Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 On 7/10/2013 at 4:18 AM, Thedream said: wa piang ooi... now I know why there are so many kuku drivers cannot stick to their lanes... they don't know their basic theory and think they're right... The "whoever's in front" theory only leads to accidents... If I am in the left lane and in front (say half a car length)...I give way to the car behind me on the right meh ?? Yes...there are lots of "racing drivers" who take racing lines when driving. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 On 7/11/2013 at 1:15 AM, Ghostrider said: If I am in the left lane and in front (say half a car length)...I give way to the car behind me on the right meh ?? Yes...there are lots of "racing drivers" who take racing lines when driving. hmmm... you still don't get it ah,... you 2nd lane go to 2nd lane, people 1st lane should only go to 1st lane. No need to give way. Problems only come if got kuku drivers think that from the 1st lane they have the right to turn into the 2nd lane. "racing drivers" exist not only in turns but also straight roads. They change lanes like nobody's business. Defensive driving comes in here, but this applies whether turning or straight roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 Absence of dotted lines, right lane must turn into right most lane. Left lane turn into middle lane. For turning into the left most lane is for those blardy motocyle who form up a imaginary right turning lane on your left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 On 7/11/2013 at 4:28 AM, Thedream said: hmmm... you still don't get it ah,... you 2nd lane go to 2nd lane, people 1st lane should only go to 1st lane. No need to give way. Problems only come if got kuku drivers think that from the 1st lane they have the right to turn into the 2nd lane. "racing drivers" exist not only in turns but also straight roads. They change lanes like nobody's business. Defensive driving comes in here, but this applies whether turning or straight roads. This one talking about 2 to 3 lanes rite...I dun get what you are driving at. Those who wanna change lane off course have to take into consideration of other cars in the other lanes. ie If the car on the left lane wish to take the middle lane...driver would have to keep a look out for the cars on the right. And if the car in the left lane with his/her car ahead of the car on the right, he/she would have the right of way. If the car on the right squeeze into the lane, it would be very dangerous. Correct way would be to give way. I have no issue with people who switch lanes on straight roads...provided that they do it safely off course. I hate those who can't keep to their lanes while turning....especially at junctions. Make a right turn can drift from 1st to 3rd lane. Racing line ah...in line then swing to outside to protect position ? You drive like that on track is ok...but not on public roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 On 7/11/2013 at 5:09 AM, Ghostrider said: This one talking about 2 to 3 lanes rite...I dun get what you are driving at. Those who wanna change lane off course have to take into consideration of other cars in the other lanes. ie If the car on the left lane wish to take the middle lane...driver would have to keep a look out for the cars on the right. And if the car in the left lane with his/her car ahead of the car on the right, he/she would have the right of way. If the car on the right squeeze into the lane, it would be very dangerous. Correct way would be to give way. I have no issue with people who switch lanes on straight roads...provided that they do it safely off course. I hate those who can't keep to their lanes while turning....especially at junctions. Make a right turn can drift from 1st to 3rd lane. Racing line ah...in line then swing to outside to protect position ? You drive like that on track is ok...but not on public roads. You're right. People should keep to their lanes while turning (i.e. you should not change lanes while turning). Right lane goes to right lane. Left lane goes to middle lane. All these dangerous manoeuvres described above should not happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 On 7/10/2013 at 3:06 PM, Proton said: lol..u challenge pple?is so classic ..guess only pple born in early 80s knw..the drifting is fun..1 3 4 or 1 4.. I older than that haha Oops I only 23.... Sorry sorry That time was whole grp of colleagues lunch time Ya ya got formulae one Classic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 On 7/11/2013 at 6:20 AM, Thedream said: You're right. People should keep to their lanes while turning (i.e. you should not change lanes while turning). Right lane goes to right lane. Left lane goes to middle lane. All these dangerous manoeuvres described above should not happen. I wish bro...but the fact is...its not happening... Those turning junction...very common for those on extreme left or right lanes to encroach into other lanes. Just have to anticipate their moves lor...even on filter lanes...I take right lane to shoot to the outer lane...still got pple horn at me....the scary part is not they encroach into your lane...it is scary to know that they think they are correct !