Wind30 Turbocharged July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 (edited) people keep saying better infrastructure... what do you mean by better infrastructure? What sort of improvements will make you switch from car to MRT. For me, I think they need to build EXPRESS MRT to connect the regional centers. I am more familiar with the North so theoretically the MRT should go like that Woodloands -> AMK -> TPY -> Orchard -> Raffles Place. Takes 10-15mins to reach city from Woodlands. From Jurong east, 2-3 stops to Orchad Road -> Raffles place -> 2-3 stops to Tampines -> Changi business park. Takes 10-15mins to reach city from the regional centers. If that is possible, who will want to drive? I see the new MRT lines all have MANY MANY stops. Example thomson line. It takes like 2 more stops to go from AMK to ORchad if you use thomson line compared to the NS line. I think that is not the way to go... What I personally want is express MRT. Imagine if you have express MRT, 90% will switch to MRT if the connections are workable for them. As long as you connect up the Major centers, you can remove a lot of car traffic. Edited July 7, 2013 by Wind30 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 (edited) On 7/7/2013 at 4:09 PM, Wind30 said: people keep saying better infrastructure... what do you mean by better infrastructure? What sort of improvements will make you switch from car to MRT. For me, I think they need to build EXPRESS MRT to connect the regional centers. I am more familiar with the North so theoretically the MRT should go like that Woodloands -> AMK -> TPY -> Orchard -> Raffles Place. Takes 10-15mins to reach city from Woodlands. From Jurong east, 2-3 stops to Orchad Road -> Raffles place -> 2-3 stops to Tampines -> Changi business park. Takes 10-15mins to reach city from the regional centers. If that is possible, who will want to drive? I see the new MRT lines all have MANY MANY stops. Example thomson line. It takes like 2 more stops to go from AMK to ORchad if you use thomson line compared to the NS line. I think that is not the way to go... What I personally want is express MRT. Imagine if you have express MRT, 90% will switch to MRT if the connections are workable for them. As long as you connect up the Major centers, you can remove a lot of car traffic. you want to pay $5 per trip? express bus is alr 3 bucks Edited July 7, 2013 by Mllcg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 (edited) yup, the question is how much per trip is one willing to pay for an Expressline MRT.. if too ex, then no takeup...then can't cover back investment cost in a short short time.. if too cheap, also can't cover back investment cost in a short short time.. LOL Edited July 7, 2013 by Cluboxed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 Major: Connect up all important residential and industrial areas. Make it such that even people who work in 'ulu' areas (Tuas, Seletar, Changi etc) have easy access to public transport. Minor: Have free shuttle services in and around the CBD. Like, you can have a free and regular bus service that start from Orchard and go down to Marina, and loop back. One more service maybe start from Bugis go down to Shenton Way and loop back. I'm very very sure that many people who work in the city will then ditch driving and simply take train to town, because it's so easy to travel within CBD area like this. Many other cities offer some sort of free (or at least very affordable) inter-city system. I don't see why we can't do the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 On 7/7/2013 at 4:55 PM, Cluboxed said: yup, the question is how much per trip is one willing to pay for an Expressline MRT.. if too ex, then no takeup...then can't cover back investment cost in a short short time.. if too cheap, also can't cover back investment cost in a short short time.. LOL I wouldn't mind an express MRT service too, but the price cannot be too far off from the current rate. If from Woodlands to Raffles Place now is about $1.80 (don't know, just about. Not inclusive of bus ride.), I wouldn't mind if it's about $3 - $3.50 per ride. The transport provider would have to keep in mind that people from Yishun to Marsiling would have to ride the normal line towards the hub, and switch towards the express line. Though I would agree that it would cut down usage of cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 (edited) I want a more reliable mrt, no breakdown, more frequent and more intersection of mrt so that dont need travel so many stops to change line wait i also want a better expressway with no jam and maybe another PIE type of expressway connecting west to east Edited July 7, 2013 by Thaiyotakamli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 On 7/7/2013 at 4:09 PM, Wind30 said: people keep saying better infrastructure... what do you mean by better infrastructure? What sort of improvements will make you switch from car to MRT. For me, I think they need to build EXPRESS MRT to connect the regional centers. I am more familiar with the North so theoretically the MRT should go like that Woodloands -> AMK -> TPY -> Orchard -> Raffles Place. Takes 10-15mins to reach city from Woodlands. From Jurong east, 2-3 stops to Orchad Road -> Raffles place -> 2-3 stops to Tampines -> Changi business park. Takes 10-15mins to reach city from the regional centers. If that is possible, who will want to drive? I see the new MRT lines all have MANY MANY stops. Example thomson line. It takes like 2 more stops to go from AMK to ORchad if you use thomson line compared to the NS line. I think that is not the way to go... What I personally want is express MRT. Imagine if you have express MRT, 90% will switch to MRT if the connections are workable for them. As long as you connect up the Major centers, you can remove a lot of car traffic. If the Gharmen is SERIOUS abt getting pple to switch from car to public transpost the costs has to come down n the service n reliability standards hv to go up. As it is...our transport companies make huge profits every year cos most of their shares r owned by the gharmen n elites. Ty always ensure the tpt companies make huge profits so they also make huge profits. R ty serious about getting pple to sell their cars? I doubt so. Ty know that most pple wil not do the switch with things as they r n take that as the excuse to continue to keep pushing up prices of owning a car. Its all part of the wayang game our gharmen is so good at playing. Just think if our trains, buses n taxis all improve their services n lower costs n most pple decide to sell their cars n switch to public transport, who is the biggest loser in terms of $$$$. The gharmen. And