Jman888 Moderator July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 u tink the helpline will be of any help? they are jiak liao bi one... I hope you are not referring to the samaritans hotline. even in saf I believe the helpline are handle by qualified people, unless you are taking about the normal lost and found helpline. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 I hope you are not referring to the samaritans hotline. even in saf I believe the helpline are handle by qualified people, unless you are taking about the normal lost and found helpline. some joke says operated by the Tal......to recruit u know wat.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 some joke says operated by the Tal......to recruit u know wat.... Dun tell me it's 302?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 He want to start a Mt Fuji Forest sucide site ? The 2nd place most popular place in the world where people go die! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgAHP4M84ZE commit suicide? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 According to the report, the caller could not give the exact location of the incident. Hence, the one managed the hotline said those words to her. Of course, he could be more tactful. But basically what the mata said was not wrong. You can't possibly called a police car running up and down the whole road looking for the caller. Can alert patrol car to go near the area first, then as the girl gives more description when she can, the operator can forward to the patrol car... maybe what the girl described, the operator dunno, but the patrol car policemen know since they always patrol the area? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 According to the report, the caller could not give the exact location of the incident. Hence, the one managed the hotline said those words to her. Of course, he could be more tactful. But basically what the mata said was not wrong. You can't possibly called a police car running up and down the whole road looking for the caller. You are only half right. What the operator can do is ask her to describe her surroundings, like the nearest bus stop, on the bus stop shelter there's usually the road name on it with some alphabet and numbers eg. B06. Some times ppl are panicky when calling the police hotline and it's normal their mind go blank. Helping them by asking useful questions and calming them down helps. Not say things like "help us to help yourself" crap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 I hope you are not referring to the samaritans hotline. even in saf I believe the helpline are handle by qualified people, unless you are taking about the normal lost and found helpline. When I forgot to notify them of me overseas, I called the hotline for help after I came back from overseas. It was manned by a NSF. He also cant help me to back date my notification. He told me to wait for the warning or summon letter. Then he said if nothing just keep quiet. Lentor training area is where I used to ride my MTB. Damn shiok bashing thru the jungle with my MTB. Met a group of NSmen there too. They were shocked to see me there. But ignore me n continue with their briefing. That was in 1998. Enter from the broken fence along Yio Chu Kang Road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 51? Should be receiving pension soon right? RIP. No. IIRC they upped the retirement age liao. Last time was 55. Now I think its 60. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 Can alert patrol car to go near the area first, then as the girl gives more description when she can, the operator can forward to the patrol car... maybe what the girl described, the operator dunno, but the patrol car policemen know since they always patrol the area? The female caller already said, Upper Thomson Road, can see 'The Prata House', car parks and few eateries shops around ...... So if the operator were to pass the message to AMK Police Div HQ, surely all the policemen from AMK Police Div HQ would have known that eating place. Where can you find 'The Prata House' at 2.00am in the morning along Upp Thomson Road... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 When I forgot to notify them of me overseas, I called the hotline for help after I came back from overseas. It was manned by a NSF. He also cant help me to back date my notification. He told me to wait for the warning or summon letter. Then he said if nothing just keep quiet. Lentor training area is where I used to ride my MTB. Damn shiok bashing thru the jungle with my MTB. Met a group of NSmen there too. They were shocked to see me there. But ignore me n continue with their briefing. That was in 1998. Enter from the broken fence along Yio Chu Kang Road. I think that's the saf hotline. There's one recent hotline to help soldiers who have problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 The female caller already said, Upper Thomson Road, can see 'The Prata House', car parks and few eateries shops around ...... So if the operator were to pass the message to AMK Police Div HQ, surely all the policemen from AMK Police Div HQ would have known that eating place. Where can you find 'The Prata House' at 2.00am in the morning along Upp Thomson Road... Exactly my point! She suay kenna that operator. Maybe if I kenna the same thing, I hang up then call again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 Sometimes very pissed off by those over the other lines at 'Call Centers' ... :angry: Had tried call some and over the other side, they employed FW and informed them of a road name, they asked back to spell the road name ... This is especially so when the road names in chinese translations .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 According to the report, the caller could not give the exact location of the incident. Hence, the one managed the hotline said those words to her. Of course, he could be more tactful. But basically what the mata said was not wrong. You can't possibly called a police car running up and down the whole road looking for the caller. I agree fully that no fault of mata. The lady just over-reacted and too frightful at that moment to tell her location. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 (edited) Whilst this thread is about the Encik who was found dead and not the mata-cannot-help-incident... I would expect the mata to be more proactive. Already got some basic descriptors of the location, cannot just dispatch a patrol car to the area go see see look look since there is *some* sort of disturbance reported meh? When get there can just check out the scene, maybe ask a few people around if anything unusual was noted. Worst case tapao prata lor. They might end up saving a life instead. So next time I call mata for assistance I must check my gps for coordinates first meh? Edited July 17, 2013 by Myxilplix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 No. IIRC they upped the retirement age liao. Last time was 55. Now I think its 60. Still 55. the other 62 scheme is for those engineering related one but their pay are lower and consider no rank. plus point, can resign with 1 month notice (or was it 3 month?) if no longer bonded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 Whilst this thread is about the Encik who was found dead and not the mata-cannot-help-incident... I would expect the mata to be more proactive. Already got some basic descriptors of the location, cannot just dispatch a patrol car to the area go see see look look since there is *some* sort of disturbance reported meh? When get there can just check out the scene, maybe ask a few people around if anything unusual was noted. Worst case tapao prata lor. They might end up saving a life instead. So next time I call mata for assistance I must check my gps for coordinates first meh? depend on what the description the person gave. if only say, got tree and building around without giving a rough location, how to go to the destination. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 So next time I call mata for assistance I must check my gps for coordinates first meh? Give lamp pole number will do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic July 17, 2013 Share July 17, 2013 think recently someone called mata chu for help, but the mata kia told her "you must help us before we can help you" something along this line. The mata kia tio reprimanded and the lady got an apology from our mata. Acheree, that is quite tactful oleadie. Think the pissed mata reali wanted to say "just tell us what F are you laaahh!!!" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...