Lala81 Hypersonic March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 so do u know how much SAF has done? Singaporean NSF stricken by illness comes close to death thrice in a month Singaporean NSF stricken by illness comes close to death thrice in a monthFri, 3 Mar 2017By Andrea SaadanAsiaOneMar 2, 2017Imagine coming face-to-face with death not once, but thrice.One young Singaporean man had to go through such a trying experience - all within the same month.Henry Seah, 22, was still serving his National Service (NS) when he suddenly struck ill.He was diagnosed with a form of pneumonia in October 2016 and had to be placed on life support at the National University Hospital.Health complications occurred even as he laid unconscious in an induced coma, which led to a brain hemorrhage.His sister, Cindy, has since stepped forward to share their family's gut-wrenching ordeal, and started a fundraising campaign on crowd-funding page, GoGetFunding.com.Her Facebook post has garnered over 400 shares at the time of writing, with $15,445 in donations collected.The money raised is expected to go towards "his near-to-half-a-century of life visiting the doctor and acquiring prosthesis" and also rehabilitation and transport assistance, such as a motorised wheelchair.A donor, Wang Qiuyu, left a message on the page saying: "Stay strong. I believe there will be many people around who will help you tide through this difficult time."Cindy also shared pictures of her brother both in happier times and during his stay at the hospital.During his month-long stay in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), Henry's fingers and toes had slowly turned red, and eventually black, due to gangrene.A photo of his infected feet was also shared by his sister on the page. Ms Seah explained: "We were told that Henry had also suffered from dry gangrene, which had similarly occurred to people who had eaten fresh, uncooked fish and unfortunately infected with GBS."In Henry's case, his gangrene had resulted from the prolonged use of adrenaline to support his dangerously low blood pressure."His fingers and legs will need to be amputated, wrote Ms Seah on the crowd-funding page.The siblings lost their father to colon cancer four years ago, according to Ms Seah.However, Henry is said to have "remained grateful and positive" despite his difficult situation.His sister added that he has since passed his Operationally Ready Date (ORD) last month.In her latest update, Ms Seah left a note to say that her brother would be going for a "life-changing operation" on Friday (Mar 3).She did not go into specifics with regard to what the surgery would do for Henry.She ended the post by saying: "We have been receiving so much blessings from the public, I'm sure Henry can pull it through successfully for the operation tomorrow."[email protected]Anybody know anything why SAF not doing anything? I think there needs to be more done. Especially if the illness itself was inflicted when he was in the SAF. IF SAF doesn't even do the basics, how can they expect citizens to contribute? The more of this kind of news I see, the more angry I get and the more I intend to contribute negatively to the SAF. If he got it while on holiday then that's his own problem lah. I repeat again, so do u know how much SAF has done? I'm not saying that SAF is some big benevolent organisation. But this is a one sided account of what is definitely a tear jerking story. So why all the comments about feeling angry or upset about what SAF has not done for this boy? ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 I think that will be covered by SAF. Medically, he will be covered. But for the other stuff that I had mentioned, he/his family will have to pay out of their pocket. But all these misc expenses was resulted from something inflicted during his time serving the country. Maybe a one time huge lump sum compensation would be reasonable if SAF doesn't want to support him the rest of his life. Wasn't there was a navy guy who met an accident while on board a ship. Had to amputated all his limps. I t was big news, and think medically was funded by Mindef, and he was still employed by the mindef after that.. so do u know how much SAF has done? I repeat again, so do u know how much SAF has done? I'm not saying that SAF is some big benevolent organisation. But this is a one sided account of what is definitely a tear jerking story. So why all the comments about feeling angry or upset about what SAF has not done for this boy? WE don't know what SAF had done, but there a sense in us that it was not enough becoz the family still need to crowd fund to finance the medical expenses and the future care going forward. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 But all these misc expenses was resulted from something inflicted during his time serving the country. Maybe a one time huge lump sum compensation would be reasonable if SAF doesn't want to support him the rest of his life. Wasn't there was a navy guy who met an accident while on board a ship. Had to amputated all his limps. I t was big news, and think medically was funded by Mindef, and he was still employed by the mindef after that.. WE don't know what SAF had done, but there a sense in us that it was not enough becoz the family still need to crowd fund to finance the medical expenses and the future care going forward. If u are diagnosed with cancer when u are in SAF, SAF will pay for your medical bills until u ORD. Similarly being stricken with pnuemonia etc will generally fall under the same category. If u fell off the jacob's ladder and is paralysed from the waist down subsequently, SAF will pay your medical bills pertaining to this injury for the rest of your life. That's what is defined as service injury. