Final hospital Bill: $1k

I may be cynical, but I why do I feel that this 71 yr old GP is a pot calling the kettle black....only when this physician can't 'heal thyself' then she realises that medical services are 'ridiculously expensive'

My experience is that some older GPs charge quite affordable rates for consult and meds, esp those in older estates, in HDB blocks, and have been operating there for decades. They see a lot of heartland patients esp. elderly so tends to not charge too high, maybe around $30-40.

This contrasts with those posh-looking modern clinics esp those in malls, that usually have doctors maybe in the 30s-40s. These types can charge $70-80 easily.

If go specialist clinics, then no $100 no talk. and give meds that could cost few hundreds... [sweatdrop]

I still think we should try to move to a outcome based healthcare vs a volume based one currently. The transition can be neutral in terms of price but I rather pay the same amount for a better outcome.

It is not easy but I feel it’s the direction the government should try

Brought my mother to snec for cataract surgery recently, cost was not the issue as the 4k operation was covered by insurance.  But I was sure surprised by the senior consultant who rejected her - he wanted to do only Lasik op and referred her to another consultant.  so there is some truth to the huat huat doc theory.  just my opinion.  

For a while now, the hospital, because its all restructured needs to be accountable for their P&L.

I think somewhere along the line, the news broke out that the hospital was also doing some external business

This has since stop. But my take is, should the hospital instead be looking at the bed shortages instead of getting more external biz. 

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/singhealth-nuh-to-stop-using-agents-by-end-of-oct

As public healthcare institutions, our priority is to serve our local population, especially Singaporeans and permanent residents.

Singapore's healthcare system and quality of care is highly regarded in the region. As such, there are some patients from overseas who choose to seek treatment as private patients at our healthcare institutions.

Medical associates provide assistance to overseas patients seeking complex treatment here. Their primary role is to help the patients navigate the healthcare system. They advise patients on the relevant health records needed, and assist with administrative processes, paperwork and travel arrangements. They are non-exclusive to SingHealth and charge an administrative fee (per patient) for their services.

All restructured hospitals have subsidised and private care. And can be seen by the same doctor...

go poly get referral to RHs as subsidised patient, can wait up to 6 mth for appt, by any doc, cannot choose. Which doc is free, will see you. pay less, but longer wait.

go GPs get referral to RHs, as private patient, shorter wait. Can choose doc (if you know, else is your GP helps to choose). pay more, and shorter wait.

few yr ago, brought my mother to TTSH as subsidised patient. Doc sent her to x-ray; nurse pointed us to wait at the end of one section, sitting on chairs with thin cushion, and vinyl flooring. The end of the section was i thought a wall.

Waited a while, the wall opened!!! It was a big sliding door. The other side was carpeted, with sofas. The radiographer came and called my mother's name, then brought her over to a room for the x-ray.

Actually both private and subsidised patients go same place for x-rays one...

Same place for x-rays but different place for waiting area lo. This is the only difference between private patient and subsidised patient. Lol.

Yup. My mother was worried about cost, so went through poly as subsidised patient. And we waited in the vinyl flooring side with those chairs that are whole row joined together one. Don't remember is got thin cushion or just only plastic and no cushion. Whole big clinic very crowded, only got one water cooler machine with paper cone cup.

Later before surgery, during financial counselling, the manager checked and said i had covered my mother for medishield, so suggested we go for private class instead as it was only i think $1-2k more, which is payable by medisave. So i said ok.

Further down the road post-op, when needed to do x-ray, went back to the same place for x-ray, but this time becos is under private, we waited at the other side of the magic sliding door. Got carpet, sit on big sofas, not so crowded, got coffee machine...

While waiting for my mother, had seen the sliding door opened and subsidised patient came over for the x-ray -- it was only then that i realised it was the same place (but on different sides), ha ha...

