisted on using my own. However, if I were willing to shell out $750 to install their front and rear view Blackvues, they would be happy to do so, and respect the warranty. Same issue on the horn. Personally I can understand where the ADs are coming from, given the parts may not be under the same coverage and may not be installed by their qualified technicians. But it does make me feel most cars nowadays ain't built with the same dexterity and robustness as the earlier days. Oh well, you can always keep your current dashcam and have it tapped to your IU once the 5 year warranty is over :) I will keep my current dashcam, but if i want it to monitor my car while it's parked, I will have to tap it to the battery. That's where the warranty on the battery will be gone. Small issue for the battery but i will be tapping to the fuse box. not a big thing, but just don't like the way they put it. Seems like once you touch something, everything that is linked will risk voiding the warranty. in this case, anything electronic, since all will goes back to the fuse box in one way or the other. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Choco1980 1st Gear September 11, 2014 Share September 11, 2014 Haha.. I'm also own a Vios Gen2 owner (still have the car in JB ).. Personally I think current Vios design.... hmm... Although my 9 years with Vios still never give me any problem... seriously.. only aircon once.. Major features attract me getting K3 is - Car cabin size. Definitely bigger than Vios and feel similar for my bro Altis - Aircon vent at the back. My rear passengers keep complaining the Vios Aircon very weak. - Dual zone aircon - Memory seat. (Ahem.... New Merc C180 listen...) - Aircon (and Heating seat) seat - Electric chromatic rearview mirror.. - Control on steering wheel - Price.. $$$ But as a lot of ppl (those die die against Kimchi & K3 one.. lol) say since there are a lot of features/gadgets in car.. it may well mean more chance for things to break down.. hmmm... I don't know, my old Acer laptop still serves me well after 5 long years...lol Maybe current owner can advice if there is a major problems so far they facing? my car is one of the first batches. no issues till date This is what I meant lo. Even when elantra launched in 2011, after about 1 year or so can find elantra in the used car market. But till now still no sight of K3 on the used car market. So you are driving the previous forte? Your car is EX or SX version? Saw the 09/10 forte on the used car market, price consider quite low as compared with altis, thinking it is a good buy?! i personally spotted quite a number onthe roads already. :) many colors hehe i guess if the car is decent enuff dont think will see a 2nd hand so soon in the market ba. mine is drove also a forte previously. EX version. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 11, 2014 Share September 11, 2014 i personally spotted quite a number onthe roads already. :) many colors hehe i guess if the car is decent enuff dont think will see a 2nd hand so soon in the market ba. mine is drove also a forte previously. EX version. Lol, you changed from previous forte to current forte k3? Really a loyal fan of KIA forte. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear September 11, 2014 Share September 11, 2014 my car is one of the first batches. no issues till date i personally spotted quite a number onthe roads already. :) many colors hehe i guess if the car is decent enuff dont think will see a 2nd hand so soon in the market ba. mine is drove also a forte previously. EX version. actually spotted some... out of all colour... I haven't seen one blue!!! ..lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Choco1980 1st Gear September 11, 2014 Share September 11, 2014 Lol, you changed from previous forte to current forte k3? Really a loyal fan of KIA forte. yup because of alot of improvements ocmpared to the previous gen thats what made me change :) actually spotted some... out of all colour... I haven't seen one blue!!! ..lol mine lo haha abyss blue lol i also spotted planet blue before ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...