Drink driver jailed, banned for hit-and-run fatal acc at ECP

Darthrevan

ecphit0907e.jpg

A businessman who drank and drove and caused a fatal accident along an expressway was sentenced to 14 months' jail and banned from driving for eight years on Tuesday.

Chua Cheng Giak, 38, pleaded guilty to three charges and had three others taken into consideration.

He was driving his Audi car above the 90kmph-speed limit along East Coast Parkway at 2.24am on May 23 last year when he caused the death a Bangladeshi construction worker by doing a rash act.

His car hit the back of a lorry, causing it to veer to its left side, hit a railing and a lamp post, which in turn caused the vehicle to mount the guard railing, resulting in the worker Md Hazrat Ali Md Maser Ali being thrown out from the rear covered deck.

Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...long-ecp-201307

A businessman who drank and drove and caused a fatal accident along an expressway was sentenced to 14 months' jail and banned from driving for eight years on Tuesday.

Chua Cheng Giak, 38, pleaded guilty to three charges and had three others taken into consideration.

He was driving his Audi car above the 90kmph-speed limit along East Coast Parkway at 2.24am on May 23 last year when he caused the death a Bangladeshi construction worker by doing a rash act.

His car hit the back of a lorry, causing it to veer to its left side, hit a railing and a lamp post, which in turn caused the vehicle to mount the guard railing, resulting in the worker Md Hazrat Ali Md Maser Ali being thrown out from the rear covered deck.

Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...long-ecp-201307

the above 90kmph offence.. knn.. I think night 1am.. 75% of the drivers driving in ECP will tio caught.. Sonata unker incruded.. :ph34r:

Bro,

Just FYI this topic already opened few hours ago in "Accident at Woodlands Car Wash Kill 2 Peoples Post # 330".

Edited by Fongmy

the above 90kmph offence.. knn.. I think night 1am.. 75% of the drivers driving in ECP will tio caught.. Sonata unker incruded.. :ph34r:

75% of drivers dun langgar lorry ma or other vehicle..

u can drive at 200km/hr but dun tio caught or cause accident..can liao.

Apparently the current penalty doesn't deter ppl from drink driving.

Six months with daily inebriation with industrial alcohol. Get plywood box come out. Sure can deter.

You can do what you want, just don't get caught.

Army style.

You can do what you want, just don't get caught.

Army style.

The "army style" mantra is irresponsible, the phrase repeated by instructors who did not set stand firm on the rules.

Ditto for everyday life. Much crime and other dismeanor were committed without being found out. Does not make them right.

I hope we dont go down this path of speeding or irresponsible drink-driving "as long as we dont get caught"

today newspaper got one van langga lorlee

the van up lorlee :ph34r:

the lorlee carry metal pipes

van cabin chui :wacko:

hahaha.. true true.. I acherlee dun dare la.. a certain speed only.. dun dare hit 200 in SG.. :ph34r:

today newspaper got one van langga lorlee

the van up lorlee :ph34r:

the lorlee carry metal pipes

van cabin chui :wacko:

was in Chinese newspaper last night le...