Yup. My mother was worried about cost, so went through poly as subsidised patient. And we waited in the vinyl flooring side with those chairs that are whole row joined together one. Don't remember is got thin cushion or just only plastic and no cushion. Whole big clinic very crowded, only got one water cooler machine with paper cone cup.

Later before surgery, during financial counselling, the manager checked and said i had covered my mother for medishield, so suggested we go for private class instead as it was only i think $1-2k more, which is payable by medisave. So i said ok.

Further down the road post-op, when needed to do x-ray, went back to the same place for x-ray, but this time becos is under private, we waited at the other side of the magic sliding door. Got carpet, sit on big sofas, not so crowded, got coffee machine...

While waiting for my mother, had seen the sliding door opened and subsidised patient came over for the x-ray -- it was only then that i realised it was the same place (but on different sides), ha ha...

I brought my mum to the same clinic many times before. We always visit as subsidised patient. Yes, the sliding wall is real. It separates subsidised and private patient. But sometimes when we are first patient for xray, the nurse will bring us to the private area.

About the drinks, subsidised side also have free coffee machine. And during morning and afternoon breaks, they will push a trolley around to give ppl free hot milo or sometimes fruit juice with biscuits or apple.

At SGH, no trolley and no coffee machine. But near lunch time, will have basket of apples at the counter for free. I visit SGH specialist clinics at least 3 times a year or more. SNEC is once a year.

TTSH specialist clinics is for my late mum's illnesses.

As a private patient, even though it might be $1-2k more than subsidised patient and payable by mediasave, but the subsequent post-op and doctor follow-up appointment, dont know if still can payable by mediasave? If cannot and need to pay by cash, it is not a small amount in a long run lo. Thats why many people still went through as subsidised patient if the condition and treatment is chronic.

Medisave can be used, but once entered as private patient, must be fully discharged then can become subsidised again. when reg as pte patient, the nurse will always highlight this.  thats why many people have to get some silly letter from polyclinic or GP first before going to hospital specialist clinic. as pte patient, letter not needed ... just walk in ... 

Edited by Gz0707

My experience is that some older GPs charge quite affordable rates for consult and meds, esp those in older estates, in HDB blocks, and have been operating there for decades. They see a lot of heartland patients esp. elderly so tends to not charge too high, maybe around $30-40.

This contrasts with those posh-looking modern clinics esp those in malls, that usually have doctors maybe in the 30s-40s. These types can charge $70-80 easily.

If go specialist clinics, then no $100 no talk. and give meds that could cost few hundreds... [sweatdrop]

My estate got one doctor is like that one

His Med is always the generic no brand one

Cheap and good

Medisave can be used, but once entered as private patient, must be fully discharged then can become subsidised again. when reg as pte patient, the nurse will always highlight this. thats why many people have to get some silly letter from polyclinic or GP first before going to hospital specialist clinic. as pte patient, letter not needed ... just walk in ...

Yes

See hospital doctor cannot walk in one

Die die must get Polyclinic’s referral

If not Peng San

My estate got one doctor is like that one

His Med is always the generic no brand one

Cheap and good

the newer "fancy" docs - have to be more careful abit - we found out the hard way.  the treatment n cost was more expensive than the usual generic ones, but we later found out this GP gave a stronger "2nd Line" med that was supposed to be given only after the "1st Line" or milder medicine had failed.  The 2nd line med was much more stronger and caused allergies in my kid and we ended up in A&E due massive allergic reaction.  of cos, as laymen, we will not know the commercial mechanics to prescribe the more "branded medicines". 

Edited by Gz0707

I brought my mum to the same clinic many times before. We always visit as subsidised patient. Yes, the sliding wall is real. It separates subsidised and private patient. But sometimes when we are first patient for xray, the nurse will bring us to the private area.

About the drinks, subsidised side also have free coffee machine. And during morning and afternoon breaks, they will push a trolley around to give ppl free hot milo or sometimes fruit juice with biscuits or apple.

At SGH, no trolley and no coffee machine. But near lunch time, will have basket of apples at the counter for free. I visit SGH specialist clinics at least 3 times a year or more. SNEC is once a year.

