Politicians Talk About Integrity

Kyrios

hey guys, remember the hougang kopitiam sell for $23M?

4 day after the sale, Govt declared opposite build hawker centre!!! [laugh][laugh][laugh][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

http://news.asiaone.com/print/News/Latest%...705-434961.html

Most people will eat at the hawker centre once it is up....$23million for that coffeeshop....haha...good luck man!

Something for everyone at one-stop CC in Hougang

Hougang is believed to be the first neighbourhood to house town facilities and a hawker centre within one community club. ST

Sun, Jul 07, 2013

The Straits Times

The plot of land in Hougang Avenue 9 where a one-stop community club will be built by early 2015.

SINGAPORE - Hougang residents will soon be able to watch a play, see a doctor and tuck in at a hawker centre, all within the same community club.

The one-stop facility is believed to be the first in Singapore and will be completed by early 2015, according to Ang Mo Kio GRC MP Yeo Guat Kwang, who oversees the club's location in Hougang Avenue 9.

Asked whether the project would serve as a model for future community clubs, he replied that it had not been decided. "But if we make it a success, then definitely we may see more."

The Government had said in April that the new Tampines Town Hub to be ready in 2015 will have a football field, swimming pool, library and even a performing arts centre.

But Hougang is believed to be the first neighbourhood to house town facilities and a hawker centre within one community club.

Mr Yeo said putting the amenities under one roof would allow the club to become a "natural focal point" for the community.

"It also makes it easier for residents to get all of the things they need in one area," he added.

He said the plan came about after several government agencies realised they were all looking for sites for projects in Hougang.

The National Environment Agency wanted to build a new hawker centre there as part of the Government's pledge to have 10 new ones by 2017, he said.

The Ministry of Health also planned to set up a primary health-care centre for the elderly.

The one-stop centre - which will include a 500-capacity arts centre - follows experts' recommendations to the Government on how to improve hawker centres.

In a report last year by a panel appointed by the authorities, the experts said: "Vibrancy in hawker centres could be further promoted through activities and programmes, such as co-locating them with tuition centres for poor families.

"A good mix of retail and household services such as locksmiths and cobblers next to the food stalls would also be convenient for shoppers."

Besides the Hougang club, Nee Soon Central also announced last week that its new community club will be housed in a shopping mall.

It will be completed by 2018.

Hougang residents said they hoped siting the amenities together would lower costs and lead to cheaper prices for them.

i wont blame the 2 clowns. more of the voter.

if only they can see beyong the 'brand' then they will had voted more wisely.

without the 2 clowns...........70% of their votes would have gone to TCB liao............

which is easier........remove 2 clowns or educate hundreds of thousands of voters............ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

without the 2 clowns...........70% of their votes would have gone to TCB liao............

which is easier........remove 2 clowns or educate hundreds of thousands of voters............ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

esp that hi-5 one......incredulous

IMHO Dengue was created by MOM for letting in so many FT.

lots of our FT are from 3rd world country which dont have the habit of making sure ponding dont happen.

Even in singapore we took more than 10 years to have this good habit. [:(]

errrr.........dengue is ft fault? :huh: ......errrr..........

and keep a straight face

Actually Viv, i know him, but this episode, dunno engineered from where, has made me rethink how he really is like. Wonder if it is agst his will to do this cos i know him to be quite an ethical fella

Sad...if it is from him.

i think he just been pushed to end his career in politic soon [rolleyes]

yup....good if he goes back to hospitals lah...he did a gd job der

Just feel that this issue is making a mountain out of a molehill.

It's just cleaning for a hawker center for god sake.

There are bigger national issues to debate about.

IMHO Dengue was created by MOM for letting in so many FT.

lots of our FT are from 3rd world country which dont have the habit of making sure ponding dont happen.

Even in singapore we took more than 10 years to have this good habit. [:(]

you sld take a look at those landed house............

Just feel that this issue is making a mountain out of a molehill.

It's just cleaning for a hawker center for god sake.

There are bigger national issues to debate about.

whoa!!! Even Ice is saying this!!! [:/]

this is really a popcorn thread!!! [:p]

edith_bowman_465x370.jpg

and keep a straight face

Actually Viv, i know him, but this episode, dunno engineered from where, has made me rethink how he really is like. Wonder if it is agst his will to do this cos i know him to be quite an ethical fella

Sad...if it is from him.

once 1 wear white, the word "ethical" is no longer in their vocab

Viv should focus more on issues like Haze, flood, dengei etc. instead of focus on petty issue like cleaning. Not sure if he is trying to divert attention [rolleyes]

maybe tao-eh already fk him upside down behind closed door long ago for his incompetency/boo-boos, thats why half his portfolio kena taken away.... he might have even pleaded not to be removed openly, just wanna slowly fade away... and fulfill his years for full pension entitlement?

if this place is run by such brains, we have hope... [:(]

My flat gets "lift upgrading" voted by 20% of the occupants. 80% already have lift landings and not eligible to vote nor have any say.

Lift upgrading takes 3 fxxking long years and still not finished. In the mean time, new condos have popped up and ready for moving in.

I would like to see some "integrity" around on why it takes 3 long years based only on 20% of eligible voters.

LIKE!!!

But the comments have since been deleted from his FB.

Guess his admin wants you to "read the right thing" [laugh]

you sld take a look at those landed house............

i poor ppl how to look at those landed house :D

okay. seriously, those area i been to look nice and no ponding. doesnt represent the majority though.

To put it simply, he's accusing them of lying.

To me I think it could be a misunderstanding between the hawkers and TC. I think it could be resolved easily but dunno why NEA has to make a big deal out of it. It's just washing a hawker center.

Politics my friend. It's just a sideshow from the dengue hoohaa before the haze smothered everything.

They can't even swat the mosquitoes in their own backyard and yet they wana complain about other ppl's roof.

I've been to hawker centres in wards under them and the roofs look like s--t also if not even worse.

Only gullible ones rooting for them will buy their propaganda.

Don't be mistaken that I'm taking sides. Our oppo are just opportunists up to this pt.

Don't believe the hype.