we all know very well our gharmen dun wan to lose $$$. Ty only interested in making more $$$ and unfortunately we r their customers without an alternative n the gharmen intends to keep it that way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 i would suggest work fr home.....no need travel. but work fr home no XMM see. :angry: lucky got internet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 On 7/7/2013 at 4:55 PM, Cluboxed said: yup, the question is how much per trip is one willing to pay for an Expressline MRT.. if too ex, then no takeup...then can't cover back investment cost in a short short time.. if too cheap, also can't cover back investment cost in a short short time.. LOL JR charges the same for both local and express trains at least for Tokyo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwing Neutral Newbie July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 More flyovers, more ndergroumd expresswaya, better public transport system including new form, (Israel is building capsules than run above)..but all this need $$$, the IRR need to be in line with economic growth.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged July 7, 2013 Share July 7, 2013 We have a first world infrastructure but living in a third world. Change the mentality and everything else will be improve drastically. To have a smoother traffic flow on the roads, remove hoggers. On the public transports, people just need to move inwards so that others can fit in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear July 8, 2013 Share July 8, 2013 3rd world? Yes, we are third world countries. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Third_World I am willing to pay $10 for a trip from my home to workplace if it is a direct trip, and at my convenience, just like a car. Many a times, i take the train/bus for shopping because it makes most sense for me. Building a MRT with so few stops is simply uneconomical and silly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 8, 2013 Share July 8, 2013 On 7/7/2013 at 11:18 PM, Porker said: JR charges the same for both local and express trains at least for Tokyo. Cant say tokyo, they have massive population, maybe 3-4x sg and wider area. But at least govt is willing to improve things and encourage ppl to take transport Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 8, 2013 Share July 8, 2013 On 7/7/2013 at 5:08 PM, Hydrocarbon said: I wouldn't mind an express MRT service too, but the price cannot be too far off from the current rate. If from Woodlands to Raffles Place now is about $1.80 (don't know, just about. Not inclusive of bus ride.), I wouldn't mind if it's about $3 - $3.50 per ride. The transport provider would have to keep in mind that people from Yishun to Marsiling would have to ride the normal line towards the hub, and switch towards the express line. Though I would agree that it would cut down usage of cars. If $3-$3.50 or express service beri cheap liao. I oredi pay $3 for Bus Plus more than 15+ yrs ago from the east to cbd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear July 8, 2013 Share July 8, 2013 On 7/7/2013 at 5:06 PM, Benarsenal said: Major: Connect up all important residential and industrial areas. Make it such that even people who work in 'ulu' areas (Tuas, Seletar, Changi etc) have easy access to public transport. Minor: Have free shuttle services in and around the CBD. Like, you can have a free and regular bus service that start from Orchard and go down to Marina, and loop back. One more service maybe start from Bugis go down to Shenton Way and loop back. I'm very very sure that many people who work in the city will then ditch driving and simply take train to town, because it's so easy to travel within CBD area like this. Many other cities offer some sort of free (or at least very affordable) inter-city system. I don't see why we can't do the same. and restrict private cars....park and ride and take free shuttle to CBD..... but everything here is about profits lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinobros 2nd Gear July 8, 2013 Share July 8, 2013 On 7/8/2013 at 12:06 AM, Simplecar said: 3rd world? Yes, we are third world countries. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Third_World I am willing to pay $10 for a trip from my home to workplace if it is a direct trip, and at my convenience, just like a car. Many a times, i take the train/bus for shopping because it makes most sense for me. Building a MRT with so few stops is simply uneconomical and silly. I stay in Pasir Ris and work in Tuas. I am willing to pay S$5 per trip if the journey is shorter than 40mins. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 8, 2013 Share July 8, 2013 (edited) On 7/7/2013 at 4:09 PM, Wind30 said: people keep saying better infrastructure... what do you mean by better infrastructure? What sort of improvements will make you switch from car to MRT. For me, I think they need to build EXPRESS MRT to connect the regional centers. I am more familiar with the North so theoretically the MRT should go like that Woodloands -> AMK -> TPY -> Orchard -> Raffles Place. Takes 10-15mins to reach city from Woodlands. From Jurong east, 2-3 stops to Orchad Road -> Raffles place -> 2-3 stops to Tampines -> Changi business park. Takes 10-15mins to reach city from the regional centers. If that is possible, who will want to drive? I see the new MRT lines all have MANY MANY stops. Example thomson line. It takes like 2 more stops to go from AMK to ORchad if you use thomson line compared to the NS line. I think that is not the way to go... What I personally want is express MRT. Imagine if you have express MRT, 90% will switch to MRT if the connections are workable for them. As long as you connect up the Major centers, you can remove a lot of car traffic. I think you need bullet train in Singapore. Back to reality, current train station density is actually quite OK. The main issues are (i) over-crowding (ii) too low frequency both during peak and off-peak (iii) speed of the train. I think we bought our MRT system based on 3 million population without any foresight. Remember, our leaders were very against investing in MRT system until someone pushes it through the hard way. Edited July 8, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinobros 2nd Gear July 8, 2013 Share July 8, 2013 I like the idea of express trains between the regional centre. 1) Tampines 2) City Hall 3) Woodlands 4) Jurong With the new express lines, perhaps we can consider having reserved seats in 2 carriage that you will need to pay 3X as much fare to get a seat. (The green carriage of JR) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...