TTSH specialist clinics is for my late mum's illnesses.

oh subsidised side got coffee machine too? I must have missed it. Had never seen any fruit juice, biscuits, apples leh - maybe our visits there the timings no good lor.

I also go SGH specialist clinics for appts at least once a year, for about 5-6 yr already. In SGH, the private and subsidised patients share the same waiting area, and also never see any apples before leh...

how come you so good huh?

Also went to TTSH and SGH previously from early 2000 to 2007, when my mother-in-law was first diagnosed with cancer, went into remission for 5-6 yr, relapsed and passed on... in the process became quite familiar with these 2 hosps, esp TTSH, where my late grandma was warded twice...

Medisave can be used, but once entered as private patient, must be fully discharged then can become subsidised again. when reg as pte patient, the nurse will always highlight this.  thats why many people have to get some silly letter from polyclinic or GP first before going to hospital specialist clinic. as pte patient, letter not needed ... just walk in ... 

Medisave can be used on full amount on all follow-up and post-op appointment? I know private patient confirmed mediasave cannot be used.

there is a limit of $300 or $400 per year.  that's why many people quite pissed cos own CPF/MEDISAVE money still have to be controlled by gahment.  and angry cos now have to come out of pocket for the remainder of bill.  

good for you ! there are still many stubborn people out there who do not believe in medical insurance ....

of course also must be prudent in hospital ward lah.... don't need to go for PTE single bedded EVERY TIME

...or those who are in the low income bracket. Some will borrow money from friends and relatives instead of going to social welfare for assistance.

Yes, this is a major concern - and it was the first reservation i had too when the financial counselling manager briefed us and made the recommendation to go private.

My mother was going to have knee replacement op, and the idea was to do one knee first to see how it goes, before doing the other (instead of both at one go). To go private would have the benefit of having continuity in terms of the surgeon or doctor care. We feel the same surgeon will know her condition better and will be more beneficial to her recovery, plus private will allow her to stay in 4-bed aircon ward, which is better and more conducive than the 5-bed or 6-bed open ward.

And i of course asked about the follow-up fees too. The 'deal-breaker' was this (explained to me):

- follow-up appts all private rates (which could be maybe $30-50 vs $120-180) and need to be paid in cash and not medisave.

- but the medishield (apart from the fixed initial deductible), will pay 90% of the remainder bill, and follow-up appts are included.

- hence, if the total surgery was $20k, and follow-up appts add up to $1k, we will pay i think $3.5k deductible (through medisave) first.

- then, of the balance of (20k + 1k) - 3.5k = $17.5k, medishield will pay 90%, so we pay only $1.75k.

- in effect, of the $1k follow-up cash fees, medishield will also cover 90%.

so we went ahead with private.

Note though this is possible if all the bills are in the same 'cycle year' of the medishield coverage date, which fortunately was the case for my mother. If it's a different year, then the deductible will have to be paid again, rendering it not beneficial at all.

Oh, furthermore, we were reassured that the private rate applies only to that episode, or anything related to it. Even before my mother got discharged for that episode (orthopedic), when she goes for her normal chronic illness, dental, and other visits to the polyclinics (or poly referrals to specialist clinics), those could/would still be on subsidised rate.

the newer "fancy" docs - have to be more careful abit - we found out the hard way.  the treatment n cost was more expensive than the usual generic ones, but we later found out this GP gave a stronger "2nd Line" med that was supposed to be given only after the "1st Line" or milder medicine had failed.  The 2nd line med was much more stronger and caused allergies in my kid and we ended up in A&E due massive allergic reaction.  of cos, as laymen, we will not know the commercial mechanics to prescribe the more "branded medicines". 

fancy docs use fancy meds, so that they can charge more. if they also give panadol some people might not see the point in paying more. i still prefer my GP. short sweet and simple. don't waste money is his refrain.

Edited by Mkl22