Berkeley study of how wealth affects the mind..

Hydrocarbon

In recent and not so recent times, we've seen the famous Ferrari speeding, running the red lights and crashing into the taxi, we've seen a BMW 7 series parking at the exit of a parking lot, blocking other drivers from exiting, we've seen a Lexus crashing into another vehicle and running from the accident. Granted, there are still accidents caused by not so rich people, but it seems that the rich people are taking over the news with their antics.

Why?

Maybe this video can shed some light.

In recent and not so recent times, we've seen the famous Ferrari speeding, running the red lights and crashing into the taxi, we've seen a BMW 7 series parking at the exit of a parking lot, blocking other drivers from exiting, we've seen a Lexus crashing into another vehicle and running from the accident. Granted, there are still accidents caused by not so rich people, but it seems that the rich people are taking over the news with their antics.

Why?

I was about to create a thread on this in the morning (but got sidetracked by work!!), but my emphasis was going to be on why the MIW's claim that paying themselves more is for the good of the people is deeply, deeply flawed. As wealthy as they are, they simply become more callous, heartless and well...more evil. How can that be good for the people? [rolleyes]

No lah, the reason for paying themselves high salaries is this:

"......you have to pay the market rate or

the man will up stakes and join Morgan Stanley, Lehman Brothers or Goldman

Sachs and you would have an incompetent man and you would have lost money by

the billions....."

I was thinking more along the lines of the discussion in this thread Are Singaporean workers... expensive & entitled?

There are a few distinct camps, one of the older generation, in whose opinion, thinks of the current young workers as the strawberry generation, after they have made their money, and one of the younger generation, in whose opinion is that they are getting the short end of the stick.

I do agree with your point too, but I'm not so politically inclined, so, yeah. Haha

Why?

No wonder I was called poor man because I stop at every single pedestrian crossing when I drive [laugh]. joke aside, nice video.

interesting. That is why silver spoons think differently from others. But htose who slogged from young to make relatively good, return back to society

No lah, the reason for paying themselves high salaries is this:

"......you have to pay the market rate or

the man will up stakes and join Morgan Stanley, Lehman Brothers or Goldman

Sachs and you would have an incompetent man and you would have lost money by

the billions....."

Essentially, their contention is that if we don't pay them the (really) big bucks, we'll get incompetent gahmen. So paying themselves lots of moolah is ultimately good for us, the people.

That reasoning is clearly flawed, as this study shows because "competence" is definitely not everything, especially when governing people. Compassion, empathy, the soft touch - these are all very important as well, but it's clear that the richer these jokers get at our expense, the less likely they are to exhibit any of these virtues.

Not that we're hitting the jackpot in terms of competence, either, mind you. [rolleyes]

Interestingly, them paying themselves more is likely to create a self-reinforcing situation - a positive feedback loop. They pay themselves more - they get richer - they become more callous and disconnected from the common man - they care about us even less - they pay themselves even more. Rinse, repeat. The only way to break the cycle of their sociopathy is to hit them where it hurts. They may not care about the people, but they do care about maintaining their stranglehold on power. So make your vote count, that's the only thing that can "bring balance to the Farce"...I mean "Force". :D

Should be a package deal. A package that encompasses the soft skills with the hard skills.

Our situation is sorta like getting a gay boyfriend who looks good, has a fantastic bod but yet has a short d*ck :D :D :D

Edited by Porker

Should be a package deal. A package that encompasses the soft skills with the hard skills.

Our situation is sorta like getting a gay boyfriend who looks good, has a fantastic bod but yet has a short d*ck :D :D :D

Trust you to come up with an anal-o®gy like that. :D

With people like Chen Show Mao, we actually have the "package", only in the Oppo, where the chance of him making any sort of difference to the governance of the country is miniscule given the closed-mindedness of the system.

interesting. That is why silver spoons think differently from others. But htose who slogged from young to make relatively good, return back to society

It depends too. Some silver spoons are able to fight their privileged upbringing and are able to understand what others are going through too. But they are rare. Guess I'll never know how the majority of them think. I got a wooden spoon. Haha.. But at least got food in my belly, better than nothing.

Don't you think my analogy is fantastic? I mean the boyfriend looks good and all but really can't perform :D :D :D

I'd say your anal-o®gy is just FABULOUS.

Razor would agree. -_-

post-52704-1374075304_thumb.jpg

Huh...this explains a lot...irony is that rich people always sneer that poor people have an 'entitlement' mentality...

I would consider those poor who are always looking for handout to have an entitlement mentality, but I don't think it's true for all poor people. Some really want to make it on their own.

Correct...I believe that most poor people want to survive on their own but they can't, but there are a few lazy basket cases that only ask for handout. Then kena generalized by rich, snobbish people who are damn stingy with their money lor. <_<

Yeah, the few lazy buggers are the one that spoil market for the hardworking ones. Don't understand why they don't want to rely on themselves? Not referring to those too old, too sick, too weak ones, but the generally ok ones, but super lazy.