Final hospital Bill: $1k

eh u think wat authorised workshop plan oni ah [laugh][laugh]

In a way wat. Some plans can onli go to gahmen hospital.

The problem is that even on gahmen hospital plan A doesn't mean got single bedder room available. Kena stuck b4 in 4 and 6 bedder coz no room and had to endure a whole restless night of other ppl's relatives and frens visiting constantly bringing mee goreng lah, KFC lah, sing song lah......knn. <_<

lol...ssing song? mostly i hear buddhist chanting wan leh [laugh] [laugh]

please lor, pte 2 bedder will also have WHOLE village visiting one lor !! Came across one incident whereby a patient "retaliated" by blasting the TV cos the WHOLE KAMPUNG visited the neighbour and disrupted his rest. I suffered, cos my boy's room was opposite them.

that's the problem when ppl dun know how to be 'automatic'. knn....go to hospital visit maciam going for family reunion dinner liddat. <_<

Does our medishield or travel insurance cover hospital bill overseas?

Overseas, only TI.

Medishield, only SG. But recently, like some MY approve hospitals (needs confirmation)

Does our medishield or travel insurance cover hospital bill overseas?

dun think so.... unless you travel a lot, then consider tht, else travel insurance per diem whn u travel shd suffice.

Pity that fella in NY tho...

thanks

but like i said

generally

how about those in lower/middle income group

where their take home pay will either be almost zero or negative after using it for basic necessity

which means getting a rider is out of the question and even with riders they still need to fork out cash

lower income is always in a disadv.. government dun know.. or choses to ignore. They raise fee for consulation at polyclinic for foreigner.. but most PMET are cover by their company. Seriously, they are just lack of empathy.

In general, higher incomes are always cover by company insurance or personal insurance..they pay like $8 lor..

Even in my company, it's like that.. mgr above ... even dependents are covered.

Edited by ShepherdPie

Overseas, only TI.

Medishield, only SG. But recently, like some MY approve hospitals (needs confirmation)

Parkway group for Pantai hospital in Malaysia.

lol...ssing song? mostly i hear buddhist chanting wan leh [laugh][laugh]

basket, instead of blasting TV or speaking loudly to make things worse, i spoke to them politely. problem solved.......for 10 mins until another part of the village came and the party started again. <_<

lower income is always in a disadv.. government dun know.. or choses to ignore. They raise fee for consulation at polyclinic for foreigner.. but most PMET are cover by their company. Seriously, they are just lack of empathy.

In general, higher incomes are always cover by company insurance or personal insurance..they pay like $8 lor..

Even in my company, it's like that.. mgr above ... even dependents are covered.

the thing is a lot of thing they make it compulsory but for the medishield they never auto do it for everyone with CPF accounts, even if you have to source for your own insurance, why not have one mandate at least there is a coverage. Not everyone know about such scheme or have time to look for one.

end up the money just sitting in medisave.

Edited by Jman888

thanks

but like i said

generally

how about those in lower/middle income group

where their take home pay will either be almost zero or negative after using it for basic necessity

which means getting a rider is out of the question and even with riders they still need to fork out cash

The rider is never meant to be part of the shield strategy. That's why you can't use your medisave account to pay for it. It is an additional product the private insurers launch bec the notion of not paying a single cent when you are warded is a strong selling point.

If you made it mandatory for zero-dollar from the patient, then you run into 2 issues (that I can think of)

1) The overall shield plans will be too expensive for certain segments of the population. Then you will have pple asking for plans without riders.

2) Such all in one zero dollar expense plans tend to get abused bec medical practitioners know they can just whack like going for all you can eat buffet and the patient isn't gonna complain cos he paid the premiums liao and fxxk care. But the end game is the overall medical cost balloons out of control. (reference USA medical costs).

Same same like motor insurance. If you the one claiming, the workshop (aka car doctor) will change eveyy fxxk thing for you when only your bumper has a 1mm scratch.

Edited by Sabian

basket, instead of blasting TV or speaking loudly to make things worse, i spoke to them politely. problem solved.......for 10 mins until another part of the village came and the party started again. <_<

singapore very small, whatever place they can think of for gathering might already done so. Not many chance that they get to do gathering in hospital [:p]

no leh, mortuary at most 1 or 2 come...no party der yet...except for us labourers[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

point taken for yours

but even with riders

who can stop them from anyhow all you can eat buffet

we still got to pay the bills right

its not like going to workshop

not happy with this workshop can go others

but for hospitals

think their biling are almost the same rate right

dun think so.... unless you travel a lot, then consider tht, else travel insurance per diem whn u travel shd suffice.

Pity that fella in NY tho...

What fella in NY?

point taken for yours

but even with riders

who can stop them from anyhow all you can eat buffet

we still got to pay the bills right

its not like going to workshop

not happy with this workshop can go others

but for hospitals

think their biling are almost the same rate right

Likewise, I get what you meant with that part abt the lower income.

In SG, fortunately or unfortunately, there is no free lunch. Only when you earn sufficient income, then your meidsave account gets funded and you can afford medishield plan.

Edited by Sabian

What fella in NY?

in yahoo news. knocked down by a car. Bills $640k to date. He went there to train to be a chef

Thot he is training chef there and why his company never buy insurance for him.

Our law here required all employers to buy insurance for foreigner staff.

think they cover him for 10% only..

it's really bad.. when i read abt it last night i could not sleep... both legs severed.