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iiiusion 2nd Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 (edited) Like this right turn from CTE to amk ave 3. 3 lanes into 6 lanes without dotted (right most 2 lanes of the main road is for turning back into CTE) - Always got people going into wrong lane. Scary to turn using the middle lane. Edited July 11, 2013 by Iiiusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ungtiong 2nd Gear July 11, 2013 Share July 11, 2013 On 7/10/2013 at 1:52 PM, SPT27 said: Bro ungtiong lor, he say his lousy altis at speed of 40 can't kp it lane Liao its true!!! can keep in lane but can crash into barrier. That car seriously cannot corner at any speed properly. If you watch the corner carefully (especially right turns), almost every car will not keep to his/her lane. One of the main reason is the car on his/her left will almost definitely 'cut' in too much, leaving the car with a very tight angle to turn, almost at a sharp 45 degree instead of the proper gradual curve (especially if its a 3-4 lane road). The Altis when taking a 45 degree sharp turn, will sway one side and begin to understeer. Have notice many near accident where the car on the left will swerve to avoid or the car stopping or slowing down, to allow the car on the left to go ahead first before proceeding. Some will overcorrect when they notice that the car on the left is dangerously close to them and they will be in danger of crashing into the kerb. Changed my suspension, now 60 also no problems :) .... Altis (08 version) has one of the worst stock suspension ever. Its not even comfortable, unless bouncing around like a jack in a box and vomiting is fun for you....and the 'performance' is non existent (maybe negative cause its a safety hazard for drivers traveling fast) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear July 11, 2013 Author Share July 11, 2013 On 7/11/2013 at 8:19 AM, Ghostrider said: I wish bro...but the fact is...its not happening... Those turning junction...very common for those on extreme left or right lanes to encroach into other lanes. Just have to anticipate their moves lor...even on filter lanes...I take right lane to shoot to the outer lane...still got pple horn at me....the scary part is not they encroach into your lane...it is scary to know that they think they are correct !! I folllow dotted lines on the floor also kenna people horn! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear July 11, 2013 Author Share July 11, 2013 (edited) On 7/11/2013 at 1:46 PM, Ungtiong said: its true!!! can keep in lane but can crash into barrier. That car seriously cannot corner at any speed properly. If you watch the corner carefully (especially right turns), almost every car will not keep to his/her lane. One of the main reason is the car on his/her left will almost definitely 'cut' in too much, leaving the car with a very tight angle to turn, almost at a sharp 45 degree instead of the proper gradual curve (especially if its a 3-4 lane road). The Altis when taking a 45 degree sharp turn, will sway one side and begin to understeer. Have notice many near accident where the car on the left will swerve to avoid or the car stopping or slowing down, to allow the car on the left to go ahead first before proceeding. Some will overcorrect when they notice that the car on the left is dangerously close to them and they will be in danger of crashing into the kerb. Changed my suspension, now 60 also no problems :) .... Altis (08 version) has one of the worst stock suspension ever. Its not even comfortable, unless bouncing around like a jack in a box and vomiting is fun for you....and the 'performance' is non existent (maybe negative cause its a safety hazard for drivers traveling fast) 60 is our normal road speed.. when reaching junction suppose to slow down. Drive carefully leh. Btw I think install anti roll bar also will work. Edited July 11, 2013 by Nicholas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 On 7/11/2013 at 2:34 PM, Nicholas said: I folllow dotted lines on the floor also kenna people horn! They think their car is Pacman mah...they are trying to eat the dotted lines...you are in the way... