Berkeley study of how wealth affects the mind..

Hydrocarbon

On 7/19/2013 at 1:01 PM, CH_CO said:

ya , paiseh , wrong should be billions

:wacko: wah lau sibei talk c--k leh, mate, not quite like the usual you... [crazy]

  On 7/19/2013 at 1:23 PM, Throttle2 said:

:wacko: wah lau sibei talk c--k leh, mate, not quite like the usual you... [crazy]

Need to adjust to the standards here , here plenty ang mor goot but pay lip service , i flame bait lol

here saying to be rich it is "bad" but there is always a slight difference between being content and being greedy irregardless if one is wealthy or not.

So now , you mean the poor are good by their own accord then how come the crime rates in ghettos are so high? If not for survival?

Stealing sweets isn't much of a crime as compared to robbery/thief though the notion is the same of taking what isn't yours. It is similar to people going to jb to pump petrol under 3/4 tanks. Is it wrong yes in eyes of law but is it wrong fundamentally and economically? It is debatable depending which side of the border you are looking from.

Edited by CH_CO

On 7/19/2013 at 1:57 PM, CH_CO said:

Need to adjust to the standards here , here plenty ang mor goot but pay lip service , i flame bait lol

here saying to be rich it is "bad" but there is always a slight difference between being content and being greedy irregardless if one is wealthy or not.

So now , you mean the poor are good by their own accord then how come the crime rates in ghettos are so high? If not for survival?

Stealing sweets isn't much of a crime as compared to robbery/thief though the notion is the same of taking what isn't yours. It is similar to people going to jb to pump petrol under 3/4 tanks. Is it wrong yes in eyes of law but is it wrong fundamentally and economically? It is debatable depending which side of the border you are looking from.

Ah, now you back to normal...

On 7/19/2013 at 7:15 AM, CH_CO said:

Only through adversities where one learns faster and picks up. In the world where survival is important in the sense, getting a roof which probably cost you a few hundred k , money is one of the essential yardsticks to life. Work life balance is only for people which can afford them. Once one has enough money , it is his/her choice whether if she intends to continue to purse material needs or should they choose something else like family or interests.

I understand where you are coming from and i respect your views.

But i hold a different view that one should only choose to pursue other interests or things which are more meaningful only after one had amassed enough money. Why does it have to be this way? There are folks whom are not very well-off themselves and yet, they are doing all they can to help those less privileged than them. This already served as a good example that its really different strokes for different folks, and not everyone have to be pragmatic before considering giving back to the society. The lack of wealth certainly does not stop these individuals from giving back.

Simply said, wealth does affect the mind, but on the other side of the coin, some people are able to see things from another perspective even without wealth.

  On 7/19/2013 at 4:01 PM, Lethalstrike said:

I understand where you are coming from and i respect your views.

But i hold a different view that one should only choose to pursue other interests or things which are more meaningful only after one had amassed enough money. Why does it have to be this way? There are folks whom are not very well-off themselves and yet, they are doing all they can to help those less privileged than them. This already served as a good example that its really different strokes for different folks, and not everyone have to be pragmatic before considering giving back to the society. The lack of wealth certainly does not stop these individuals from giving back.

Simply said, wealth does affect the mind, but on the other side of the coin, some people are able to see things from another perspective even without wealth.

Well only when one is given a choice that he can choose , given if he had poor family with sick relatives and a bunch of siblings barely feeding themselves , do you think otherwise? Given if one has the ability to make more than enough for themselves to help others yet choose not to is their choice. Really depends on how one looks at something as you mentioned.

The choice that one makes is whether if one choose to walk the talk or talk the walk. Knowing doesn't equate doing.

I have gone to Thailand to be a monk and have lived in places where people are still giving despite earning lesser than 1 buck a day and they can be a happy bunch. I do understand where you are coming from but it is a slight difference seeing from another perspective and doing it . I have seen myself plenty of hypocrites which tell me all sort of buttery words and how they are intending to do such and so and claims to be in the moral high grounds , but how many actually do it?

Talk is cheap , want me to respect them prove it.

I have asked many to follow not to be a monk but to live life simply , all tell me they are not Buddhist and all sorts of b-------t , I view it as a philosophy and a way of life. I don't take it strictly as a religion as i am respectful of all religions as the basis of doing good is there .

