Toothiewabbit Supersonic July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 (edited) To put it simply, he's accusing them of lying. To me I think it could be a misunderstanding between the hawkers and TC. I think it could be resolved easily but dunno why NEA has to make a big deal out of it. It's just washing a hawker center. Nooooo...it's not just an ordinary hawker centre wor...one must ask if this centre is in the white or blue zone leh... My relatives are green grocers, in the white zone, and have yet to experience this kind of mickey mouse drama. Edited July 10, 2013 by Toothiewabbit ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 I dun think him alone dare to challenge WP in the parliament [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 By putting a lot of light on this issue, only makes vivian look petty, he might dragged the while pinky gahment into it for being incompetent. Small spat cannot resolved within themselves, have to bring up to parliament. This kind of thing, NEA, AHTC and hawker should have a close door meeting to talk it out. Not sending emails and communicate thru press, and should probably be handled by a director level, no need to escalate to parliament turn into a national agenda. That Ms Vivian is the same person who wanted to expose and make into a national agenda about a gay opposition politician but later had to back track his comments for fear of back lash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 (edited) Dr Balakrishnan said: "Politics is a contest for power. But you know the key principle when you have power is: don't take advantage of people under your charge and always be honest and upfront with your people. "When a mistake is made, just come clean and say so. But don't cover up. That's why I have not let this go, because it is not about cleanliness of the ceiling, it is about clean politics and I appeal to you, because I know you to be an honourable man, I appeal to you, go back, do a thorough investigation of what's gone on and what's gone wrong in your town council and put it right, set it right. I have confidence you will do so, Mr Low." wahahahahaha................what is he saying sia................laugh the hell out of me...............the perfect answer for him will be.............its a honest mistake let's move on..........or this happens only once in 50 years................yah yah yah..........don't take advantage of people under your charge and always be honest and upfront with your people.................When a mistake is made, just come clean and say so. But don't cover up.............I would love to see this happen ............... [laugh] Edited July 10, 2013 by Tianmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTOT 1st Gear July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 Viv should focus more on issues like Haze, flood, dengei etc. instead of focus on petty issue like cleaning. Not sure if he is trying to divert attention Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 I think this type of minor kuching kurap thing, ask Vivian go Hong Lim and stand on a box to speak would be better. That would be a more suitable forum, not our bloody parliament. You would think after the PE by-election/Michael Palmer issue they would learn not to throw stones because their house also is made of glass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 I always feel that anything to do with the opposition party, no matter whether it is a small or major issue, PAP will find chance to find fault with them?! But if their own people made mistake, they will just try to "cover" the issue. That's not true. Look at the Michael Palmer and the senior civil servants on corruption. But the thing is WP started with the AIM saga. It probably pissed off many men in white shirts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTOT 1st Gear July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 Dr Balakrishnan said: "Politics is a contest for power. But you know the key principle when you have power is: don't take advantage of people under your charge and always be honest and upfront with your people. "When a mistake is made, just come clean and say so. But don't cover up. That's why I have not let this go, because it is not about cleanliness of the ceiling, it is about clean politics and I appeal to you, because I know you to be an honourable man, I appeal to you, go back, do a thorough investigation of what's gone on and what's gone wrong in your town council and put it right, set it right. I have confidence you will do so, Mr Low." wahahahahaha................what is he saying sia................laugh the hell out of me...............the perfect answer for him will be.............its a honest mistake let's move on..........or this happens only once in 50 years................ [laugh] I dun see him apologising for the incompetent handling of Flood in Orchard/Thomson, the dengue fever and the Haze.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 I dun see him apologising for the incompetent handling of Flood in Orchard/Thomson, the dengue fever and the Haze.. Dengue yur fault Haze bbang apologies Nuff said Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 he so free wanna do inspection, I suggest he go round the island and inspect ALL the hawker centres. Some are rather filthy and not surprisingly from PAP wards Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 (edited) I dun see him apologising for the incompetent handling of Flood in Orchard/Thomson, the dengue fever and the Haze.. flood cause by the rain...........dengue spread by mosquito............haze is Indonesia problem..........all got nothing to do with him...........what he want apologize leh.............. [laugh] Edited July 10, 2013 by Tianmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 he so free wanna do inspection, I suggest he go round the island and inspect ALL the hawker centres. Some are rather filthy and not surprisingly from PAP wards Gutter politics again if u ask me... They never learn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 (edited) That's not true. Look at the Michael Palmer and the senior civil servants on corruption. But the thing is WP started with the AIM saga. It probably pissed off many men in white shirts. I think they had to deal publicly with the M P scandal... http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Si...213-389445.html Edited July 10, 2013 by Toothiewabbit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 (edited) Viv should focus more on issues like Haze, flood, dengei etc. instead of focus on petty issue like cleaning. Not sure if he is trying to divert attention FYI issuing of hawker license and hawker centers all come under NEA. The issue is with the meeting that got ppl confused. IMO politics shud not be involved. Edited July 10, 2013 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 The issue here was never about the hawker centre ceiling not cleaned. What's so big deal about that? It's about attacking another party, the opposition party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 hey guys, remember the hougang kopitiam sell for $23M? 4 day after the sale, Govt declared opposite build hawker centre!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OTOT 1st Gear July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 Then NEA to sort out with TC lah. Why bring in politics? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 10, 2013 Share July 10, 2013 hey guys, remember the hougang kopitiam sell for $23M? 4 day after the sale, Govt declared opposite build hawker centre!!! saw in papers that the same owner has another coffee shop selling at $35mil right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...