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 This one very basic leh. 2 weeks ago I met one kuku honda odessey / stream. He in lane 1 while I'm in lane 2. His is a turn right only while mine is a turn right or go straight. Both of us turning to a 3 lane road. So this idiot, instead of turning into lane 1, he turn into the middle of 2 and 3. So he expect me to drive onto the pedestrian side lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear July 12, 2013 Share July 12, 2013 On 7/12/2013 at 5:00 PM, Stiener said: This one very basic leh. 2 weeks ago I met one kuku honda odessey / stream. He in lane 1 while I'm in lane 2. His is a turn right only while mine is a turn right or go straight. Both of us turning to a 3 lane road. So this idiot, instead of turning into lane 1, he turn into the middle of 2 and 3. So he expect me to drive onto the pedestrian side lor. Wa lau.... Everytime one leh..... Then what did you do?? I always noticed it's auntie doing this stunt...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rampage79 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2013 Share July 13, 2013 The correct thing to do is always take reference from the left most turning lane. Cars at the left most turning lane should turn to the left most lane of the road that join, regardless whether it is a right turn or a left turn. Think of it logically, if a heavy vehicle needs to turn right, and there are 2 right lanes, which lane should he keep to? obviously the left most lane that allows him to turn right. Then where should he be on the new road that the joined? obviously the answer is also the left most lane, so it should be taken reference from the left most lane. In some junctions there are lane turning markings to guide the turning vehicles. It is always guided from the left most turning lane to the left most lane. It should not be any difference if there are no lane markings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear July 13, 2013 Share July 13, 2013 On 7/13/2013 at 1:34 AM, Rampage79 said: The correct thing to do is always take reference from the left most turning lane. Cars at the left most turning lane should turn to the left most lane of the road that join, regardless whether it is a right turn or a left turn. Think of it logically, if a heavy vehicle needs to turn right, and there are 2 right lanes, which lane should he keep to? obviously the left most lane that allows him to turn right. Then where should he be on the new road that the joined? obviously the answer is also the left most lane, so it should be taken reference from the left most lane. In some junctions there are lane turning markings to guide the turning vehicles. It is always guided from the left most turning lane to the left most lane. It should not be any difference if there are no lane markings. Basic theory and this poll is telling you that you are wrong. Put simply, your suggestion is dangerous because you are changing lanes while turning. The exit of my office has such turning lanes without traffic cameras. The left-most lane after turning may have cars at any time. You turn right to the left-most lane and you will get into an accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 13, 2013 Share July 13, 2013 On 7/13/2013 at 1:34 AM, Rampage79 said: The correct thing to do is always take reference from the left most turning lane. Cars at the left most turning lane should turn to the left most lane of the road that join, regardless whether it is a right turn or a left turn. Think of it logically, if a heavy vehicle needs to turn right, and there are 2 right lanes, which lane should he keep to? obviously the left most lane that allows him to turn right. Then where should he be on the new road that the joined? obviously the answer is also the left most lane, so it should be taken reference from the left most lane. In some junctions there are lane turning markings to guide the turning vehicles. It is always guided from the left most turning lane to the left most lane. It should not be any difference if there are no lane markings. You haven't got your license? Supposed to turn to the same lane. So if you are on the right most lane you go to the right most lane. On the second lane turn to second lane. For heavy vehicle turning right from second lane they should turn to the second lane first before they change to the left most lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 13, 2013 Share July 13, 2013 On 7/12/2013 at 5:00 PM, Stiener said: This one very basic leh. 2 weeks ago I met one kuku honda odessey / stream. He in lane 1 while I'm in lane 2. His is a turn right only while mine is a turn right or go straight. Both of us turning to a 3 lane road. So this idiot, instead of turning into lane 1, he turn into the middle of 2 and 3. So he expect me to drive onto the pedestrian side lor. I usually expect this kind of driving from local folks. So I am always behind the car next to me when turning so that I can brake or stop if the car comes into my lane unexpectedly when turning or after turning to avoid any occurrence. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...