I take a quote from gandhi

“Your beliefs become your thoughts,

Your thoughts become your words,

Your words become your actions,

Your actions become your habits,

Your habits become your values,

Your values become your destiny.”

Edited by CH_CO

On 7/19/2013 at 3:04 PM, Throttle2 said:

Ah, now you back to normal...

I can be a joker if i want to just depends on my mood.

I think the circumstances and adversities which you had encountered in your early years had already shaped your perspective, and they had made you a more pragmatic person than the others. Either way, at the very least you had made it good eventually and kudos to that.

What i wanted to say is that we tend to notice and see things as we want to see it. If you only remember the hypocritical people and others who do not walk the talk, you will only remember just that and more often than not, you will miss out the good things which are going on around you as you progress in life.

It has been a good exchange of perspectives with you, i rest my case in this thread and peace out! [;)]

  On 7/19/2013 at 4:28 PM, Lethalstrike said:

I think the circumstances and adversities which you had encountered in your early years had already shaped your perspective, and they had made you a more pragmatic person than the others. Either way, at the very least you had made it good eventually and kudos to that.

What i wanted to say is that we tend to notice and see things as we want to see it. If you only remember the hypocritical people and others who do not walk the talk, you will only remember just that and more often than not, you will miss out the good things which are going on around you as you progress in life.

It has been a good exchange of perspectives with you, i rest my case in this thread and peace out! [;)]

I do remember both good and bad as i mentioned i saw people living their lives happily with 1 buck a day, just only for elaboration purposes i chose to highlight the bad since someone else will be telling me all the mambo jambo of how they will do good. I can be the arseh0le trying to piss people off by my harsh comments, i don't mind. How hard is it to be the good two shoes behaving nicely and acting nice to others. We have learnt since young of what it is as a social norm.

Learning how to do good isn't hard , the actual process of doing it is . I am merely highlighting the fact that yes wealth affects the mind but one only needs to take one step back to understand better , in the sense take a fall doesn't mean getting into bankruptcy or what but a slightly worse position mentioned by the video towards the end would help people to understand the plight of others and become less "bad"

Have a great weekend ahead

Edited by CH_CO

Wishing all a good weekend ahead!

On 7/19/2013 at 4:35 PM, CH_CO said:

I do remember both good and bad as i mentioned i saw people living their lives happily with 1 buck a day, just only for elaboration purposes i chose to highlight the bad since someone else will be telling me all the mambo jambo of how they will do good. I can be the arseh0le trying to piss people off by my harsh comments, i don't mind. How hard is it to be the good two shoes behaving nicely and acting nice to others. We have learnt since young of what it is as a social norm.

Learning how to do good isn't hard , the actual process of doing it is . I am merely highlighting the fact that yes wealth affects the mind but one only needs to take one step back to understand better , in the sense take a fall doesn't mean getting into bankruptcy or what but a slightly worse position mentioned by the video towards the end would help people to understand the plight of others and become less "bad"

Have a great weekend ahead

Nice that this discussion has the views that all can resonate with! Thanks folks for keeping it cordial and more importantly, good viewpoints, and inputs based on prior experiences

Have a blessed weekend ahead too!

On 7/19/2013 at 12:18 PM, CH_CO said:

Nope i am not , i have seen the video before and i know what it is going on. It only reflects how the "rich" makes use of the opportunities to their own advantage , regardless whether what the items are meant for. It might be wrong taking advantage like that but that is how the world goes. Survival of the fittest , this is also shown in the animal world where opportunist makes use of every opportunity to "survive" , an example a pack of hyenas waiting for a lion to kill before chasing them away or vice versa . It is just the matter of whether if this person intends to give back or not. Karma will find its way in one way or another.

This video fundamentally reflects an integrity issue rather than merely only the difference between rich and poor. If you put a Singaporeans vs another country which is somewhat poorer or even against US , chances are you might see differences as well. We are known to be more law abiding .

Being poor or rich doesn't affect whether a person can make use of the opportunities in front of them for their own advantage. However, the video focuses more on the mentality / mindset of some rich people. The video shows that even though a person might have gotten rich through chance or luck, they are more likely to not only attribute their own success to themselves instead of external factors, and more likely to break social conventions than those who have not yet achieved financial success.

Took me a while to find this thread to reply. :o MCF too much threads already.. haha..