point taken for yours

but even with riders

who can stop them from anyhow all you can eat buffet

we still got to pay the bills right

its not like going to workshop

not happy with this workshop can go others

but for hospitals

think their biling are almost the same rate right

Not really. I made a deposit payment for a VN colleague's aunt recently at Raffles, they had a chart (at Ward 9 billing dept) that listed the various bed fee for the different hospitals in SG.

I had a quick glance at the 1 bed pricing and they varied with a few hundred dollar difference. So not the same. Alexandra seems to be the lowest but you do see some jokes abt it being a hospital where you only check in (Hotel California?). [laugh]

in yahoo news. knocked down by a car. Bills $640k to date. He went there to train to be a chef

walau! no workman insurance provided?

Thot he is training chef there and why his company never buy insurance for him.

Our law here required all employers to buy insurance for foreigner staff.

the so-call training chef are usually self funded, he never cover himself.

walau! no workman insurance provided?

Hmmm.. workman insurance got jurisdiction one boh? To be honest, this question has never crossed my mind. I better go ask my agent.

accident plan got cover such case even oversea?

such incident if death is payout 3x

i forgotten hospital etc got covered or not but if hospitalised got $ to take

U mean he didn't buy travel insurance.

Thot travel insurance pay out can be up to few hundred thousand?

some travel insurance cover up to million, but in his case i am not sure if they would cover since his nature of travel is for work and for extended period.

in yahoo news. knocked down by a car. Bills $640k to date. He went there to train to be a chef

Alot of people take oversea travelling for granted and think that travel insurance is useless. When we are in a foreign land...it is important to cover ourself as we don't know what will happen....the best travel insurance to get are those covered with SOS support so that one can be fly back to Singapore for treatment if needed....

Edited by LoverofCar

accident plan got cover such case even oversea?

such incident if death is payout 3x

i forgotten hospital etc got covered or not but if hospitalised got $ to take

there are insurance that cover extreme sports and activities....just need to plan ahead and know what insurance to get when travelling.

Yeah, MY one may be free, but u dare to try their medical services? Their free one is govt hospitals hor.... not private ones. And we all know how their government standards are........ U will be lucky if the doc bothers to talk to you.

My friend went to a government hospital in JB for a Minot day surgery bec it's free for retired citizen.. never come out and passed away due to infection.

My friend very sad bec father very healthy actually, and he actually asked his dad to use Singapore hospital which he will pay, but dad wants to save $ for son.

But then SG restructure hospital also not say vert good.. wife colleague went in for bypass, ops successful and healing well.. then a few doc doing their rounds with intern doc and the intern itchy hand touch the wound and it ruptured and causes bacteria infection. Now ICU.. best part is the hospital ask patient family to downgrade room else bill will be expensive.. they afraid of admitting liability. The whole event witnessed by the spouse of patient.. else maybe the hospital just say post surgery complications.

That's why I only believe in Private hospital bed at least no intern docs.

All the sad cases in the medical field. s--t happens everywhere but if pay more $$, should at least reduce chances of mishaps caused by amateur doc or nurses.

Seriously the Medisave $$ cannot be touched.. and it pays 4% interest.. when a person have even 10k in there, the annual % is $400 and that's excluding all the monthly contributions that's still going in.. I seriously think it's no brainer to upgrade the medical plans to max coverage using Medisave $$ when one is totally healthy..

Those who still need convincing are penny wide pound foolish

Edited by Chucky2007

Sad case. Yes, actually it is also who you know

in SGH, they did the colonoscope, see polyp no remove...i was pissed

i said i taking her out and they made a helluva noise , i asked for Drs name to report to SMC. then i asked for AOR, took her to my friend, did a polypectomy, home next day. FOC summoer

thing is in public hospitals too many levels...even my episode, i did raise concerns w the main surgeon n consultant cos the juniors, like HO, MOs want to do things, and need clearance etc for eg, surgeon say remove tubes, HO and MO not sure, i said read the casenotes and even surgeon made noise at them when they did not remove...haiz

....my gripe was, who calls the shots? Good thing surgeon n me could discuss and we came to an amicable conclusion and we respected each other cos we could talk abt the case at length and with clinical references.

MOs, regs treat you like u some 'idiot' and when i use the med jargon on them, then they wisen up...dun fault them too lah, but know your patients and profile too

in priivate, one man show, he calls the shots.

thanks for the myriad of experiences and sharing here. It serves as a good resource and reminder that the onus on our own self to take care of ourselves with the resources in place. They are there, and we should do our due diligence to find and take up what is beneficial and suits our needs

Keep them coming, esp those who are unsure as the folks here will reply.

Good day all

another anal is the deposit

my wife want to give birth in kkh also need to deposit 500+ for b2+ ward

But the deposit will go towards the bill right? Unless you planned to run road once the baby is out :D

LOL..abscond w baby...

funny tho, mine no need.....guess they know i wun run road [laugh] [laugh]

Sad case. Yes, actually it is also who you know

in SGH, they did the colonoscope, see polyp no remove...i was pissed

i said i taking her out and they made a helluva noise , i asked for Drs name to report to SMC. then i asked for AOR, took her to my friend, did a polypectomy, home next day. FOC summoer

thing is in public hospitals too many levels...even my episode, i did raise concerns w the main surgeon n consultant cos the juniors, like HO, MOs want to do things, and need clearance etc for eg, surgeon say remove tubes, HO and MO not sure, i said read the casenotes and even surgeon made noise at them when they did not remove...haiz

....my gripe was, who calls the shots? Good thing surgeon n me could discuss and we came to an amicable conclusion and we respected each other cos we could talk abt the case at length and with clinical references.

MOs, regs treat you like u some 'idiot' and when i use the med jargon on them, then they wisen up...dun fault them too lah, but know your patients and profile too

in priivate, one man show, he calls the shots.

Bro, u are lucky bec you are conscious all the time... Imagine if u r unconscious and your family got to make swift decision for u.. and if the doctors are amateurs, what kind of advice would your family be receiving?

Hmmm.. workman insurance got jurisdiction one boh? To be honest, this question has never crossed my mind. I better go ask my agent.

I meant in the USA, don't they have similar requirements?

As a condition for issuing him the right to be trained in the USA, should't a sufficient type of insurance be mandatory?

He did have insurance but the remaining out of pocket hospital related expenses is 640K!!!!

What kind of LJ insurance is that!?? :angry:

LOL..abscond w baby...

funny tho, mine no need.....guess they know i wun run road [laugh] [laugh]

You got kids? I always thought you didn't have kids.