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 If u are diagnosed with cancer when u are in SAF, SAF will pay for your medical bills until u ORD. Similarly being stricken with pnuemonia etc will generally fall under the same category. If u fell off the jacob's ladder and is paralysed from the waist down subsequently, SAF will pay your medical bills pertaining to this injury for the rest of your life. That's what is defined as service injury. yup... the sister already stated ORD last month.. just some guys didnt pick up on the significance of that phrase Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 so do u know how much SAF has done? I repeat again, so do u know how much SAF has done? I'm not saying that SAF is some big benevolent organisation. But this is a one sided account of what is definitely a tear jerking story. So why all the comments about feeling angry or upset about what SAF has not done for this boy? I don't know what the SAF has done in this particular case but I think we all know what the SAF usually does. You may refer to their suggested compensation to those who have died during training accidents (inc the high profile smoke grenade case). I say it is not enough but you may think otherwise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 WE don't know what SAF had done, but there a sense in us that it was not enough becoz the family still need to crowd fund to finance the medical expenses and the future care going forward. I believe the significance to stating the ORD date by the sister was the say the funding was cut last month on ORD date.. cruel as it may sound... pneumonia was the origin.. which he could have caught anywhere... just becoz he unluckily caught it while serving does not mean he shld be financed by SAF for life... i think thats fair 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Still2016 Twincharged March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 If u are diagnosed with cancer when u are in SAF, SAF will pay for your medical bills until u ORD. But on the other hand, will the army allow you to sign on after the cancer was discovered. Similarly being stricken with pnuemonia etc will generally fall under the same category. It may be true if we go by the books but here we are talking about young man's life who is so screwed that he is never going to be independent and require assistance for his rest of his life. We don't know if the injury or disease was caused by the time he was in the army during training perhaps, it is heartless for any organisation to leave their member high and dry, who was willing to sacrifice his life for his country and to protect you and me, once he ROD. Just like water, medical care is basic and does not need a family to be denigrated to go crowd funding to finance medical care. If u fell off the jacob's ladder and is paralysed from the waist down subsequently, SAF will pay your medical bills pertaining to this injury for the rest of your life. That's what is defined as service injury. so do u know how much SAF has done? This question should not even cross the mind of any generals in the SAF. Turn it the other way, how much has a soldier has done to protect our land and our people including the generals ...... they are called to sacrifice their lives, willing or not, if the need arises. If we cant even give confidence to soldiers (our very own flesh and blood) that they will be taken care, do we ever think they will do in the frontline at times of war (especially if they are injured - would they be left behind enemy lines because they have no use for the military anymore). Personally, I do not know the whole story, but whether it was meant to be tear jerky story, it does not go well when our soldier's family have to crowd source money to keep him alive. It is also a PR disaster for the military. I suspect it is a systemic problem with many of bureaucratic organisation. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 But all these misc expenses was resulted from something inflicted during his time serving the country. Maybe a one time huge lump sum compensation would be reasonable if SAF doesn't want to support him the rest of his life. Wasn't there was a navy guy who met an accident while on board a ship. Had to amputated all his limps. I t was big news, and think medically was funded by Mindef, and he was still employed by the mindef after that.. That navy guy is Jason Chee. He was a regular when his incident happened. This one is NSF. Different scenario. Unless Mindef willing to employ him and give him a position in Mindef. I dont know how he is going to support himself. Huge lump sum payout from Mindef? I never heard of such thing. The huge sum, may not be that huge. If Mindef is willing to feed every conscript who are injured for life....................sooner there will be lots of lazy ppl gona abuse it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 Wow. ok lor. Next time, increase taxes cos want SAF to be welfare organisation also, don't let me hear you all KPKB also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 But all these misc expenses was resulted from something inflicted during his time serving the country. Maybe a one time huge lump sum compensation would be reasonable if SAF doesn't want to support him the rest of his life. Wasn't there was a navy guy who met an accident while on board a ship. Had to amputated all his limps. I t was big news, and think medically was funded by Mindef, and he was still employed by the mindef after that.. WE don't know what SAF had done, but there a sense in us that it was not enough becoz the family still need to crowd fund to finance the medical expenses and the future care going forward. His is pneumonia. So I don't think its the same as the navy guy who was injured while on duty. Previously, SAF paid his medical bills cuz he is NSF and not because they are responsible for his illness. If the injury is sustained cuz of NS, they will support for life. My dad injured his back during NS and till now, SAF still covers any costs he incurs from the yearly checkups and one operation he had to undergo even after he ROD. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 Instead of complaining here, who's actually went to the website and donated $? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Still2016 Twincharged March 3, 2017 Share March 3, 2017 Instead of complaining here, who's actually went to the website and donated $?I believe people are not complaining but rather seeking reassurance that should similar situation happen, they would not themselves be a burden to themselves and their family. Many are affected because many have fathers brothers uncles nephews doing NS or RESERVIST. Many just want to know that when the time comes to the call of duty they will fight to protect our land and people to the death without having to worry about their love ones left behind. As to who actually went to the website and donate $, why should any citizen take away the responsibility of the military should they be reponsible. Sometimes it is not just going by the books but morally the right thing to do. If i have to pay more taxes so that our soldiers are taken care of when they are injured during service to our country, I am more than willing to pay. I rather pay more taxes to our sons of our land than paying more taxes for others to invest recklessly in failed investments. Point of views may differ which is great as there is no right or wrong as it is just drawn from our own perspective and experience. ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...